We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful”
Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

Last week in June, very beautiful but also very rainy! Very lush and green but resort prices are very expensive as is everything in Arenal. I bought two six packs of beer, chips, tomato juice, fruit I kid you not it was $50. Crazy! We went on the hanging bridges tour and found it much less expensive to go in a taxi rather than book it through the front desk. Ifi had to do it again I would stay at Westin playa conchal and take an excursion from there to rainforest. Much more comfortable and all meals drinks etc included.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Rene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 29, 2016
Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to share your comments and thank you for staying at our hotel, we were glad to read that you held a wonderful vacation and enjoyed everything here in Costa Rica, we hope to see you back soon to serve you in the best way possible.
On behalf of all staff working at Hotel Arenal Springs thank you very much and blessings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,461
    731
    137
    24
    11
See reviews for
750
1,087
39
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (548)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014

We loved Arenal Springs. A very friendly welcome with a fruit cocktail. Had a buggy ride to our room with a very friendly driver, which contained swan-towels on the bed and a complimentary mini-bar. Really liked the bathroom and shower, which had an outdoor feel.

The swimming pool area was great, with a nice variety of pools, including a wet bar and sushi bar (in warm water), and hot and cold natural springs. We liked the fact that they weren't chlorinated (drained and cleaned daily) so they felt fresh.

Also liked the great views of Arenal volcano.

The one downside was that the lunch/evening food in the two restaurants weren't very good, but this isn't a serious enough downside to drop a star. The breakfast buffet had a big selection and was pretty good.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Giles E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Hill, California, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Loved everything about this place except for the sushi bar. Not good, otherwise I'd give it a 5. Because the weather in the area is so mild/cool, especially in the rainy season when we were there, the hot springs fed pools are amazing. The two main pools (one cool, one hot) share the swim up bar and sushi bar. Temp of the hot was was 96ºF and both had waterfalls you could swim under.

The rain does come and go, but when it comes it's comical (heavy) as we were there during the rainy season. We saw the top of the volacano only briefly twice.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanStone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 29, 2016
Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to share your comments and thank you for staying at our hotel, we were glad to read that you held a wonderful vacation and enjoyed everything here in Costa Rica, we hope to see you back soon to serve you in the best way possible.
On behalf of all staff working at Hotel Arenal Springs thank you very much and blessings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 2, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights on out recent trip to Arenal. It was out first trip to Costa Rica, and our first destination. We liked being greeted with a tropical cocktail.The room was quiet and comfortable. The location of the resort and the layout of the resort were easy to navigate.The food was quite good and the food prices for happy hour and dinner were excellent.

Room Tip: Out room was a short walk from the pool, as well as the lobby area, but far enough away, that it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 29, 2016
Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to share your comments and thank you for staying at our hotel, we were glad to read that you held a wonderful vacation and enjoyed everything here in Costa Rica, we hope to see you back soon to serve you in the best way possible.
On behalf of all staff working at Hotel Arenal Springs thank you very much and blessings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Cons
Hard bed
Room doesn't cool

Pros
Excellent food
strong drinks
friendly, helpful staff
stunning view of volcano
exquisite flora on grounds
Natria Spa

We stayed at Arenal Springs Resort from 6/13/2014 to 6/20/2014. We flew into San Juan. it is a 2.5-3 hr drive from the airport to the resort. Adventurous travelers may want to rent a car and drive themselves. I am not that adventurous. We arrived at night. The road is well paved, however it is very curvy because of the mountains and there are numerous one line bridges with blind curves. Also, the route from the airport to the resort is not easily navigated without GPS. It requires passing through and making turns in several small times. Our driver also told us there are times when the fog makes max speed 5 mph.
The resort itself was perfect except for two things which I'll explain. The bed was harder than any I've slept on while travelling. It was so hard that I woke up with sore hips from sleeping on my side. I am 48 in good shape with no hip problems. The resort is very green, with signs reminding you to conserve water and electricity whenever possible. This is good. However, in their drive to be green, they have made it such that your room key activates the electricity in your room. you have to insert the key into a holder near the door. When you remove the key upon leaving, all the electricity in the room goes off. This is great except the air conditioner shuts off. So if you leave on a tour early (8AM) and return late in the afternoon, the room will be steamy. Your AC will never shut off, attempting to cool to the temperature you set on the thermostat. For us, the room never cooled enough to be comfortable at night. Your mileage my vary.
The staff was friendly and helpful, especially Edward at the tour desk, He directed us away from a tour he considered subpar to a tour of a chocolate plantation that turned out to be one of my favorite tours ever.

Room Tip: If the bed had been softer, I would have given this wonderful resort a perfect 5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 29, 2016
Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to share your comments and thank you for staying at our hotel, we were glad to read that you held a wonderful vacation and enjoyed everything here in Costa Rica, we hope to see you back soon to serve you in the best way possible.
On behalf of all staff working at Hotel Arenal Springs thank you very much and blessings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

We spent 4 nights here in June. The grounds are gorgeous. Don't miss the tropical garden behind the pools. This is one of the most amazing hotels I have ever stayed in. The pools are unbelievable. My children never wanted to leave. They have 3 restaurants for dinner. They are a little pricey, but if you don't have a car, it will cost you $20 round-trip to go to La Fortuna via taxi. Every room/bungalow has a spectacular view of the volcano. They staff was genuinely friendly and helpful.
My only complaint the shower. It has a cool tropical open feel, but that allows some critters to come in.
Visiting Costa Rica, you do get over the bug thing pretty quick.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmcharlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 29, 2016
Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to share your comments and thank you for staying at our hotel, we were glad to read that you held a wonderful vacation and enjoyed everything here in Costa Rica, we hope to see you back soon to serve you in the best way possible.
On behalf of all staff working at Hotel Arenal Springs thank you very much and blessings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Stayed here for 4 days in June and loved it! The location is perfect, our room/cottage faced the volcano mountain, the resort is clean, green and beautiful with lots of fruit trees and birds. The hot springs were just amazing, not too crowded and open till 10pm. The breakfast buffet was delicious with fresh tropical fruit, waffles, rice, plantains...I wish they would keep fresh fruit in the rooms too. The front desk was very helpful and helped us make calls to arrange tours. Overall, a perfect place to stay while in Arenal, would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Stay in Junior suite with gardens in the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stronger123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 29, 2016
Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to share your comments and thank you for staying at our hotel, we were glad to read that you held a wonderful vacation and enjoyed everything here in Costa Rica, we hope to see you back soon to serve you in the best way possible.
On behalf of all staff working at Hotel Arenal Springs thank you very much and blessings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
0.5 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,822 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#5 of 62 in Arenal Volcano National Park
2,350 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,233 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#5 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,820 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Springs Resort and Spa

Property: Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Address: 5 Miles West of Catholic Church of la Fortuna, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#7 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#12 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Springs Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Arenal Springs is located just 5 miles away from la Fortuna town toward the Arenal Volcano or National Park. We are located between La Fortuna town and the Arenal Lake.The Hotel count with 87 Junior Suites and 3 Master Suites King and 3 Master Suites Queen with direct view to the Arenal Volcano. Each room are surrounding with exotic gardens, beautiful flowers and many species of birds. These rooms offer either a king size bed or two double beds. Also we provide rooms with handicap access and adjoining rooms for families who want stay together.Our hotel offers you 2 swimming pools and a Thermal river.Hotel Arenal Springs Resort offers on each Junior Suite the best amenities for your comfort. King Bed or Two queen beds, Hair dryer, Cable TV, Mini bar, Free Wi-Fi Internet access, Air Conditioning, Ceiling fan, Laundry Bag, Telephone, Safe deposit box, Coffee Maker free coffee and tea), Bath amenities, Private bath with tropical garden, hot water, Private terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Arenal Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Springs Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Hotel Arenal Springs
Arenal Springs Resort And Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing