We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with lovely views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed June 17, 2014

What a modern environment amongst the mountains and the volcano. Wherever you are, you can see the volcano. It is an establishment that could be located in Florida or any other place where you see golf carts that take people to their rooms. The setting with the flowers and the pool area is beautiful and the hot springs are an added delight. The town of Fortuna is lovely and worth strolling about when you are there. Lovely place to relax and enjoy the view in a peaceful setting.

Room Tip: We stayed closer to the reception area (area 200) as we loved to walk to breakfast every day vs. tak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,511)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,007 - 1,013 of 2,511 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2014

Wonderfully relaxing venue. Rooms are layed out where you can see the volcano from large windows of your room as well as sit in chairs on a private patio in front of your room with a full view.
The progressively warm to hot springs are terrific and the basic one has a swim up bar that we spent hours at.
The various restaurants provided good and varied menu choices. Excellent sushi, good Italian options, an international menu and a good breakfast buffet.
The place is private, relatively quiet and relaxing. I would certainly look forward to spending more time here.

Room Tip: Since weather can be dicey in some seasons, you should be flexible with how you spend your time day...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allen727286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 29, 2016

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to share your comments and thank you for staying at our hotel, we were glad to read that you held a wonderful vacation and enjoyed everything here in Costa Rica, we hope to see you back soon to serve you in the best way possible.
On behalf of all staff working at Hotel Arenal Springs thank you very much and blessings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

I was very pleasantly surprised at this property. I had looked at and priced several other properties in the area before settling on this one. I was impressed at the communication I had with the manager prior to my stay, and the prices were on par with every other resort. We chose two adjoining rooms for our family of 6. We loved walking out and seeing the view of the amazing volcano. The breakfast each morning was fabulous...made to order omlettes, fresh fruit, yogurt, cereal, waffles, rice and beans and tortillas. We had our breakfast fill and found that it sustained us until late afternoon in which we had an early dinner. We enjoyed all the various pools and swim up bar. Another reviewer mentioned expensive prices and the fact that the resort shut down at 10. I don't know if he traveled elsewhere in CR, but prices are higher everywhere, and most cities and restaurants shut down long before 10. It's cultural. His complaints weren't unique to this property, but it was the same all over CR. The staff here was very accommodating to our needs. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: As for a view of the volcano.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LauraDraper_UT_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 29, 2016

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to share your comments and thank you for staying at our hotel, we were glad to read that you held a wonderful vacation and enjoyed everything here in Costa Rica, we hope to see you back soon to serve you in the best way possible.
On behalf of all staff working at Hotel Arenal Springs thank you very much and blessings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Very nice hotel and staff was very attentive. Greeted with a cocktail after a long 3 hr drive from the airport. Great swim up bar pool and relaxing hot springs. We had pizza at the hotel and it was very good! Breakfast Buffet was delicious with many items to chose from. The fresh fruit was amazing. I would defintely recommend this hotel if you are traveling to Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rose T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 29, 2016

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to share your comments and thank you for staying at our hotel, we were glad to read that you held a wonderful vacation and enjoyed everything here in Costa Rica, we hope to see you back soon to serve you in the best way possible.
On behalf of all staff working at Hotel Arenal Springs thank you very much and blessings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

This resort is quite well landscaped with beautiful plantings and views of Volcan Arenal. The price was quite reasonable and the location is convenient to the lake and town.

One issue was that the walls are thin and the bungalow next to ours was up late talking and it kept me up. The other issues involved communications breakdowns with the staff. After a warm welcome at check in I mentioned that I was leaving at 5:30 am to go fishing on the lake and the person at the desk offered to have a boxed breakfast snack ready for me in the morning. I did not ask for this. The next morning I asked for my snack and there was not one ready for me. When I asked about the Styrofoam box on the counter, the morning desk clerk said it was his breakfast, not mine. Later that same day my wife was in the spa and I left a message for her that I was back at the hotel and to not take a cab to the lake. An hour later I called the spa only to find that she had left and the attendant I asked to give my message said she had forgot to give my wife the message. Luckily I caught her at the front desk calling the cab......

It is the little things that make a difference. Overall I would stay here again. Like I said, it is a good value. The free breakfast is very good, although I would stay away from the restaurant. Our pizza was bland and overpriced. There are many great pizza spots in town.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 29, 2016

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to share your comments and thank you for staying at our hotel, we were glad to read that you held a wonderful vacation and enjoyed everything here in Costa Rica, we hope to see you back soon to serve you in the best way possible.
On behalf of all staff working at Hotel Arenal Springs thank you very much and blessings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Rooms are duplexes spread out in 8 rows around the property, all having views of the volcano. Rooms are spacious and clean as are the bathrooms. They will bring you to your room and pick you up at your room in golf carts if desired. Pools are nice, hot to warm. Pool bar is nice with food and drinks available. I only had the included breakfast buffet at the hotel which was good. Didn't eat there for any other meals. Service was good at the front desk, at breakfast, and at the pool. Had a batch of laundry cleaned while there--had to pick it up from the front desk, it would have been nice if it was delivered to the room instead. This is a fairly large property, and wasn't very busy while I was there, but during the high season it probably gets crowded.

Room Tip: The lower numbered rooms are closer to the pool and reception/restaurant areas. Stayed in 304 which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank setpoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2015

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to share your comments and thank you for staying at our hotel, we were glad to read that you held a wonderful vacation and enjoyed everything here in Costa Rica, we hope to see you back soon to serve you in the best way possible.
On behalf of all staff working at Hotel Arenal Springs thank you very much and blessings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Lovely resort with beautiful gardens and greenery. Paradise in Costa Rica maybe a way to describe it. Beautiful pools with waterfall settings. Good service in the restaurants. Heard howler monkeys at night and in the mornings. Arenal national park, volcano and lake close distance. Very scenic area, friendly people and great activities. Hikes, wildlife, sky treks and tram. We did not want to leave this area. Staff were friendly and accomodating.

Room Tip: Choose a room a little distance away from office for a quite stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bdaytrip57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2015

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to share your comments and thank you for staying at our hotel, we were glad to read that you held a wonderful vacation and enjoyed everything here in Costa Rica, we hope to see you back soon to serve you in the best way possible.
On behalf of all staff working at Hotel Arenal Springs thank you very much and blessings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
1.2 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,334 reviews
0.5 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,004 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 64 in Arenal Volcano National Park
2,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,872 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,574 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Springs Resort and Spa

Address: 5 Miles West of Catholic Church of la Fortuna, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#7 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#12 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: $127 - $759 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Springs Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Arenal Springs is located just 5 miles away from la Fortuna town toward the Arenal Volcano or National Park. We are located between La Fortuna town and the Arenal Lake.The Hotel count with 87 Junior Suites and 3 Master Suites King and 3 Master Suites Queen with direct view to the Arenal Volcano. Each room are surrounding with exotic gardens, beautiful flowers and many species of birds. These rooms offer either a king size bed or two double beds. Also we provide rooms with handicap access and adjoining rooms for families who want stay together.Our hotel offers you 2 swimming pools and a Thermal river.Hotel Arenal Springs Resort offers on each Junior Suite the best amenities for your comfort. King Bed or Two queen beds, Hair dryer, Cable TV, Mini bar, Free Wi-Fi Internet access, Air Conditioning, Ceiling fan, Laundry Bag, Telephone, Safe deposit box, Coffee Maker free coffee and tea), Bath amenities, Private bath with tropical garden, hot water, Private terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Arenal Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Springs Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Hotel Arenal Springs
Arenal Springs Resort And Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing