We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and relaxing resort with friendly, helpful staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Evanston, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Beautiful and relaxing resort with friendly, helpful staff!”
Reviewed May 7, 2010

My husband and I spent 3 nights at Hotel Arenal Springs during our honeymoon trip to Costa Rica. Everything from the time we arrived (to find a bottle of wine welcoming us in our room) to when we said goodbye was wonderful! The staff (especially Jessie and Miguel) were friendly and always willing to answer questions. The restaurant is also very good - ask for our new friend Rodrigo, who was so warm and friendly.

The resort makes an honest effort to be sustainable and environmentally friendly. We spent some time wandering the grounds and the vegetable garden - beautiful! Thank you to everyone for welcoming us warmly; we look forward to coming back!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,517
    747
    141
    24
    11
See reviews for
799
1,100
41
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (568)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Okc., Ok.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2010

On our recent visit to Fortuna, Costa Rica, my wife and I spent 5 nights at Arenal Springs Resort and thoroughly enjoyed it. The grounds are lovely, the location is close enough to town to be convenient but peaceful, the view of Arenal Volcano is wonderful even though IT'S NOT THE ACTIVE SIDE OF THE VOLCANO. Our room was, I believe, 901 at the back of the complex and elevated so we enjoyed a commanding view of the entire complex as well as the leisurely walk to the office and restaurant. The staff members were not only friendly and accommodating but very efficient too. They call a taxi for us whenever we needed and the concierge was very helpful with activity information and directions. Even the laundry staff was top notch. The breakfast included in the room fee was magnificent and was a great kick-off to every day starting at 6:30 each morning. The manager, Mr. Manura did a terrific job with advanced booking of our room emailing me several times before the trip to make sure we had all the details arranged. We're looking forward to visiting Arenal Springs Resort again next year and it gets my top recommendation for value and comfort.
Al Want- Oklahoma City

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gandalfwz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dawn1113
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2010

My husband found this place online and it was our favorite hotel on our trip. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful during our 3 night stay. They made all of our bookings for activities and excursions. The grounds were beautiful - especially the hot springs area surrounded by flowers. I loved that each family got to stay in their own little bungalow, rather than a hotel room which was something unique and different. It is centrally located to all activities which was nice as well. I will say though at night it is noisy in the sense that you hear all of the wildlife outside (birds) but its nature so who can really complain. Our stay was simply awesome and breakfast is included. Can't wait to go back...

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank dawn1113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed May 6, 2010

I highly recommend staying at Arenal Springs resort. The price is right!, It is clean, they have a restraunt on site, the food was delicious. The staff was very nice and helpful. We also did repelling thru waterfalls nearby and loved it. The view of the volcano was very nice, took a lot of pictures. WE will keep going back, and have recommended friends to go there, and everyone has nice things to say. Also used their spa services, massage was very good.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beckyrichards2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2010

Our room was large and had a beautiful view of the volcano (when not covered in clouds). They offered shuttle service to the rooms, but the rooms weren't too far from the main reception area anyway. We received refreshing welcome drinks. Pool area was nice. Breakfast was plentiful. Had dinner there one night and it was reasonably priced with good food. The a/c unit was right above the bed and was a bit loud. Curtains were thin, so it was bright in the morning. We had a nice balcony with 2 chairs. Didn't notice the thin walls, as others have commented on. Visited the butterfly garden; it was small, but admission was cheap. The tiles leading up/down the shower/tub area were slippery. The grounds were pretty and we spotted frogs, birds, neighboring horses and cows. Concierge was decent. Employees were helpful. The open air lobby was hot, would suggest more ceiling fans. Good value for the price. If you don't have your own vehicle, then would need to take a taxi to go to La Fortuna. There is nothing within walking distance to the hotel. The towel sculptures were a nice touch!

Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank scal_patty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
2 reviews
Reviewed May 4, 2010

This was the best hotel we stayed at in Costa Rica. It's very quiet and clean. The grounds are well maintained and the staff was very nice. The beds were a little hard and the food was just ok. The pool was tiny and there's not a lot of amenities for children if you want to just hang out at the resort. But overall, compared to the other hotels we stayed at during our 10 days in the country, our stay was quite comfortable and we enjoyed our little cottage rooms very much.

I booked everything at the last minute (well 2 weeks out) through Toucan Maps and they were awesome. They had really good recommendations for customizing your vacation; they solved problems quickly and were really easy to get a hold of and speak to (Americans with perfect English but based in Costa Rica). They booked everything - hotels, transfers, and activities so I didn't have to do a thing. I just told them what I wanted to do and that was it. One of our favorite activities was the waterfall rappel which is near that area. The Desafio adventure company is great. They have a wide variety of activities but we really enjoyed the rappelling and the guides were the best we had. Warm, engaging, funny and informative. They really try to communicate with you. I'd highly recommend them for anyone traveling to the Arenal Springs area.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tadao11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Springs Hotel and had a great time. The hotel is BEAUTIFUL!!!! It is out of a movie. The pools are amazing and possibly the best I have ever seen in my life and that is saying a lot because we travel all over the world. It is pricey, but it is worth the splurge for a night or two.

The staff is okay. They literally have their hand out at every moment for a tip. They think that because you spend so much for a room that you can give them money. They are also not very helpful when you have questions.

The restaurants are good, but overpriced for what you get. The sushi was great, but the breakfast was horrid. They have an expensive buffet that had unedible food. I tried to talk to my waiter about it, but he seemed to think I was crazy.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jhenehan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
0.5 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,888 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 63 in Arenal Volcano National Park
2,410 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,839 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,282 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Springs Resort and Spa

Property: Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Address: 5 Miles West of Catholic Church of la Fortuna, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#7 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#12 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Springs Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Arenal Springs is located just 5 miles away from la Fortuna town toward the Arenal Volcano or National Park. We are located between La Fortuna town and the Arenal Lake.The Hotel count with 87 Junior Suites and 3 Master Suites King and 3 Master Suites Queen with direct view to the Arenal Volcano. Each room are surrounding with exotic gardens, beautiful flowers and many species of birds. These rooms offer either a king size bed or two double beds. Also we provide rooms with handicap access and adjoining rooms for families who want stay together.Our hotel offers you 2 swimming pools and a Thermal river.Hotel Arenal Springs Resort offers on each Junior Suite the best amenities for your comfort. King Bed or Two queen beds, Hair dryer, Cable TV, Mini bar, Free Wi-Fi Internet access, Air Conditioning, Ceiling fan, Laundry Bag, Telephone, Safe deposit box, Coffee Maker free coffee and tea), Bath amenities, Private bath with tropical garden, hot water, Private terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Arenal Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Springs Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Hotel Arenal Springs
Arenal Springs Resort And Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing