We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Arenal Green” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arenal Green Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Arenal Green Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hotel Arenal Green”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Of all the hotels I've stayed in at La Fortuna (including Los Lagos for $130/nite), Arena Green ($50/nite) is the best. It's quiet, extremely friendly personnel, birds, relaxing, great bathroom, refrigerator, A/C, large flat screen TV in both the cabin and the dining area and your own private patio. I have stayed there two times, and am in the process of planning my next trip that will include Arenal Green.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cindirtx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    108
    23
    6
    2
See reviews for
91
209
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
82 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

This hotels has 8 individual cabins and the reception/bkfst area. It is 2 km from La Fortuna town on the same rd as the Fortuna waterfall. When I booked I thought that it was walking distance to the waterfall but in the CR heat it is more of a drive or bike instead since the waterfall park is about 4 km from the hotel and then u still have to hike to the waterfall. The back yard of the hotel has a great view of the volcano and also is a great place to see lots of birds int eh early morning and evening 6-8 am 5-6 pm. They have a trail leading to a river in the back but the trail is not well cared for so be careful but the cold river is a nice spot for a little nature adventure. We saw the red jean frog here. The rooms have a fridge and air conditioning and Tv and the occasional mini little gecko (don't worry they're harmless)/ The hotel does not serve food after the breakfast meal but does offer a few beers and drinks for $2 each. There is another hotel restaurant within walking distance but ur best bet is taxi or walk to La fortuna town (taxi $4) for lots to eat/drink. We loved the fact that it was a little out of town for the birdwatching (toucans, parakeets, etc) and nature. The bkfst was included for us and we chose the tipico of galo pinto, coffee, eggs, plantain and cheese. It was the same ea morning. they have a computer in the lobby for guest use and the receptionist spoke English.
No pool, just the creek in the back. Also, only 2 of the cabins have the hammocks.

Room Tip: Cabins # 8 & #7 have hammocks in the front. Cabin #1 is closest to the street and reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cchamelion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We had a great stay at Arenal Green. The service was super. Breakfast was delicious, and the covered outdoor dining room was a beautiful setting. 15 minute walk to town mostly without sidewalks, or a $4 cab ride. Taxis extremely easy to get. We ended up in cabin #7 which is different from the other cabins, and much larger than we expected. It included 3 queen-size beds, and a decent size bathroom inside, and large covered patio with a second bathroom, kitchenette for cooking, table and chairs and two hammocks. Our family really enjoyed the peaceful setting, listening to the birds and relaxing between adventures. The front desk was very helpful in setting up excursions, including a horseback ride through jungle to the waterfall. We'd return in a heart beat.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roslyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
160 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in the cabins which are nice, but basic e.g. no wardrobe or anywhere to store or hang cloths. This is made up for by the view of the volcano and sitting outside the cabin watching humming birds feed. Apart from breakfast you need to go into town for food @ about $4 each way by taxi. Front desk very helpful in arranging tours and gave a 5% discount for cash. If you walk back down the road (in the direction of Arenal) and turn right within 100 metres you come to a bridge ... under the bridge is a stream with a waterfall and swimming area used by locals, good fun.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Though we were here just one night, we very much enjoyed our stay at Hotel Arenal Green. The front-desk people were very friendly and helpful, the cabins are sweet. We found the rooms to be clean, and the shower was strong and hot. We very much enjoyed walking from the hotel up to the waterfall. We saw our first toucans and many other amazing birds along the way, and swimming in the waterfall was fun. All in all, this hotel is a great value!

The main reason I don't give the hotel a five-star rating is that the breakfast was only OK. All of the other places we stayed in Costa Rica had really outstanding breakfasts, but I would say this one was only so-so. Absolutely fine and entirely edible, but not amazing. Also, a very minor point, but I'd say the lighting is a little odd in the rooms -- for privacy you want to keep the curtains closed, and the electric lighting was either super-bright or too dim.

We went to bed very early, and the people in the cabin next to us were on their deck until 11pm or so. Even just regular talking (they weren't being loud) seemed fairly loud in our room as the cabins are very close to each other. But, because we went to bed so early, and they were not up late, we didn't bother asking them to quiet down. Again, for the value, this hotel can't be beat and I only describe our experience so future visitors aren't surprised.

Another point: Since we were there only a short time, it didn't matter to us, but in terms of location: It would be a long-ish walk into the town of La Fortuna from this hotel, so we did drive to town for lunch and dinner. That said, this hotel is within walking distance of the waterfall, so that's a big plus in its favor.

For the record, we never actually saw the volcano, due to the heavy fog that never lifted. But it's still a beautiful area, and we loved this little hotel, and found it to be an excellent value for the money paid. We (my husband, mother in law and I) all agreed that we would happily return to Hotel Arenal Green.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrea141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Hotel was set in a wonderful area.Very close to the National Park and hanging bridges area. Very picturesqu. It sits on top of a mountain overlooking the Arenal Volcano. We were lucky enought to stay in one of the hilltop casitas. we had a great sitting area totally enclosed in glass that looked straight at the volcano. Awesome views. You are greeted every evening around 4:30 by the resident Macaw; Stephania! What a beauty! Really the only negative to this place was the lack of water pressure....but the water was hot which was a plus! Don't let the one lane brick road up the mountain intimidate you but be prepared and get there before dark!!! There is no lighting and it is a straight up curvy, onelaned switchback road.

Room Tip: Ask for the hilltop casitas, we stayed in 102 and it was great. Did hear from others that the honey...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peacejen63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

After reading the reviews on Trip Advisor and our copy of the Lonely Planet we were excited to stay here. It definitely fell short of our expectations compared to what we had read. The cabinas were pretty basic, not very clean, musty smelling, not well maintained and lacked character. It was also really quite noisy and you could hear neighbours very clearly on both sides. Only a few of the cabinas would actually offer a view of the volcano (when it's not clouded over). When we were there, the restaurant was actually closed down and only served breakfast. The place had somewhat of a deserted feel, and is more than a 20 minute walk outside of town. On the positive, it is a 40 or so minute walk to the Catarata Waterfalls, and there are some neat galleries close by. Other than that there is not too much else close by (no restaurants, or stores etc), so if you don't have a car, then you're walking into town any time you need anything. All-in-all it was our least favourite place that we stayed in Costa Rica (out of 6 different places, including basic hostels). The hot water was certainly nice though!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
#4 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 441 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Monte Real
Hotel Monte Real
#20 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 254 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Arenal Montechiari
Hotel Arenal Montechiari
#30 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 stars 219 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#8 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,042 reviews
1.2 mi away
San Bosco Inn
San Bosco Inn
#16 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 stars 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Green Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Green Hotel

Property: Arenal Green Hotel
Address: | 1 km west of the entrance to Rio Fortuna Waterfall, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#14 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#17 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Arenal Green Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Green Hotel offers a unique experience and a personal touch to your individual needs as our guest. There are six modern, air conditioned cabins and one villa which are constructed from native wood. Even with the individual cabins, there is a feeling of family and a bed and breakfast environment. We offer a peaceful, friendly and intimate atmosphere for our guests from afar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Arenal Green Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Green Hotel Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing