We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay anywhere else but here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Boston
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Do not stay anywhere else but here”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We arrived and got fabulous drinks and wet towels. A must after a long drive. We were taken to our room 101 and 102. Great location for families that want to be close to it all. Amazing hot springs and sushi bar. So good! Enjoy it all day and night. Love the fresh towels and hot tub. Concierge was helpful to assist in planning daily activities. Mud massage amazing! Beds were comfortable and the towel animals made daily were a great hit with the kids. In our opinion the only place to stay. Breakfast buffet offered some thing for all. Very safe and wonderful.

Room Tip: We loved room 101 and 102! Great open area to play frisbee Safe
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcplante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Hello mcplante, wow thank you very much for your comments so expressive and thanks for choosing us, we are very happy to see that your family had a nice experience here with us.
On behalf of all the workers of the Hotel Arenal Springs we hope to see you back very soon and be able to serve you in the best way.
thanks and PURA VIDA...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,512
    745
    140
    24
    11
See reviews for
795
1,099
40
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (564)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

After spending 12 hours traveling, it was so nice to be greeted by the friendly staff and glasses of tropical fruit juice. The hotel grounds are beautiful, and every room faces the volcano. The rooms were well-appointed and extremely clean. The water in the regular pool was on the cool side, but the thermal pools were wonderful. The breakfast buffet, included with the room charge, was great: fresh fruits and juices, gallo pinto, made to order eggs and waffles, cereals and granola, yogurt, meats, cheeses, potatoes, and excellent coffee. We also had an excellent lunch in the main dining room. We also tried their sushi bar and Italian restaurant, both of which were fair--I would stick to the main dining room or take a taxi into La Fortuna ($20 each way) for dinner. It is very eco-conscious, even having a biodigestor. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Di2101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Hello Di2101, thank you very much for your beautiful comments and we are very happy that you have enjoyed the breakfast, and the other areas of the restaurant as well as also we noticed your interest by our hotel eco-friendly projects.
We hope that you return very soon to be able to serve you the best way possible, many thanks and blessings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We enjoyed our stay Arenal Springs Resort. The grounds are beautiful, rooms are comfortable, hot springs refreshing and the restaurants had great food. The staff was very friendly and helped us book all our tours. We had a room located near the spa, which was a great location and making it easy to get to the pool, restaurants and front desk area. Booked a massage at the spa and it was truly a relaxing experience. Loved that it was an open air room, even had some cows come by during the massage.

Room Tip: Stayed in rooms behind spa and next to cow pasture. Liked the location, but if you don't like c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tracie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Hello Tracie T, thank you very much for your beautiful comments and thank you for choosing us as your hotel, thank you for mentioning that you enjoyed the massage and hot springs, we hope that you can soon be back here to serve you in the best possible way.
Thank you and many blessings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lockport,il usa
Level 5 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights in No as part of a tour.
This hotel was beautiful.
The rooms are tastefully done, comfy bed, nice showers, outside sitting area facing the volcano.
Some rooms can be far from the lobby/pool area, but they do offer rides on a golf cart. Our rooms were close.
Along with the view, the pools are spectacular, ( with both a swim up bar and sushi bar). The landscaping is gorgeous. I could spend days there. They have private cabanas one can use. I laughed when I read the pool rules as one of the rules is " NO love scenes at the pool".
We did see the volcano once- mostly covered with clouds, but what can you do- that's nature.
We had buffet style meals, all were good
We took a taxi into town, the town was nice,- small somewhat touristy but also like a regular, functioning town,
They offer a nice refreshing drink upon arrival, free wifi in the lobby. All the staff were nice, especially the girl working in the gift shop who lent me her phone charger. Mine broke, and they didn't have one in the gift shop- but was able to get one in town.
Would definitely recommend this hotel to others. This would be a nice place to stay for a honeymoon.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank econnelly8897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Hello econnelly8897, thank you for taking your valuable time to remember every detail of our hotel, thank you for reminding us so fondly and think to recommend us to your friends and family, one day we hope to have you back to serve you with great affection and appreciation.
dear friend thanks and blessings
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

This hotel has a great view and the hot springs with the wet bar were fantastic. However, it is a bit far from town and it cost 12 dollars to go there,and as the food at the hotel was average and pricey we had no choice but to go out to eat. We enjoyed the room, with a few drinks in the bar for free, nice touch. Overall, la fortuna/arenal is great, lots of activities to do, but we found that it was the most pricey place. Also, they do trips/excursions at the hotel, but check in town as they are cheaper.

Room Tip: Try to get a room by the reception otherwise you will be quite far, and will need to get a lift in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank juliejulie19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Hi juliejulie19, thanks for commenting on our hotel and thank you for choosing us and our gardens and springs, we will take into account your restaurant recommendations to give much better service to our future guests and you also on the day you return.
Thank you and blessings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
499 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 362 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

As soon as we checked into this Resort, we were amazed at our first sighting of the Public areas that were beautifully landscaped, with well-manicured lawns, pathways and gardens. Everything was spotless and appealing.The staff was wonderful throughout our stay -- very spirited, and Each and Every one of them always smiling and seemingly happy.They immediately made us feel very welcome.
The rooms were clean and comfortable, and had colorful, flowering plants all around for beauty and added privacy.Every day when we returned at dusk to our rooms, we were greeted with really cute "Towel Animals" decorated with fresh flowers. Awesome!
This resort is in a GREAT location, with EVERY room blessed with an incredible view of the Arenal Volcano -- specially in the mornings when the clouds clear just as the sun is coming up.
All meals were Buffet-style with a reasonably good choice of foods.When we were there, we celebrated our Wedding Anniversary. Our Tour Guide (on the advice of my Sister-in-law) had called them in advance and arranged for them to bake us a special cake for this occasion. We were impressed with the fanfare -- candles, dimmed lights, our tour group and the waiters singing for us, and an overall light-hearted spirit everywhere. The little details made a HUGE difference.
Edward the Concierge/ Tour Designator gave us the BEST Customer Service we have ever experienced with his huge smile and friendly personality. He gave us a run-down of all the tours that were offered by this Resort, and we booked the Canopy Zip-lining Tour and the Fortuna Waterfall Hiking Tour.
This Resort is FANTASTIC. What we all particularly enjoyed were the three Hot Springs areas -- One really HOT with the waterfall pounding on, and massaging, your shoulders. One with warm waters, and a third with the cooler waters and the swim-up bar.We stayed in these areas till everything closed down for the night -- Yes, it was THAT good!
To sum up, we really enjoyed our stay here. The energy overall was good, and the ambiance was Superb! Everyone and everything at this Resort is Pura Vida Happy!!
We would definitely come here again, and will certainly recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheExplorerFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Hello Suneeti H, thank you very much for your precious comments and for recommending us to your friends and family, thank you for mentioning every detail of our hotel in very beautiful way and remind us with much appreciation.
We hope that everything in your home in Somerset New Jersey, this perfect and also hope to see you back very soon.
Thank you and blessings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Our tour group arrived at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, and checked in. What a room with a view!! Each room faced the volcano. In the morning the clouds cleared away and gave us a fantastic view of the active summit.

We were greatly impressed with the grounds and the whole setup of Arenal Springs. The grounds were spotless and the staff were very friendly. On the grounds of Arenal Springs are many hot springs pools. Each one warmer than the next and one with a swim-up bar. There was also one cooler pool, if needed.

All meals were available for our group via buffet style. Variety was very good, and the food was presented well and tasted delicious. The staff was very helpful. We had problems programming our AC unit in our room, and called the front desk. Within minutes, two maintenance men came and explained what not to do, and reprogrammed the handset for us, and instantly was fixed.

If mobility is an issue...don't worry. They have golf carts available where staff will drive you back and forth to your room.

Arenal and La Fortuna are well centrally located and have a lot to offer. Many activities are available within the area, including zip lining, rappelling, ATVs, etc. The tour desk operator, Edward at Arenal Springs managed to book a zip line side trip for us with short notice. He was very helpful.

We would highly recommend staying at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa. The hot springs right on the grounds are convenient. You can take a dip even into the evening. The staff were friendly and helpful, the food was good, and don't forget that view!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ONE-CAN-TRAVEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Hello ONE-CAN-TRAVEL, thank you very much for your precious comments and for recommending us to your friends and family, thank you for mentioning every detail of our hotel in very beautiful way and remind us with much appreciation.
We hope that everything in your home in Canada this perfect and also hope to see you back very soon.
Thank you and blessings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
0.5 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,885 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 63 in Arenal Volcano National Park
2,404 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,839 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,276 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#4 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Springs Resort and Spa

Property: Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Address: 5 Miles West of Catholic Church of la Fortuna, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#7 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#12 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Springs Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Arenal Springs is located just 5 miles away from la Fortuna town toward the Arenal Volcano or National Park. We are located between La Fortuna town and the Arenal Lake.The Hotel count with 87 Junior Suites and 3 Master Suites King and 3 Master Suites Queen with direct view to the Arenal Volcano. Each room are surrounding with exotic gardens, beautiful flowers and many species of birds. These rooms offer either a king size bed or two double beds. Also we provide rooms with handicap access and adjoining rooms for families who want stay together.Our hotel offers you 2 swimming pools and a Thermal river.Hotel Arenal Springs Resort offers on each Junior Suite the best amenities for your comfort. King Bed or Two queen beds, Hair dryer, Cable TV, Mini bar, Free Wi-Fi Internet access, Air Conditioning, Ceiling fan, Laundry Bag, Telephone, Safe deposit box, Coffee Maker free coffee and tea), Bath amenities, Private bath with tropical garden, hot water, Private terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Arenal Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Springs Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Hotel Arenal Springs
Arenal Springs Resort And Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing