We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights in No as part of a tour.
This hotel was beautiful.
The rooms are tastefully done, comfy bed, nice showers, outside sitting area facing the volcano.
Some rooms can be far from the lobby/pool area, but they do offer rides on a golf cart. Our rooms were close.
Along with the view, the pools are spectacular, ( with both a swim up bar and sushi bar). The landscaping is gorgeous. I could spend days there. They have private cabanas one can use. I laughed when I read the pool rules as one of the rules is " NO love scenes at the pool".
We did see the volcano once- mostly covered with clouds, but what can you do- that's nature.
We had buffet style meals, all were good
We took a taxi into town, the town was nice,- small somewhat touristy but also like a regular, functioning town,
They offer a nice refreshing drink upon arrival, free wifi in the lobby. All the staff were nice, especially the girl working in the gift shop who lent me her phone charger. Mine broke, and they didn't have one in the gift shop- but was able to get one in town.
Would definitely recommend this hotel to others. This would be a nice place to stay for a honeymoon.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank econnelly8897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Hello econnelly8897, thank you for taking your valuable time to remember every detail of our hotel, thank you for reminding us so fondly and think to recommend us to your friends and family, one day we hope to have you back to serve you with great affection and appreciation.
dear friend thanks and blessings

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,486)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,111 - 1,117 of 2,486 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2014

This hotel has a great view and the hot springs with the wet bar were fantastic. However, it is a bit far from town and it cost 12 dollars to go there,and as the food at the hotel was average and pricey we had no choice but to go out to eat. We enjoyed the room, with a few drinks in the bar for free, nice touch. Overall, la fortuna/arenal is great, lots of activities to do, but we found that it was the most pricey place. Also, they do trips/excursions at the hotel, but check in town as they are cheaper.

Room Tip: Try to get a room by the reception otherwise you will be quite far, and will need to get a lift in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank juliejulie19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Hi juliejulie19, thanks for commenting on our hotel and thank you for choosing us and our gardens and springs, we will take into account your restaurant recommendations to give much better service to our future guests and you also on the day you return.
Thank you and blessings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

As soon as we checked into this Resort, we were amazed at our first sighting of the Public areas that were beautifully landscaped, with well-manicured lawns, pathways and gardens. Everything was spotless and appealing.The staff was wonderful throughout our stay -- very spirited, and Each and Every one of them always smiling and seemingly happy.They immediately made us feel very welcome.
The rooms were clean and comfortable, and had colorful, flowering plants all around for beauty and added privacy.Every day when we returned at dusk to our rooms, we were greeted with really cute "Towel Animals" decorated with fresh flowers. Awesome!
This resort is in a GREAT location, with EVERY room blessed with an incredible view of the Arenal Volcano -- specially in the mornings when the clouds clear just as the sun is coming up.
All meals were Buffet-style with a reasonably good choice of foods.When we were there, we celebrated our Wedding Anniversary. Our Tour Guide (on the advice of my Sister-in-law) had called them in advance and arranged for them to bake us a special cake for this occasion. We were impressed with the fanfare -- candles, dimmed lights, our tour group and the waiters singing for us, and an overall light-hearted spirit everywhere. The little details made a HUGE difference.
Edward the Concierge/ Tour Designator gave us the BEST Customer Service we have ever experienced with his huge smile and friendly personality. He gave us a run-down of all the tours that were offered by this Resort, and we booked the Canopy Zip-lining Tour and the Fortuna Waterfall Hiking Tour.
This Resort is FANTASTIC. What we all particularly enjoyed were the three Hot Springs areas -- One really HOT with the waterfall pounding on, and massaging, your shoulders. One with warm waters, and a third with the cooler waters and the swim-up bar.We stayed in these areas till everything closed down for the night -- Yes, it was THAT good!
To sum up, we really enjoyed our stay here. The energy overall was good, and the ambiance was Superb! Everyone and everything at this Resort is Pura Vida Happy!!
We would definitely come here again, and will certainly recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheExplorerFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Hello Suneeti H, thank you very much for your precious comments and for recommending us to your friends and family, thank you for mentioning every detail of our hotel in very beautiful way and remind us with much appreciation.
We hope that everything in your home in Somerset New Jersey, this perfect and also hope to see you back very soon.
Thank you and blessings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Our tour group arrived at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, and checked in. What a room with a view!! Each room faced the volcano. In the morning the clouds cleared away and gave us a fantastic view of the active summit.

We were greatly impressed with the grounds and the whole setup of Arenal Springs. The grounds were spotless and the staff were very friendly. On the grounds of Arenal Springs are many hot springs pools. Each one warmer than the next and one with a swim-up bar. There was also one cooler pool, if needed.

All meals were available for our group via buffet style. Variety was very good, and the food was presented well and tasted delicious. The staff was very helpful. We had problems programming our AC unit in our room, and called the front desk. Within minutes, two maintenance men came and explained what not to do, and reprogrammed the handset for us, and instantly was fixed.

If mobility is an issue...don't worry. They have golf carts available where staff will drive you back and forth to your room.

Arenal and La Fortuna are well centrally located and have a lot to offer. Many activities are available within the area, including zip lining, rappelling, ATVs, etc. The tour desk operator, Edward at Arenal Springs managed to book a zip line side trip for us with short notice. He was very helpful.

We would highly recommend staying at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa. The hot springs right on the grounds are convenient. You can take a dip even into the evening. The staff were friendly and helpful, the food was good, and don't forget that view!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ONE-CAN-TRAVEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Hello ONE-CAN-TRAVEL, thank you very much for your precious comments and for recommending us to your friends and family, thank you for mentioning every detail of our hotel in very beautiful way and remind us with much appreciation.
We hope that everything in your home in Canada this perfect and also hope to see you back very soon.
Thank you and blessings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

The resort was a last minute pick, but will definitely stay there again as the customer service is very good. Locked my passports in the locker and the staff personnel showed up in less than 5 mins o unlock.
Rooms are good with a view to the volcano, very comfortable and loved the bathroom.

The hot spring pool is very relaxing and not too overcrowded with a pool bar.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pemmireddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Hi pemmireddy we hope that everything is fine in New Jersey, thank you for your nice comments and here we will be waiting to you back soon to serve you in the best way.
Thank you and blessings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

It should be a crime to serve tilapia and green tomatoes in Costa Rica. The swim up pool and springs are OK, but don't eat here. Seriously. You'd do better with chicken skewers by the roadside for 1000 colones. I hope the chefs read this. Terrible food.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ilya F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

llya F Hello friend, first we can offer you a huge apology for all the problems you had, we want to communicate that this comment was already shown in a meeting who had management with all employees of the restaurant and also the chef.
We will be making very important changes in that area thanks to your comments.
We hope that one day give us another chance to show you the changes.
Thank you and blessings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We were there for two nights in Nov. Room was fine, property is beautiful. We were blessed with good periods of clear weather to view the volcano.However,we found the food and service to be poor, many problems with service. There was no ice available when we arrived, as the only ice machine was unplugged and front desk staff was very reluctant to offer a solution. We had to do a lot of walking around in the rain, as the rooms are quite far from the dining room and we had no luck in getting a ride. Additionally, air conditioning cannot be left on low when you are eating or swimming, and the room takes a long time to cool down. Green is great but hot is not. Would not return.

Room Tip: Book a room close to the main buildings/pool, as all rooms share the volcano view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carol k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Carol k Hello friend, first we offer you a big apology for all the problems you had, we want to communicate you that thanks to your comments we are implementing to improve all these services.
We are working hard to improve services of food and attention to the customer, maybe someday your us can give a second opportunity and see all the improvements, thank you for the nice comments about our hot springs and gardens.
Thank you and blessings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
1.2 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,322 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 64 in Arenal Volcano National Park
2,429 reviews
0.5 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,336 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,562 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Springs Resort and Spa

Address: 5 Miles West of Catholic Church of la Fortuna, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#7 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#12 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: $128 - $753 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Springs Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Arenal Springs is located just 5 miles away from la Fortuna town toward the Arenal Volcano or National Park. We are located between La Fortuna town and the Arenal Lake.The Hotel count with 87 Junior Suites and 3 Master Suites King and 3 Master Suites Queen with direct view to the Arenal Volcano. Each room are surrounding with exotic gardens, beautiful flowers and many species of birds. These rooms offer either a king size bed or two double beds. Also we provide rooms with handicap access and adjoining rooms for families who want stay together.Our hotel offers you 2 swimming pools and a Thermal river.Hotel Arenal Springs Resort offers on each Junior Suite the best amenities for your comfort. King Bed or Two queen beds, Hair dryer, Cable TV, Mini bar, Free Wi-Fi Internet access, Air Conditioning, Ceiling fan, Laundry Bag, Telephone, Safe deposit box, Coffee Maker free coffee and tea), Bath amenities, Private bath with tropical garden, hot water, Private terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Arenal Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Springs Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Hotel Arenal Springs
Arenal Springs Resort And Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing