We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Volcano view, free explosions if you're kucky”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Paris
1 review
“Volcano view, free explosions if you're kucky”
Reviewed September 7, 2010

Very pleasant hotel with excellent view of the Arenal volcano.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerDH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,464
    731
    137
    24
    11
See reviews for
751
1,089
39
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (549)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2010

I stayed here for one night with my boyfriend and we had a very pleasant stay. I'm Costa Rican but my boyfriend is Australian and he was in complete awe. The room had a small patio area with a spectacular view to the Volcano, and the location is perfect: midway between La Fortuna (restaurants and souvenir shopping) and Arenal. Also, the Canyoing tour is right besides it, for those who are adrenaline junkies, you should definately go! It includes rappelling and 4 waterfalls. We also did the hanging bridges tour which is perfect for those that love the jungle and a bit of adventure. Last, if you want to relax in the late afternoon when the heat calms down, definitely go to the EcoThermals and get the dinner/hot springs package: you get some relax time at the hot springs with some drinks (not included), and then a great dinner!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MPiislo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 5, 2010

Arenal springs is an excelent hotel with very nice rooms with a view of the volcano, exquisite cuisine and a relaxing warm water swimming pool.
If you are going to Arenal National Park in costa Rica looking forward to relax and contact with nature but you don't want you to sacrifice your comfort, this is the place to be!

Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank InesMaio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamul, California
2 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2010

The staff at Arenal Springs Resort was so warm and gracious. My daughter and I enjoyed the hotel, the hotel grounds, the scenery of the volcano and the delicious Costa Rican cuisine. I like how they are conservation oriented and encourage all guests to embrace conservation. The beds and pillows could have been more plush, they were a little hard/stiff. Overall awesome place and would for sure stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dudachick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2010

We loved this hotel. The staff were terrific and made the stay special.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rekha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed September 3, 2010

The property is set up as "duplex" style bungalows each with a private porch with rocking chairs And postcard view of the volcano, the grounds and landscaping is beautiful
Everyone was very nice. The restaurant srvice seemed to depend on your waiter. We had one that seemed purposefully slow and others that were fantastic.
Would definitely recommend the property.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawnbeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2010

Arenal was our first stop during our 12-day trip to Costa Rica. The hotel was really nice. Excellent view. We spent our evenings rocking in the chairs and looking at the volcano. How relaxing! We were the lucky one's and saw the volcano erupt while we were there!!! What an amazing thing to see!!!!! The staff was great. The food in the resturant was pricey but you did not have many options since there were no other resturants close by. The pool was small but good for the kids. Rooms were comfortable. They were like little cottages since they were one story buildings. I liked that. Great A/C. Concierge was very helpful and friendly. Looking foward to going back.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dbunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
0.5 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,825 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 62 in Arenal Volcano National Park
2,350 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,240 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#5 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,821 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Springs Resort and Spa

Property: Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Address: 5 Miles West of Catholic Church of la Fortuna, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#7 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#12 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Springs Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Arenal Springs is located just 5 miles away from la Fortuna town toward the Arenal Volcano or National Park. We are located between La Fortuna town and the Arenal Lake.The Hotel count with 87 Junior Suites and 3 Master Suites King and 3 Master Suites Queen with direct view to the Arenal Volcano. Each room are surrounding with exotic gardens, beautiful flowers and many species of birds. These rooms offer either a king size bed or two double beds. Also we provide rooms with handicap access and adjoining rooms for families who want stay together.Our hotel offers you 2 swimming pools and a Thermal river.Hotel Arenal Springs Resort offers on each Junior Suite the best amenities for your comfort. King Bed or Two queen beds, Hair dryer, Cable TV, Mini bar, Free Wi-Fi Internet access, Air Conditioning, Ceiling fan, Laundry Bag, Telephone, Safe deposit box, Coffee Maker free coffee and tea), Bath amenities, Private bath with tropical garden, hot water, Private terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Arenal Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Springs Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Hotel Arenal Springs
Arenal Springs Resort And Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing