We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Lovely grounds, great view, terrific staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arenal Springs Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely grounds, great view, terrific staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

This was the perfect choice for Arenal. We have 2 teenaged boys and wound up getting 2 adjoining rooms, which was perfect. Would have definitely been too crowded to share. The prices were quite reasonable. The bathrooms are so cool, with rain coming through the roof to water the live plants in the shower area. The staff arranged great tours (do NOT miss the water rappelling/canyoneering!). The springs were wonderful. The staff couldn't have been more accommodating. The only disappointment was the food. Included breakfast was not very good at all and the food at the pool bar area was downright gross at times (e.g., squeeze cheese on the nachos). The positive aspects of the resort by far outweighed the food, though. Finally, don't miss the spa. It's absolutely gorgeous and I had a fantastic massage (and I'm really picky on that front).

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,963 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,185
    633
    112
    23
    10
See reviews for
600
900
33
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (462)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

Our extended family recently stayed at Arenal Springs Resort. The customer service was outstanding. The property was gorgeous. The hot springs and wet bar was a relaxing place to gather after an eventful day. If you like sushi, don't miss it at the wet bar. Great place for families.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank paiger1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 29, 2016
Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to share your comments and thank you for staying at our hotel, we were glad to read that you held a wonderful vacation and enjoyed everything here in Costa Rica, we hope to see you back soon to serve you in the best way possible.
On behalf of all staff working at Hotel Arenal Springs thank you very much and blessings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

WE were looking for adventure, romance and relaxation to celebrate my husband's 50th. We live in Florida, so we opted not to go to the coast -- and stayed at the Nayara for 5 days. It was just what we wanted! The staff were all very helpful and friendly. The room was wonderful (and a great value), the grounds were relaxing and peaceful (except when very discreet grounds keeper walked out from under our room when we were on our deck!), the spa was amazing! no need for a recording of a rain forest -- it's really there! And my foot massage that ended in the light pitter patter of rain... I want to go back! We went on a few excursions. We enjoyed the horseback riding and the rappelling on the waterfalls was a thrill. The hanging bridge tour of the rain forest was relaxing and informative. We saw a lot of wildlife in the forest AND on the transfers to and from the airport! We enjoyed trips into La Fortuna for the local culture. All in all, a great trip!

Room Tip: I only saw my suite, which was superior and wonderful! LOVED the private outside shower and the jacu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FLtraveller2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 29, 2016
Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to share your comments and thank you for staying at our hotel, we were glad to read that you held a wonderful vacation and enjoyed everything here in Costa Rica, we hope to see you back soon to serve you in the best way possible.
On behalf of all staff working at Hotel Arenal Springs thank you very much and blessings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homosassa, Florida
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

I enjoyed the location and the lodge style rooms with super cool bathrooms. The room had a metal/plastic roof with white plastic over the shower. This allowed light in for the shade loving plants planted by the shower wall.l There was a half inch gap between the wall and the roof which allowed the plants to be watered by rainfall (super cool). It also allowed critters (insects and lizards) to gain access. Nothing like sharing a shower with nature.

A retractable clothes line for drying clothes was mounted in the shower area. However, because of the open roof and placement of the line, bathing suits or other articles of clothing would be hit by the falling rain and not dry properly. Also, because of the open roof, the bathroom area remained warm and humid and added to the drying problem.

Storage space in the bathrooms was extremely limited. While I had space for my bare minimum toiletries, my wife and daughter found the space to be completely inadequate.

The beds were hard and uncomfortable.. The AC unit is controlled by a remote control which in my case needed new batteries. I could hear the people next door (my wife and daughter) through the shower but closing the bathroom with the AC on covered the noise. Sleeping quality was overall is good. This is an eco rated hotel with a control to automatically turn off the lights and ac when the single key is removed This may be a problem during full summer bur we were there in winter (rainy season) with temps from 70-85 degrees F. I found the rainfall noise from the roof rather romantic.

We were on the 600 row. While a previous reviewer stated they preferred the garden view and not that of the parking area and street that we had, I found the walk to be closer from the street in the frequent downpours (it was rainy season) then needing to walk around the building from the street to the entrance. Because all the bungalows are on a hillside, our view out was not blocked by the buildings across the street. Unfortunately, we never did see the volcano because of the low clouds.

The grounds were beautiful. At the end of our row was a neighboring property which was a pasture with grazing cows. My wife also took shelter in the yoga pavilion during one of the frequent heavy showers. It was a large beautiful space. There were no mats available in the pavilion and we don't know if the resort has them available for use.

The restaurant was open air. We were on a Caravan tour and our breakfast and dinner was buffet style. My daughter has a severe allergy to bananas (epi pen severe). When she checked and found out that the food in the hot trays were all presented on banana leaf liners, the chef came out and discussed with her what she would like to have for dinner and cooked her dinner for her. Kudos for this extra service.

We would return to this resort if we ever return to the Arenal Volcano area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bob_bra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 29, 2016
Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to share your comments and thank you for staying at our hotel, we were glad to read that you held a wonderful vacation and enjoyed everything here in Costa Rica, we hope to see you back soon to serve you in the best way possible.
On behalf of all staff working at Hotel Arenal Springs thank you very much and blessings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We had a wonderful time at Arenal Springs Resort. Our favorite things were: the grounds, the free mini-bar items, the wonderful breakfast each morning that comes with the room, the tranquility. My daughter celebrated her 7th birthday there and the staff went above and beyond to make her an AMAZING volcano cake!!! The concierge who I think is named Ramo or Ramon?? was just INCREDIBLE. We also sent her for the Children's Chocolate Massage in the hotel spa. Martha at the spa was just great with her! The ONLY reason I don't give the hotel 5 stars is because I thought the beds were pretty uncomfortable. I hope they upgrade them soon...I would love to return!

Room Tip: Odd number rooms have a lawn in front, which is good for kids. the 100s-300s are closer to the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Woodlandia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 29, 2016
Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to share your comments and thank you for staying at our hotel, we were glad to read that you held a wonderful vacation and enjoyed everything here in Costa Rica, we hope to see you back soon to serve you in the best way possible.
On behalf of all staff working at Hotel Arenal Springs thank you very much and blessings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We stayed here for two nights and would have extended if we could have. The fruit trees and flowers on the property are lovely (they have some of them named so you know what you are looking at). The whole family loved the pools with the waterfalls and the hot springs pools!!!! Swim up bar has great food and drinks. Staff was friendly. We went in early July and the weather was great. The fog cleared so that we could see the volcano clearly. I think all the cabins face the volcano... with chairs and a good cup of CR coffee....great!
The bathroom showers are HUGE with live plants drinking in the sun and shower water/mist...nice touch. Beds are a bit hard for my husband, but fine for me.

Would HIGHLY recommend the walk through the swinging bridges. It is beautiful, with monkeys , frogs and a waterfall. You are inside the canopy and at some points looking down on to huge trees. I think it was about $20 some to get in so take your time and walk quietly (get away from any loud groups of people!). At entrance there is a café with a good view (we did not eat).
Pura Vida!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lauren1266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 29, 2016
Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to share your comments and thank you for staying at our hotel, we were glad to read that you held a wonderful vacation and enjoyed everything here in Costa Rica, we hope to see you back soon to serve you in the best way possible.
On behalf of all staff working at Hotel Arenal Springs thank you very much and blessings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

We loved all the nature , flaura & fauna at this hotel. But we especially loved soaking in the hot mineral springs every day.
Beautiful songbirds sang for us in the morning and we even saw colorful macaws at the entrance.
The wifi was iffy in the room but worked well in the reception area.
The prices in the gift shop were good compared with prices we saw elsewhere.
Enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VVB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 29, 2016
Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to share your comments and thank you for staying at our hotel, we were glad to read that you held a wonderful vacation and enjoyed everything here in Costa Rica, we hope to see you back soon to serve you in the best way possible.
On behalf of all staff working at Hotel Arenal Springs thank you very much and blessings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
0.5 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 2,276 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 67 in Arenal Volcano National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 2,048 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
#2 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 2,870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,835 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#6 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 1,655 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#11 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Springs Resort and Spa

Property: Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Address: 5 Miles West of Catholic Church of la Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#7 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#7 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#12 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Springs Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Arenal Springs is located just 5 miles away from la Fortuna town toward the Arenal Volcano or National Park. We are located between La Fortuna town and the Arenal Lake.The Hotel count with 87 Junior Suites and 3 Master Suites King and 3 Master Suites Queen with direct view to the Arenal Volcano. Each room are surrounding with exotic gardens, beautiful flowers and many species of birds. These rooms offer either a king size bed or two double beds. Also we provide rooms with handicap access and adjoining rooms for families who want stay together.Our hotel offers you 2 swimming pools and a Thermal river.Hotel Arenal Springs Resort offers on each Junior Suite the best amenities for your comfort. King Bed or Two queen beds, Hair dryer, Cable TV, Mini bar, Free Wi-Fi Internet access, Air Conditioning, Ceiling fan, Laundry Bag, Telephone, Safe deposit box, Coffee Maker free coffee and tea), Bath amenities, Private bath with tropical garden, hot water, Private terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Arenal Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Springs Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Hotel Arenal Springs
Arenal Springs Resort And Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing