We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Nearby Hotels
Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$292
$224
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$152
$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$256
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel El Silencio del Campo(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Lomas del Volcan(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Arenal Lodge(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$105
$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$217
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arenal Manoa Hotel(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$241
$154
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Volcano Lodge & Springs(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$200
$162
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$332
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,801)
Filter reviews
2,801 results
Traveler rating
1,760
842
158
29
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,760
842
158
29
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswim up barsushi barhot springscosta ricawet bargolf carttour deskthermal poolscaravan tourmain restaurantroom keygreat view of the volcanobreakfast buffetbeautiful groundsrocking chairszip liningwelcome drink
Filter
Updating list...
1,219 - 1,224 of 2,801 reviews
Reviewed July 20, 2014

I was visiting my sister in San Jose and she and her husband recommended a trip to this resort. We stayed in a master suite and it was beautiful! The staff are very friendly and accommodating. The food at the restaurant on site is ok-- not bad for breakfast, but you probably want to find somewhere else to go for lunch or dinner as the nearby town offers far better fare for less money. The grounds are gorgeous and well kept. I would definitely love to visit this resort again!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Thaeda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 29, 2016

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to share your comments and thank you for staying at our hotel, we were glad to read that you held a wonderful vacation and enjoyed everything here in Costa Rica, we hope to see you back soon to serve you in the best way possible.
On behalf of all staff working at Hotel Arenal Springs thank you very much and blessings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014

This was the perfect choice for Arenal. We have 2 teenaged boys and wound up getting 2 adjoining rooms, which was perfect. Would have definitely been too crowded to share. The prices were quite reasonable. The bathrooms are so cool, with rain coming through the roof to water the live plants in the shower area. The staff arranged great tours (do NOT miss the water rappelling/canyoneering!). The springs were wonderful. The staff couldn't have been more accommodating. The only disappointment was the food. Included breakfast was not very good at all and the food at the pool bar area was downright gross at times (e.g., squeeze cheese on the nachos). The positive aspects of the resort by far outweighed the food, though. Finally, don't miss the spa. It's absolutely gorgeous and I had a fantastic massage (and I'm really picky on that front).

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Stacey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

Our extended family recently stayed at Arenal Springs Resort. The customer service was outstanding. The property was gorgeous. The hot springs and wet bar was a relaxing place to gather after an eventful day. If you like sushi, don't miss it at the wet bar. Great place for families.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank paiger1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 29, 2016

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to share your comments and thank you for staying at our hotel, we were glad to read that you held a wonderful vacation and enjoyed everything here in Costa Rica, we hope to see you back soon to serve you in the best way possible.
On behalf of all staff working at Hotel Arenal Springs thank you very much and blessings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014

WE were looking for adventure, romance and relaxation to celebrate my husband's 50th. We live in Florida, so we opted not to go to the coast -- and stayed at the Nayara for 5 days. It was just what we wanted! The staff were all very helpful and friendly. The room was wonderful (and a great value), the grounds were relaxing and peaceful (except when very discreet grounds keeper walked out from under our room when we were on our deck!), the spa was amazing! no need for a recording of a rain forest -- it's really there! And my foot massage that ended in the light pitter patter of rain... I want to go back! We went on a few excursions. We enjoyed the horseback riding and the rappelling on the waterfalls was a thrill. The hanging bridge tour of the rain forest was relaxing and informative. We saw a lot of wildlife in the forest AND on the transfers to and from the airport! We enjoyed trips into La Fortuna for the local culture. All in all, a great trip!

Room Tip: I only saw my suite, which was superior and wonderful! LOVED the private outside shower and the jacuzzi on the deck. I've seen some complaints about bugs -- come on! Do you like being outdoors or not? There were no mosquitos or problem insects, but sure, we saw a few crawling things.... ;-)
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank FLtraveller2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 29, 2016

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to share your comments and thank you for staying at our hotel, we were glad to read that you held a wonderful vacation and enjoyed everything here in Costa Rica, we hope to see you back soon to serve you in the best way possible.
On behalf of all staff working at Hotel Arenal Springs thank you very much and blessings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2014

I enjoyed the location and the lodge style rooms with super cool bathrooms. The room had a metal/plastic roof with white plastic over the shower. This allowed light in for the shade loving plants planted by the shower wall.l There was a half inch gap between the wall and the roof which allowed the plants to be watered by rainfall (super cool). It also allowed critters (insects and lizards) to gain access. Nothing like sharing a shower with nature.

A retractable clothes line for drying clothes was mounted in the shower area. However, because of the open roof and placement of the line, bathing suits or other articles of clothing would be hit by the falling rain and not dry properly. Also, because of the open roof, the bathroom area remained warm and humid and added to the drying problem.

Storage space in the bathrooms was extremely limited. While I had space for my bare minimum toiletries, my wife and daughter found the space to be completely inadequate.

The beds were hard and uncomfortable.. The AC unit is controlled by a remote control which in my case needed new batteries. I could hear the people next door (my wife and daughter) through the shower but closing the bathroom with the AC on covered the noise. Sleeping quality was overall is good. This is an eco rated hotel with a control to automatically turn off the lights and ac when the single key is removed This may be a problem during full summer bur we were there in winter (rainy season) with temps from 70-85 degrees F. I found the rainfall noise from the roof rather romantic.

We were on the 600 row. While a previous reviewer stated they preferred the garden view and not that of the parking area and street that we had, I found the walk to be closer from the street in the frequent downpours (it was rainy season) then needing to walk around the building from the street to the entrance. Because all the bungalows are on a hillside, our view out was not blocked by the buildings across the street. Unfortunately, we never did see the volcano because of the low clouds.

The grounds were beautiful. At the end of our row was a neighboring property which was a pasture with grazing cows. My wife also took shelter in the yoga pavilion during one of the frequent heavy showers. It was a large beautiful space. There were no mats available in the pavilion and we don't know if the resort has them available for use.

The restaurant was open air. We were on a Caravan tour and our breakfast and dinner was buffet style. My daughter has a severe allergy to bananas (epi pen severe). When she checked and found out that the food in the hot trays were all presented on banana leaf liners, the chef came out and discussed with her what she would like to have for dinner and cooked her dinner for her. Kudos for this extra service.

We would return to this resort if we ever return to the Arenal Volcano area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bob_bra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 29, 2016

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to share your comments and thank you for staying at our hotel, we were glad to read that you held a wonderful vacation and enjoyed everything here in Costa Rica, we hope to see you back soon to serve you in the best way possible.
On behalf of all staff working at Hotel Arenal Springs thank you very much and blessings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews