We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Arenal Manoa Hotel(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Mountain Paradise(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Nayara Springs(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Volcano Lodge & Springs(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Arenal Volcano Inn(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Kokoro Arenal(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Sueno Dorado & Hot Springs(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,684)
Filter reviews
2,684 results
Traveler rating
1,682
804
157
29
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,682
804
157
29
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswim up barsushi barhot springscosta ricawet bargolf carttour deskcaravan tourthermal poolsmain restaurantroom keygreat view of the volcanobreakfast buffetbeautiful groundsrocking chairszip liningwelcome drink
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,059 - 2,064 of 2,684 reviews
Reviewed February 7, 2009

Arenal Springs has impressive grounds and the rooms we had was incredibly big for $125 (including tax & free breakfast). However, try to get your meals and have your own snacks otherwise you will get gouged for all you are worth. The beds were nice and comfortable but the walls are thin. I could here the people on the other side of our suite watching TV and talking.

As late and heavy sleepers we didn't have any problem. I was surprised that they wanted the little key card wallet but Yes, they do expect to collect it back. The shower was interesting because it has a plant wall that gets watered by an intentionally drippy roof section in the bathroom. That was an interesting room feature.

We only stayed in La Fortuna 1 night. The room would have had excellent views of the Arenal Volcano but when we stayed there the volcano was shrouded in clouds (common) and then the following day it was raining heavily.

The resort is a 15 minute cab ride to the waterfalls ($10, a worthwhile excursion) and the central town of La Fortuna. La Fortuna itself is also more expensive for meals and cabs than Jaco or Manuel Antonio.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank happyboredom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 29, 2016

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to share your comments and thank you for staying at our hotel, we were glad to read that you held a wonderful vacation and enjoyed everything here in Costa Rica, we hope to see you back soon to serve you in the best way possible.
On behalf of all staff working at Hotel Arenal Springs thank you very much and blessings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2009

The title says it all: this place stank. In our room in was like a wet towel was left under the bed for a week. We complained as soon as the door was opened and the guy who showed us our room said it would clear up once the air was turned on. It didn't. Every time we opened the door to our room we were struck with the mildew/stale smell. Gross.

It rained during one of the days that we were there and since the bathroom has a crack in it to let in the water for the plants we also had tons of very tiny ants all over our bathroom floor. I really did not get a clean feeling from the place, even the sheets felt off. It makes me wonder how the word resort can be used in the title of the hotel ... I suppose it gives them a good reason to stick a plastic bracelet on you for the entire time you are there ...

We sat down for lunch, took a look at the menu and immediately got back up. All of the food is extremely Americanized and overpriced ... I did not come to Costa Rica for fettichini alfredo!

The view of the volcano is really nice and so is the included breakfast buffet. I wish I had better things to say about the experience. We will not be back.

*Side note, check out the waterfall in La Fortuna - it is beautiful! Also Sky Trek was an amazing zip line experience!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fab_Ham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2016

hi dear guest Fab_Ham.
We are very sorry you had a bad experience in our hotel, but now after so long we would love to see you again and so you can see all differences and improvements we have built, thanks to your comments and recommendations.
thanks and blessings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2009

We called the springs hotel and wanted to book our stay for the next day. even though this was last minute, we were told we must book through their website. We thought this was very odd and expressed our conserned to no avail. We MUST make the reservation through the website they insisted. So we did. Upon arrival, they did not have our reservation... but luckily they had a room for us. The staff was friendly, helpful, the rooms were great, clean, everything worked. Great view of the volcano. Great value.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank potion18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2016

Hi potion 18
thank you very much for sharing your comments and for staying at our hotel, we are glad to read you had a nice holiday and that you enjoyed your stay here at our hotel, we hope to see you back and serve you in the best way.
On behalf of all staff working Arenal Springs Hotel, thank you very much and blessings.
PURA VIDA.....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2009

This was my second stay at this resort. I was here Nov. 2006 with a tour group for 2 nights and loved it so much, I returned for 8 nights with 2 friends. I found out it rains year round near the volcano, so 4 nights would have been fine and then 4 more nights on the Pacific Coast. The breakfast buffet is good, but lunch & dinner are very expensive (chicken & rice for $15 was the cheapest item). It's a $8 one way taxi ride into town, so you're kind of trapped at the resort. There are many hot springs nearby, Sky Trek (the best zip line!), Hanging Bridges, Rapelling, and Cano Negro River trip are all worth the money. I enjoyed the volcano mud massage. The bird watching and tropical landscaping on the grounds are great! They were paving the road right outside our room the last 4 days which was very noisy so that I had to leave the room. I'm not sure why they gave us that room knowing we were there 8 days. The staff was very friendly, especially Selim and Edward who book your tours. The volcano is much less active than in 2006 so you can no longer see the lava flow at night. You have to take a $10 taxi around to the other side to see a tiny glow. Overall, the hotel is really geared to the large tour groups that roll in nightly.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank blueskylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2016

Dear guest thank you very much for choosing us for your holiday and thank you for taking your important time to write your valuable comments.
hope to see you back soon.
thank you very much and blessings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2008

This was our least favorite hotel of the 6 we stayed in during our 2-week CR trip. The hotel was OK, and some aspects were quite good, but somehow things just didn't seem to be put together as well as they could have been.

The view of Arenal was exceptional, the room was comfortable, landscaping was attractive, and the breakfast selection was good. There is no road noise, since Arenal Springs is located 1/2 mile from the main highway.

Some of the negatives may have to do with what appears to be a fairly recent expansion, which may have been done so the property can accommodate large tour bus groups. Things that were sub-par included poorly constructed paving and curbs (there was rusted re-bar sticking out of the concrete!), a pool that was much too small for the number of rooms, staff that seemed to be looking for tips (such as the waiter we overheard who told a guest that tips were not added to the bill -- there's a 10% service charge added), lack of a lunch menu at the restaurant with lighter items, and unhelpful front desk staff.

The most irritating thing we encountered was -- THE ATTACK OF THE WEEDWHACKERS! Our first morning there we decided to just sit outside our room, relax, and take in the magnificent view of Arenal. After 5 minutes, a team of men with gas-powered weedwhackers appeared. We figured that they would trim the edges of the lawn, and then move on -- no problem, a short inconvenience. Wrong. They fired up the weedwhackers, and proceeded to mow the grass with them! Slowly, loudly, fumes filling the air -- for the entire morning. No help from the front desk staff.

Arenal Springs Resort is adequate for a brief stay. With better management and attention to detail, it could be very nice.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank JJ53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2016

Dear guest thank you very much for choosing us for your holiday and thank you for taking your important time to write your valuable comments.
hope to see you back soon.
thank you very much and blessings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews