We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved This Place!”
Review of Arenal Green Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Arenal Green Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loved This Place!”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Arenal Green is just lovely! It was only our second stay in Costa Rica and it seemed like every single day it got better and better. The cabins were clean, well equipped and had AC. The location captured the essence of Costa Rica greenery. The breakfast was the famous Tipico, great as well. Although I was impressed by the overall service of the Ticos during our two week stay I have to say Arenal Green had over the top service. Everyone was EXTREMELY polite. Can't wait to stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lulu_Salazar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germán L, Propietario at Arenal Green Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Thank you very much for your comment, we are more than happy to heard your opinion about us and is a pleasure to help you in everything, We had a great time with you too and I hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    115
    29
    7
    3
See reviews for
97
229
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2014

We had a wonderful experience at Arenal Green. The little cabin was very quaint and had many amenities like wifi, a hair dryer, a refrigerator, a porch with a beautiful view, and complimentary breakfast. The service was excellent and the people that worked there were very helpful with taxis and any other information we needed. There is an area where you can cross over a small bridge and come to a green area with a great view of the volcano.

We really enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommended and do it again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emily R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germán L, Propietario at Arenal Green Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Google Translation
Muchas gracias por sus comentarios, nos alegra mucho que nuestro servicio cumpliera todas sus expectativas y que hayan regresado a caso con Bien.

Son bienvenidos cuando quieran regresar y será un placer ayudarlos a conocer y a disfrutar nuestro paraíso tropical que es Costa Rica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Arenal Green was our first stop in Costa Rica and it was wonderful!

The staff was very helpful and accommodating. They helped us book tours, gave us recommendations for places to eat and called taxis for us. Our zip-lining tour was five minutes from the hotel and Baldi Hot Springs was a short cab ride away.

The room we stayed in was great! Very clean with air-conditioning and a mini refrigerator. There was a hairdryer in the bathroom and a TV in the room.

We decided to stay here instead of staying at one of the resorts and we are glad we did. It was a great start to our Costa Rica trip.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KristaHC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

The Hotel Arenal Green is a lovely hotel in a beautiful place. While not cheap, it is more reasonable than other places nearby. You can take a taxi or walk to town. The rooms are comfortable and have A/C. They serve basic, tasty Tico breakfasts of rice, beans, etc. The coffee drinkers in our crowd especially enjoyed their morning cup here.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve1050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Conchal, Costa Rica
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Cosy private cabins, well equipped with A/C, flat screen cable tv, wi-fi, refrigerator and a nice deck looking over the lush vegetation in the gardens. Very friendly staff and excellent service at this family-run hotel, you can really feel how hard they try to make your stay special. Choice of breakfasts, smoothies and fresh juices also available. Also a great location, a short drive from La Fortuna and near the waterfall and trail to Cerro Chato. A highlight of our stay was a massage at their own spa set in the rain forest overlooking the river - highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whittier, California
1 review
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

First off, this hotel is beautiful and the staff is exemplary. We spent three nights here as the first leg of a two week stay in Costa Rica and we are very pleased we did. Our room was surrounded by lush rainforest trees and came with a volcano view. Melvin is very attentive and accommodating. He made us feel like family and we didn't want to say good bye. Ask for a hammock if your room does not already have one and don't forget to tip!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Caesar G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Stayed in Arenal Green with a friend inApril. The cabins are cosy and clean - we shared our bathroom with a lot of ants but it was to be expected! Great value for money and the service is excellent. It's family run and the father and son were very welcoming and helpful. They are also able to arrange any tours that you decide to do. We had a car, but it is within walking distance into La Fortuna, though I would imagine it would be a good 20minute walk.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 272Coley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,491 reviews
3.9 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,855 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#10 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#21 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
809 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
#6 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
565 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#5 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Green Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Green Hotel

Property: Arenal Green Hotel
Address: | 1 km west of the entrance to Rio Fortuna Waterfall, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Arenal Green Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Green Hotel offers a unique experience and a personal touch to your individual needs as our guest. There are six modern, air conditioned cabins and one villa which are constructed from native wood. Even with the individual cabins, there is a feeling of family and a bed and breakfast environment. We offer a peaceful, friendly and intimate atmosphere for our guests from afar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Arenal Green Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Green Hotel Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing