We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Choice for our Family” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arenal Springs Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Folsom, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Choice for our Family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We traveled to Arenal with 3 young children (ages 4, 6 & 8) and had a great experience here.

The grounds are beautiful and spacious, with a ton of room to run around, and you have an amazing view of the volcano. The pools are great, some are warm, some hot, and some cold - the kids loved exploring all of the different choices around the property. The rooms are large and clean and have 2 queen beds, a mini fridge and plenty of room to be comfortable, and the AC works great. Breakfast was included and had great options for the kids.

Arenal Springs Resort is also in a great location, and you can easily drive into La Fortuna in 10 minutes where there are many choices for eating & activities.

I am giving this only 4 stars instead of 5 for 2 reasons - 1) The internet was super sketchy in the room and just a little better by the pool, and 2) while the staff was there to help with activities planning, I don't think that they went out of their way to be friendly or helpful. They will only really acknowledge you if you initiate it.

Overall I would not hesitate to stay here again if we ever return to the area.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the pool and common areas are convenient, but also far enough that you wont get any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TaliBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 2, 2015
Thank you so much for sharing your comments and we are glad to hear that you had a nice holiday here in our hotel.
All of us here we hope to see you soon and be able to serve you in the best way, we all hope that the return to your home is good as well and do not forget you have a lot of friends here in Costa Rica.
Thank you very much and blessings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,002 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,212
    642
    115
    23
    10
See reviews for
622
912
33
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (467)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Farmington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014 via mobile

This resort is set in a spectacular property. Each room is surrounded by lovely flowers and has a great view of the volcano. Unfortunately, it rained pretty much every day we were there and we could not see the mountain clearly except on rare occasions. They had had a major storm moves through the area the day before we arrived, and lightning had struck their communications center. Apparently this resulted in a fire that had short-circuited many of the boards. Because of this, they did not have Wi-Fi, which caused substantial consternation to many of the guests. However given the unexpected and very costly damage, it is not surprising that it took them several days to fix the problem. By the time we left, there was WiFi access in the reception area, but not in the individual rooms. I am inclined to give them the benefit of the conditions. The best feature of the resort is the access to a volcanic spring that brings in natural water at about 101°F. The soaking pools were inviting and fabulous. We faced two problems. The first was that the on-site restaurants were quite expensive and the range of dishes available to us (as vegetarians) was somewhat limited. The town is 7 km away and a $12 ride by taxi each way, which meant that we were reluctant to go to town for every meal. The second is that if your room is one of the high numbers (anything over 300), the walk to the reception area and the pools is long and the wait for the somewhat unreliable shuttles was sometimes quite long. A strange feature of many of the places we stayed in Costa Rica was that they do not like to flush toilet paper. One has to throw the toilet paper, even if it is soiled, into a garbage can which is emptied every day. However, to walk into a bathroom knowing that the garbage can is full of dirty old toilet paper was disconcerting. This is, however, not unique to this resort. Overall, this is a very lovely setting, with great service and comfortable rooms. Our suggestion, especially for older folk who may find it difficult to walk long distances, is to insist on a room in the 100s – 300s.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TV R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 2, 2015
Thank you so much for sharing your comments and we are glad to hear that you had a nice holiday here in our hotel.
All of us here we hope to see you soon and be able to serve you in the best way, we all hope that the return to your home is good as well and do not forget you have a lot of friends here in Costa Rica.
Thank you very much and blessings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

This place is pretty awesome! Great hot springs, good food, beautiful backdrop of Arenal. Downsides are that the beds are quite uncomfortable, the food and drinks are fairly expensive, and they encourage you to place your toilet paper in the garbage rather than the toilet which just seems a little hard to get on board with. ;-)

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 2, 2015
Thank you so much for sharing your comments and we are glad to hear that you had a nice holiday here in our hotel.
All of us here we hope to see you soon and be able to serve you in the best way, we all hope that the return to your home is good as well and do not forget you have a lot of friends here in Costa Rica.
Thank you very much and blessings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Arenal Springs Resort is a very well maintained property. The landscaping is fantastic with beautiful flowers and trees all around. The rooms are spacious and well lit with a reasonable bathroom featuring an indoor / outdoor shower (covered). Wifi coverage was pretty good, and the room AC unit worked quite well. Our rooms faced the Arenal volcano, although while we were there in August, we never really saw the top of the volcano due to clouds. Each room has parking outside it for people who were driving. I liked the fact that our rooms were a little bit of a walk away from the main building. It made the rooms we stayed in very quiet, and private, and we also got a chance to walk to the rooms in the evening after dinner. They also have golf carts that can be used to get a ride to the room if you like.

The resort has three pools, each with different water temperature, and a kiddie pool for the little ones. The hot water from the hot springs in the first pool is very relaxing. From there, one can walk over to the main pool which is nice and warm, and has a bar area to get drinks or food. The last pool has cold water, and is refreshing to cool off in.

The resort is about 7 Km from the city center, so you are really limited with a choice of two restaurants - local cuisine or Italian to go to at the resort. They do also have a sushi bar or burgers that you can get by the pool, and the friendly staff is very willing to bring food from any of the eating places to either of the restaurants, if some of you want to eat from the restaurant menu, and others want to eat from one of the other menus.

The breakfast is included, and is really good. Fresh made tortillas, eggs made to order, fresh fruit, and a number of other choices make this a pretty nice way to start the day. The restaurant faces the pool area and the volcano, so the views are pretty good as well.

The gentleman at the Italian restaurant was very friendly. He gave us suggestions on what local desserts we should try while in Costa Rica and also some things we should look for like local fruit, and ice cream shops.

This was by far the best hotel we stayed in out of the three we stayed in while visiting Costa Rica.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarat-Khilnani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 2, 2015
Thank you so much for sharing your comments and we are glad to hear that you had a nice holiday here in our hotel.
All of us here we hope to see you soon and be able to serve you in the best way, we all hope that the return to your home is good as well and do not forget you have a lot of friends here in Costa Rica.
Thank you very much and blessings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

As a family of 3 traveling internationally, there are of course going to be those last minute ordeals and the constant headaches. However, unlike 90% of most hotels out there, this hotel included nothing of the sort.

We arrived at around 11pm local time to find the hotel mostly closed (restaurants, pools, bars, etc. all close at 10pm local time) yet the property was still beautiful with what we could see late at night.

The next morning, we woke up to a beautfiul sunrise and an absolutely STUNNING view of the hotel. Honestly, one of the most stunning views i have ever seen in my entire life. We proceeded to breakfast, and an absolutely incredible meal followed. The breakfast offered a wide variety from pancakes to fruit, and waffles to rice and beans. The 8 swimming areas (kids pool, pool, thermal hot springs, 3 other hot springs, natural pool, and jacuzzi) were amazing as well. There are so many that it is nice even when the pool area is busy because chancez are that you can find a swimming area with no people. The wet bar is a great addition. Laura at the bar and the sushi chef a few feet away make some great smoothies and sushi. There is also the "grill" at the wet bar featuring more american foods such as sandwiches and burgers but some Costa Rican food is also on the menu. The italian restaurant left a hole in our stomach (as well as our wallet) and left a little to be desired. Average food at best. With the high prices (around $20-30 a peson) i was expecting alot more, but that was ok.

The duplex we stayed in was great as well. While it appears they are all the same, i recommend requesting one closer to the pool/restaurant area. In the back, it is almost equvilent to a 5 or 6 block walk. You can request for a golf cart to pick you up, but that takes a while. The shower areas are very nice and open while the rooms are on the small side. However, it was plenty of room for the 3 of us.

We heard many, many people complaining about the wifi. (It was down for about 48 hours after a MAJOR storm moved through the area) If you are coming to Costa Rica expecting the wifi to be amazing or choosing the resort because the wifi is included, just dont come. Period. There are many other places with better wifi if it is that big of a deal.

The gift shop is a great addition. From all the gift shops i have seen, this one is not that expensive if you need a last mintue personal item or a coca-cola from the drink machine.

The wildlife is awesome as well. There were no monkeys, however many birds and lizards were throughout the resort grounds. The trees were green and plentiful and the flowers in full bloom. There are also horses and calfs on the property. You are allowed to visit and pet them.

There is also a spa on premisis, however we did not visit it.

Overall, this resort was top notch. Definitely the best resort i've stayed in. It may appear on the pricey side, but is well worth it.

PROS:
-Spacious property
-Many pools and spas
-Great wildlife
-Great food
-Nice rooms
-TV in room
-Variety of restaurants
-BEAUTIFUL grounds. We saw people working on the grounds nearly everyday
-Nice and polite staff

CONS
-Roms on the smaller side, still comfortable
-15min from town ($10-14 taxi ride one way)
-2.5 hours from San Jose airport and 3 hours from Liberia airport
-Wifi undependable

Room Tip: Request a room near the pools and restaurants. It is quite a hike from the back or the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Christian M hello, thank you very much for reminding us with as many details and thank you for choosing us as your hotel, good to see you had a nice experience and enjoyed their holiday.
hope to see you back soon and be able to serve you as you deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
159 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We stayed her 2 nights as part of our Caravan tour. The surrounding area is beautiful. The rooms were great. There was a slight odor in each room and the beds were really hard. Other than that, everything else was lovely. The hot springs are fantastic

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank glmorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
glmorgan hello, thank you very much for your comments and I will explain the slight odor that sometimes some guests sit in your room especially in the rainy season, the humidity in some days can be up to 100% in this area, we work very strong to prevent this from happening but sometimes when customers come to their rooms still feel a slight odor.
thanks anyway and hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

This resort reminded me of a small village the way the rooms (two with a shared wall) were set up on North/South and East/West streets within the resort. Beautiful hot springs area and nice setting; was able to see Arenal Volcano from my room. Like the rocking chairs outside the room. Was not happy with the "casual" Italian restaurant. Had the worst pizza of my life there (Ok, I'm originally from Chicago, but believe me it was bad). The entire pizza was covered in oil which made this think crust saggy and soaked. When I took half in a box for lunch the next day, the bottom layer quickly absorbed the oil from the top layer. Know that this resort (and others up the hill) are isolated from the town so you either need to bring your own food (good that there's a mini fridge in the room) or eat at one of their two pricey restaurants. The breakfast was fantastic. Allow enough time and don't rush through this; also beautiful views.

Room Tip: If you don't want to walk a long way to breakfast or the spa, choose a room that is in the 400s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LoveToTravel155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Love To travel155 hello, thank you very much for visiting us and thanks for hecernos know about your problem in the area of our Italian restaurant, thanks to your comments we see in which areas we need to improve and always attentive to every detail, we hope to see you soon and back to surprise you with the best pizza in the world.
graces and blessings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
0.5 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 2,321 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#7 of 67 in Arenal Volcano National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 2,082 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
#2 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 2,907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,863 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,165 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#6 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 1,685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Springs Resort and Spa

Property: Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Address: 5 Miles West of Catholic Church of la Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#7 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#7 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#12 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Springs Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Arenal Springs is located just 5 miles away from la Fortuna town toward the Arenal Volcano or National Park. We are located between La Fortuna town and the Arenal Lake.The Hotel count with 87 Junior Suites and 3 Master Suites King and 3 Master Suites Queen with direct view to the Arenal Volcano. Each room are surrounding with exotic gardens, beautiful flowers and many species of birds. These rooms offer either a king size bed or two double beds. Also we provide rooms with handicap access and adjoining rooms for families who want stay together.Our hotel offers you 2 swimming pools and a Thermal river.Hotel Arenal Springs Resort offers on each Junior Suite the best amenities for your comfort. King Bed or Two queen beds, Hair dryer, Cable TV, Mini bar, Free Wi-Fi Internet access, Air Conditioning, Ceiling fan, Laundry Bag, Telephone, Safe deposit box, Coffee Maker free coffee and tea), Bath amenities, Private bath with tropical garden, hot water, Private terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Arenal Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Springs Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Hotel Arenal Springs
Arenal Springs Resort And Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing