We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent Gardens but not a place for peace and quite”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Bicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Magnificent Gardens but not a place for peace and quite”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We stayed three nights and had a good sized room with a decent view of the Volcano and a large bathroom and a TV. We later discovered a lot of hotels in Costa Rica don't have tea and coffee making facilities - fortunately this one did. The Hotel offers to take people to and from their rooms with a golf buggy but we found the walk quite pleasant. The Hotel has well manicured gardens and we saw a wide variety of birdlife including hummingbirds. The spa is fantastic - we enjoyed the first massage so much we booked a second. The massages were in rooms which were semi alfresco and we could hear sounds of birds which made for a very peaceful and relaxing experience. The pool area on the other hand was not particularly peaceful and some days after about 3pm it was packed with families and pensioners. I did enjoy the 80s music which was blaring out though. The restaurant was a little expensive but as we later found out most food in Costa Rica is very expensive which is a bit surprising considering the amount of American Tourism. I recommend ordering a coffee after dinner as the serve it using a contraption that looks like a sock - apparently it's the old fashioned way. Concierge let itself down on the last day - we checked out and asked for a bags to be picked up at 7.30 am and a hour later no one had been to fetch them!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Hello dear guest cm9720, thank you for taking your valuable time to write about your experience here with us, we are happy that you enjoyed the spa areas and gardens, regarding what your mention over the area of the thermal I must explain to you that we are a Hotel where we always have many people visiting us from all over the world.
We always have families with children who love to play and have fun in that area of hot springs, and for being the only hotel in the area where the hot springs are completely exclusive to our guests is in that place where our guests have fun more, thanks for your comments will have them in mind and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,447
    725
    136
    24
    11
See reviews for
741
1,081
38
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (541)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
119 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

I just recently stayed at Arenal Springs Resort & Spa with my mom and two friends. From beginning to end the stay was perfect. They shuttled us wherever we needed to go and were helpful about all the tours in the area. The bottomless breakfast daily was the my favorite part. They have everything you can imagine from gallo pinto, to chocolate waffles to "made to order" omelettes. I would stay here for the breakfast alone!

Meanwhile, our room had a breathtaking view of Volcan Arenal. Although the clouds move in and out around the volcano, when it's clear, it's absolutely perfect. There were also three or four different pools. They had heated springs as well as a regular pool, including a Wet Bar, which was quite convenient.

Overall, great experience. I would recommend this place to anyone staying in the area!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Hello dear friend Rachel W. thank you very much for taking your valuable time to write these cute comments about our Hotel, really this inspires us to continue to work and improve every day so our goal end that 100% of our guests always return to their homes completely satisfied.
Thank you for choosing us and hope that you return very soon here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Hotel is great, we stayed for 2 nights.We had a room with view on the Volcano.
I thought it was a little bit too "american" and not as authentic as the other places we went in Costa Rica...a wet bar in the hot springs selling sushi. The drink in the wet bar where pretty expensive ($8 a mojito) compare to other places in Costa Rica.
Breakfast is very good, a lot of choice including an omelet station.However, the dinner was not good at all. Very pricey (most dishes above $20 and above $35 for steaks). I had fish that was tasteless. The drink (passion fruit juice) was ok but the worst one i had in Costa Rica.
You would be better off to drive to La Fortuna to get dinner (we did it the second night) or even get a cab to eat in town.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nic0lasr67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Hello Nic0lars6, thank you very much for your comments which are very important for us, we will have them in mind to solve those details so that when your back you can see the changes with your own eyes, thank you for choosing us and hope to see you back soon, on the part of the staff of the Hotel Arenal Springs have a Merry Christmas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

We arrived late in the day and were greeted with carambola juice in flutes. We were shown to our room. The initial room had two beds but we traded with our friends for a room with a king bed.
I loved the showers, with lush plants watered by the rain off the roof. The room was clean but there were a few hiccups which were resolved in a timely manner.
The buffet breakfast was delicious and fresh. I loved the variety if tropical fresh fruit. We didn't take advantage of the onsite restaurant as we were always on the go. It was wonderful to return after nature hikes and immerse ourselves in the hot springs. Even when it was raining all we had to do was take a brusque walk and quickly dip into the warm water.
Once you are truly relaxed, you will be able to notice the beautiful hummingbirds flitting about.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ilbdaycakesli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Hello ilbdaycak, thank you very much for the beautiful comments about our Hotel, is nice to see that you were very good here and enjoyed your holidays, nice that you enjoyed our hot springs and you liked the juice of caranbola, thank you very much for choosing us as your holiday Hotel and we hope to see you back soon, thank you and Merry Christmas.
PURA VIDA...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights as part of our tour of Costa Rica. We were not expecting to stay in such a high quality first class hotel. Huge room with a stunning view of the volcano. A very unique bathroom too. Very private patio area with our own personal frog! Beautiful pools and hot springs. Food good too but not cheap. The included breakfast was great. Staff were very friendly and helpful. We did the hanging bridges morning tour which was good, but didn't see a huge amount of wildlife, but still very enjoyable. Wished we had stayed another day to explore the lake. If we return would like to do more specific bird watching. Would stay here rather than Monteverde any day.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SussexAnnieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Hello SussexAnn, guaaau thank you very much for the beautiful comments about our Hotel, it's nice to see that you were very good here and they enjoyed holidays, thank you very much for choosing us as your holiday Hotel and hope to see you back soon, thank you and Merry Christmas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

My friends and I stayed here for 3 nights during out first leg of our trip to Costa Rica. I was truly impressed with the accomodations but it was the staff that stuck out the most. Everyone from reception to bell hops to concierge made us feel like we had been given the red carpet treatment. I loved that the rooms face the volcano and we were lucky enough to come during a time where we could get a clear view. My friends and I also loved swimming in the natural hot spring the hotel offers while eating at the swim up sushi bar. The breakfast was probably my favorite hotel breakfast out of the three different hotels we stayed at, as they offered a wide selection. I would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Hi Samantha, is good news to know that you and your friends here had a nice experience and we very much appreciate your nice comments, thanks for appreciate details about breakfast and the views of the volcano, we hope to see you back soon, thanks and blessings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
69 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013 via mobile

This is a beautiful hotel / resort with well kept grounds with flowers that attract many types of birds.

On arrival were made to feel very welcome by friendly staff. We were given a lift to our room in a golf cart. This service is available all the time, although we only used it the once when we had our bags.

The room was very clean and comfortable with two soft beds, air con, chairs on patio overlooking the volcano etc. The 'outside' covered shower is a nice idea. Only complaint was a few ants in the bathroom but not a great concern.

Hot pools are billed as 'natural' - the water may well be naturally heated but the pools are clearly artificial and treated (could faintly smell chlorine) - they've done a good job though and we enjoyed spending time there each day (almost by ourselves other than a couple of lazy iguana!)

Restaurants / bars were all excellent. Had good steak in main restaurant, nice pizzas in the smaller Italian (preceded by some amuse bouche from the chef - a nice touch) and enjoyable sushi and snacks at the pool bar (although we did notice the fish was defrosted each morning!)

On site travel agent was also very helpful in a non pushy way. We booked horse riding through him (was same price as booking direct) but also had some excursions included in our trip and he was happy to help with all (one of our pick ups didn't show but he tracked it down).

Note that this hotel is a reasonable distance outside of Arenal itself, with a taxi being about $12 each way. Does mean it is a bit of effort to go elsewhere for food / drinks without your own vehicle which may bother some people (although cost / quality was good so not us!)

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Moods_Notts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Hello Moods_Notts, thank you for the beautiful comments which are very important to us, thank you for choosing us as the hotel for your vacation, is good to see that you had a nice experience here and hope to see you back soon.
We hope to return to their home been beyond pleasant and that all your family are well of health, on our part we hope you have a Merry Christmas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
0.5 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,789 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 65 in Arenal Volcano National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,328 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,788 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#4 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,813 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Springs Resort and Spa

Property: Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Address: 5 Miles West of Catholic Church of la Fortuna, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#7 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#12 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Springs Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Arenal Springs is located just 5 miles away from la Fortuna town toward the Arenal Volcano or National Park. We are located between La Fortuna town and the Arenal Lake.The Hotel count with 87 Junior Suites and 3 Master Suites King and 3 Master Suites Queen with direct view to the Arenal Volcano. Each room are surrounding with exotic gardens, beautiful flowers and many species of birds. These rooms offer either a king size bed or two double beds. Also we provide rooms with handicap access and adjoining rooms for families who want stay together.Our hotel offers you 2 swimming pools and a Thermal river.Hotel Arenal Springs Resort offers on each Junior Suite the best amenities for your comfort. King Bed or Two queen beds, Hair dryer, Cable TV, Mini bar, Free Wi-Fi Internet access, Air Conditioning, Ceiling fan, Laundry Bag, Telephone, Safe deposit box, Coffee Maker free coffee and tea), Bath amenities, Private bath with tropical garden, hot water, Private terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Arenal Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Springs Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Hotel Arenal Springs
Arenal Springs Resort And Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing