We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Nearby Hotels
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$215
$201
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$449
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Lomas del Volcan(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$120
$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Arenal Lodge(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$114
$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$146
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel El Silencio del Campo(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$156
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$244
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arenal Manoa Hotel(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$253
$160
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Volcano Lodge & Springs(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$184
$138
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$299
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,756)
Filter reviews
2,756 results
Traveler rating
1,727
830
158
29
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,727
830
158
29
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswim up barsushi barhot springscosta ricawet bargolf carttour deskcaravan tourthermal poolsmain restaurantroom keygreat view of the volcanobreakfast buffetbeautiful groundsrocking chairszip liningwelcome drink
Filter
Updating list...
1,354 - 1,359 of 2,756 reviews
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Hotel is great, we stayed for 2 nights.We had a room with view on the Volcano.
I thought it was a little bit too "american" and not as authentic as the other places we went in Costa Rica...a wet bar in the hot springs selling sushi. The drink in the wet bar where pretty expensive ($8 a mojito) compare to other places in Costa Rica.
Breakfast is very good, a lot of choice including an omelet station.However, the dinner was not good at all. Very pricey (most dishes above $20 and above $35 for steaks). I had fish that was tasteless. The drink (passion fruit juice) was ok but the worst one i had in Costa Rica.
You would be better off to drive to La Fortuna to get dinner (we did it the second night) or even get a cab to eat in town.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nic0lasr67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Hello Nic0lars6, thank you very much for your comments which are very important for us, we will have them in mind to solve those details so that when your back you can see the changes with your own eyes, thank you for choosing us and hope to see you back soon, on the part of the staff of the Hotel Arenal Springs have a Merry Christmas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

We arrived late in the day and were greeted with carambola juice in flutes. We were shown to our room. The initial room had two beds but we traded with our friends for a room with a king bed.
I loved the showers, with lush plants watered by the rain off the roof. The room was clean but there were a few hiccups which were resolved in a timely manner.
The buffet breakfast was delicious and fresh. I loved the variety if tropical fresh fruit. We didn't take advantage of the onsite restaurant as we were always on the go. It was wonderful to return after nature hikes and immerse ourselves in the hot springs. Even when it was raining all we had to do was take a brusque walk and quickly dip into the warm water.
Once you are truly relaxed, you will be able to notice the beautiful hummingbirds flitting about.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ilbdaycakesli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Hello ilbdaycak, thank you very much for the beautiful comments about our Hotel, is nice to see that you were very good here and enjoyed your holidays, nice that you enjoyed our hot springs and you liked the juice of caranbola, thank you very much for choosing us as your holiday Hotel and we hope to see you back soon, thank you and Merry Christmas.
PURA VIDA...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights as part of our tour of Costa Rica. We were not expecting to stay in such a high quality first class hotel. Huge room with a stunning view of the volcano. A very unique bathroom too. Very private patio area with our own personal frog! Beautiful pools and hot springs. Food good too but not cheap. The included breakfast was great. Staff were very friendly and helpful. We did the hanging bridges morning tour which was good, but didn't see a huge amount of wildlife, but still very enjoyable. Wished we had stayed another day to explore the lake. If we return would like to do more specific bird watching. Would stay here rather than Monteverde any day.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SussexAnnieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Hello SussexAnn, guaaau thank you very much for the beautiful comments about our Hotel, it's nice to see that you were very good here and they enjoyed holidays, thank you very much for choosing us as your holiday Hotel and hope to see you back soon, thank you and Merry Christmas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

My friends and I stayed here for 3 nights during out first leg of our trip to Costa Rica. I was truly impressed with the accomodations but it was the staff that stuck out the most. Everyone from reception to bell hops to concierge made us feel like we had been given the red carpet treatment. I loved that the rooms face the volcano and we were lucky enough to come during a time where we could get a clear view. My friends and I also loved swimming in the natural hot spring the hotel offers while eating at the swim up sushi bar. The breakfast was probably my favorite hotel breakfast out of the three different hotels we stayed at, as they offered a wide selection. I would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Hi Samantha, is good news to know that you and your friends here had a nice experience and we very much appreciate your nice comments, thanks for appreciate details about breakfast and the views of the volcano, we hope to see you back soon, thanks and blessings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013 via mobile

This is a beautiful hotel / resort with well kept grounds with flowers that attract many types of birds.

On arrival were made to feel very welcome by friendly staff. We were given a lift to our room in a golf cart. This service is available all the time, although we only used it the once when we had our bags.

The room was very clean and comfortable with two soft beds, air con, chairs on patio overlooking the volcano etc. The 'outside' covered shower is a nice idea. Only complaint was a few ants in the bathroom but not a great concern.

Hot pools are billed as 'natural' - the water may well be naturally heated but the pools are clearly artificial and treated (could faintly smell chlorine) - they've done a good job though and we enjoyed spending time there each day (almost by ourselves other than a couple of lazy iguana!)

Restaurants / bars were all excellent. Had good steak in main restaurant, nice pizzas in the smaller Italian (preceded by some amuse bouche from the chef - a nice touch) and enjoyable sushi and snacks at the pool bar (although we did notice the fish was defrosted each morning!)

On site travel agent was also very helpful in a non pushy way. We booked horse riding through him (was same price as booking direct) but also had some excursions included in our trip and he was happy to help with all (one of our pick ups didn't show but he tracked it down).

Note that this hotel is a reasonable distance outside of Arenal itself, with a taxi being about $12 each way. Does mean it is a bit of effort to go elsewhere for food / drinks without your own vehicle which may bother some people (although cost / quality was good so not us!)

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Moods_Notts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Hello Moods_Notts, thank you for the beautiful comments which are very important to us, thank you for choosing us as the hotel for your vacation, is good to see that you had a nice experience here and hope to see you back soon.
We hope to return to their home been beyond pleasant and that all your family are well of health, on our part we hope you have a Merry Christmas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews