We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Cabins”
Review of Arenal Green Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Arenal Green Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Loved the Cabins”
Reviewed August 11, 2008

My husband and I just returned from a two night stay at Arenal Green. The cabins are very cute and comfortable and the owners of the hotel are quite friendly. We were also awoken by a rooster in the early morning but as another review said, that is part of the charm of staying in the country. Breakfast was good and cost $7 (US). We would definitely stay at Arenal Green again.

  • Liked — That is way away from the city
  • Disliked — The scenery on the property
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LaurieSR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    115
    29
    7
    3
See reviews for
97
229
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tallinn, Estonia
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2008

We were 7 persons and we booked 3 bungalows via e-mail. Everything went smoothly, owner even didn't want prepayment even though we were from far Europe.
We just agreed that we gonna pay in cash on place.

Finding the place wasn't hard as we rented car from SJO and had a Garmin GPS what guided us directly to hotel.
Location was good considering that we has a car. Otherwise it would took some time to walk to town.
Staff was very helpful. It was a young girl from states or Europe who was in praxis. If she didn't know something she made some calls and found all out what we needed.
Also she arranged local tours (hanging bridges, thermal baths and canopy).
Bungalows were very nice, the view to volcano was perfect. We stayed in 3 person bungalow and there were no problem with room. Bathroom was clean and ok.
We were able to give all our valuables to deposit box in reception but I beleive there is no worries with security in bungalows also.
There were small restaurant area too. We didn't order on place anything, the owner allowed us to cook there by ourselves.
If I will be back to Arenal I certainly will choose Arenal Green.

  • Liked — Location far from noise, great views
  • Disliked — Everything was fine
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Dante2398701924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2008

I recently returned from Costa Rica with 11 students. They all agreed that Arenal Green was, by far, the best place we stayed. Small, comfortable cabins ideally located near La Fortuna waterfall and extremely wonderful staff await you. I'd recommend them to anybody and I look forward to going back.

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank triswede2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
1 review
Reviewed June 5, 2008

I stayed there 4 nights mid-may with my girlfriend and it was our best stay of the trip.
Prices are very affordable, the bungalows are wonderful and very well designed, you have plenty of space, a fridge, and a huge bathroom, the room is perfectly cleaned every day, parking is 100% safe, there are no mosquitos..
The location is also great. You are 10 minutes away by car from a hike to el Cerro Chato and to La Arenal Waterfalls. You're 20 minutes away by car from the volcano. You are also very close to gas stations, banks et shops... However, once you in the propoerty you feel like you are very far from everything and the view of the montains is just awesome !
The staff is the best I've seen during my trip. They are very helpful, professional, and muy sympaticos !
Well there is much more to say about this wondeful hotel...
Just go there, you won't regret it !

  • Liked — The bungalow
  • Disliked — No pool
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Erwin1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2008

This was the one nicer place my boyfriend and I stayed at while in Costa Rica and I loved every minute of it. The grounds were just gorgeous and we actually met the English speaking girl who works there on the bus heading there. Workers are very very nice. The guy (not sure what his name is) is really friendly and will give you good advice about the little town of La Fortuna :)

We actually did the hike all the way to the waterfalls which was quite an experience in itself, and if you're up for an adventure I would totally recommend. We actually went off the trail and explored a little and ended up at the end of this cliff looking place where you could see the drop off from the hill...gorgeous.

Anyhow, I loved this hotel, was totally worth it and was a nice little romantic and secluded place for my boyfriend and I. We actually got the place to ourselves the whole time we were there!

  • Liked — Gorgeous views (didnt want to post pics to spoil), clean, friendly staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Kristie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2008

My friends and I stayed at the Arenal Green in two of their cabins. The location is nice - it's close enough to town that you could walk (although a taxi is only $2 and it's a 25-min walk) but far enough away so you don't hear the noise of the small town. We felt completely safe staying there, even though we were all single female travelers. The cabins were nice. The mini-fridge was very handy for keeping our water bottles cool. The air conditioning was nice during the day, but we didn't need it at night.

You can see the Arenal volcano from the cabins, but it's not the side that has lava flowing down it. The weather was clear when we were there and you could see the volcano steam and hear it rumble at night.

We flew into the Arenal airport on Nature Air. It was a short taxi ride to the hotel from the airport. It's easy to get around La Fortuna by taxi.

The hotel staff were very friendly and went out of their way to make us happy - they even gave one of us coffee grounds to use in our in-room coffee maker! The breakfast they served us was THE BEST to be had in Costa Rica. We had already booked our tours before arrival, but they can help with that too. The staff is available at night too, in case you need something or want to use their computer to email your family and friends.

If you are going, ask about reserving cabins that are farthest from the road. Two of us stayed in the cabin that was closest to the road and the noise from the cars and trucks kept them from having a good night's sleep.

Also, the walk to the La Fortuna Waterfall from Arenal Green along a gravel road took us about 40 minutes, and we are pretty in-shape. Once you get to the waterfall entrance, it's 409 steps down to the bottom and 409 steps back up. I counted! Wear comfortable shoes and allow yourselves plenty of time.

I also highly recommend Ecothermales for the hot springs and the Arenal Hanging Bridges park and a day trip to Rio Celeste. We used arenal.net to reserve many of our tours and the guides were friendly, helpful and prompt. They spotted howler monkeys and a sloth that were on the side of the road, and stopped to let us take pictures.

For restaurants, we ate at the two local places that are next to the Burger King in La Fortuna (can't remember the names).

Thanks to the Arenal Green. We really enjoyed our stay and it was a great value!!

  • Liked — the breakfast
  • Disliked — proximity to the road for one of the cabins
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nutsandberries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin,Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2008

We stayed in Arenal Green for 2 nights and really enjoyed our stay there. The area is very quiet and peaceful (with an exception of a rooster waking us up at 4 in the morning - that's a charm of staying in the countryside).

The cabins are spacious, private, clean and with good amenities. The only thing is the shutters cannot be open - so you have to put the lights on even during the day. But the bed is comfy, bathroom clean and everything spotless.

The hotel is 5 min drive from La Fortuna - which is great if you don't want to be in the centre of the town (I didn't) and have a car - otherwise taxis are cheap.

The hospitality of the owner, Hermann, and other staff at Arenal Green cannot be overrated. We were greeted by Hermann when we arrived, booked all our tours in the hotel and we were really shown personal touch. We also had a couple of beers and great conversation with Hermann one of the nights, even though our Spanish is very limited. We were also offered a free cup of nice Costra Rican coffee and some fruit one morning when we were waiting to be picked up for a white water raftiing one day.

Lovely hotel with nice welcome that i would definitely recommend.

Gosia

  • Liked — friendly host, great views
  • Disliked — window shutters don't open
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markiGosia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,494 reviews
3.9 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,859 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#10 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#21 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
810 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
#6 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
566 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#5 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Green Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Green Hotel

Property: Arenal Green Hotel
Address: | 1 km west of the entrance to Rio Fortuna Waterfall, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Arenal Green Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Green Hotel offers a unique experience and a personal touch to your individual needs as our guest. There are six modern, air conditioned cabins and one villa which are constructed from native wood. Even with the individual cabins, there is a feeling of family and a bed and breakfast environment. We offer a peaceful, friendly and intimate atmosphere for our guests from afar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Arenal Green Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Green Hotel Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing