We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful welcome to CR!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A wonderful welcome to CR!”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

I arrived late at night after a harrowing day of delays and found the property to be a quiet relaxing paradise. I was promptly helped at the front desk and transported to my room on a golf cart. Every villa has an amazing view of the volcano which is lovely to wake up to. There are so many beautiful flowers and plants, along with amazingly bright birds. They offer complimentary umbrellas for the frequent rain showers, so take advantage of those. The pool is great with a nice hot springs, and there is a bar you can swim up to for ordering drinks AND sushi. The room itself was very clean and comfortable, with all needed amenities. The wi-fi was rather slow and unreliable, but that was not a big deal as there was so much to do in the city. The restaurant offers an amazingly large complimentary buffet breakfast which we took advantage of several times. We also had dinner there and enjoyed the Sex on the Volcano drink and I had the best ceviche of my life, without question. This property is a short 8-10 minute taxi ride from La Fortuna, so you can easily access that for other things to do. I highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emily E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Hello dear friends, we note your comments and thank you with all our heart that you had to get the detail of your valuable time to remind us, all of your comments and suggestions are really important to us because it helps us to see and determine in what areas we need to work better and also in areas which are good, our dream and mission is to give all our guests the best possible experience here at our hotel, we know that there are millions of different opinions and that each person is different, so thanks to your comments we can help more people every day, we also appreciated that you chose us as your Hotel in Costa Rica and we hope in God to see you back soon.
from all workers in the Arenal Springs Hotel we thank you very much and God bless you always
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,487
    735
    138
    24
    11
See reviews for
768
1,095
39
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (557)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

I wish I could rate this as a 4.5 instead of a 4.0. For our honeymoon my partner and I traveled around Costa Rica. We spent two nights in Arenal, both at this resort. We had a great time! The resort itself was beautiful, with hot spring located on the resort grounds and a swim-up bar! The rooms were clean and very well kept. The entire staff was very friendly and helped us plan some great activities. The breakfast buffet was expansive and delicious. The only aspect of our stay that could have been a bit better was the food at dinner - it was good but not stellar, and a bit expensive. That said, we would totally stay here again and highly recommend it to others!

Room Tip: Rooms with lower numbers are closer to the pool, hot spring, spa, restaurant, and reception area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank michaelz993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Hello dear friends, we note your comments and thank you with all our heart that you had to get the detail of your valuable time to remind us, all of your comments and suggestions are really important to us because it helps us to see and determine in what areas we need to work better and also in areas which are good, our dream and mission is to give all our guests the best possible experience here at our hotel, we know that there are millions of different opinions and that each person is different, so thanks to your comments we can help more people every day, we also appreciated that you chose us as your Hotel in Costa Rica and we hope in God to see you back soon.
from all workers in the Arenal Springs Hotel we thank you very much and God bless you always
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Cambria
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed July 2nd thru 5th at the Arenal Springs Resort. The Room were very nice, clean and the view of the Volcano was spectacular. The Staff were all so pleasant and I we will certainly recommend this Hotel too anybody visiting the Arenal Area. Costa Rica is AMAZING to say the least, so much to do and see. We spent 3 nights in Arenal and 4 in Guanacaste and absolutely love it. If you are a 1st time traveler to the Rain Forrest keep in mind it is the rainy season in the Arenal Region. We adapted quickly by getting up early and returning to the Hotel by 2:00. Around that time each day we were there, it POURED and the Thunder is a little scary as it echo's through the Mountains. Up until that point each day it was clear skies and hot. We plan on traveling again to Costa Rica possibly even next year and we would travel during the rainy season again due to the temperatures, flowers, etc. I have seen some comments about the food pricing at the Hotel. Honestly, the food was very good and the pricing wasn't all that bad considering the service we received. The Breakfast that was included was very good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mvtjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Hello dear friends, we note your comments and thank you with all our heart that you had to get the detail of your valuable time to remind us, all of your comments and suggestions are really important to us because it helps us to see and determine in what areas we need to work better and also in areas which are good, our dream and mission is to give all our guests the best possible experience here at our hotel, we know that there are millions of different opinions and that each person is different, so thanks to your comments we can help more people every day, we also appreciated that you chose us as your Hotel in Costa Rica and we hope in God to see you back soon.
from all workers in the Arenal Springs Hotel we thank you very much and God bless you always
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We spent one night here and really enjoyed the thermal springs pools. My mother and brother thoroughly enjoyed their massages and took advantage of special pricing choices. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. I had requested close rooms since mom is 83. The distances to walk were not far and if we had wanted a golf cart to pick us up that was available. For all of the fresh vegetables, fruit and seafood available, the restaurant was somewhat of a disappointment and frankly overpriced for many items. Breakfast, included was very good and the omelet station was a nice touch. All of the staff was friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Be mindful that the rooms are spread over a pretty good-sized area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FloridaKittygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Hello dear friends, we note your comments and thank you with all our heart that you had to get the detail of your valuable time to remind us, all of your comments and suggestions are really important to us because it helps us to see and determine in what areas we need to work better and also in areas which are good, our dream and mission is to give all our guests the best possible experience here at our hotel, we know that there are millions of different opinions and that each person is different, so thanks to your comments we can help more people every day, we also appreciated that you chose us as your Hotel in Costa Rica and we hope in God to see you back soon.
from all workers in the Arenal Springs Hotel we thank you very much and God bless you always
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, CA
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

My family of four (kids ages 8 and 11) stayed here for two nights on July 1st and 2nd. It's our first time to Costa Rica and this was a great first destination, and I chose it because of the reviews on TripAdvisor, and the reasonable price. The property itself is absolutely gorgeous with all the flora. The staff was extremely helpful, courteous, friendly. Yes, the beds are hard, but honestly my husband and I slept great in them. The thermal pools are really fantastic, with the different options. We ate both nights at the pool sushi bar because we were too tired to make the trek into La Fortuna, and because the kids were having such a great time in the pools. They made lots of friends, as did we sitting there at the pool/sushi bar.

I was concerned about traveling in July with it being rainy season, and I feared it would be constant rain. The first night we arrived about 4:30 and it was raining and rained until about 8:00, but it was not a big deal in the least. The pool bar is covered, the pool is thermal heated, and it was a truly unique experience. FYI - you can order other stuff at the bar besides sushi. My kids loved swimming in the warm pools in the rain. The next morning I woke up to clear skies, and a breathtaking view of the volcano. The weather was so nice, in fact, that when we left for our hanging bridges/zipline tour at 8:15, my husband and I decided to not bother to pack our rain ponchos. BAD DECISION! About half way through our hanging bridges tour very heavy rains started and lasted unusually long, according to our guide. We were all SOAKED to the bone, as if we had gotten into the shower fully clothed, but later it cleared up, we somewhat dried and had a great time zip lining. Weather wise, don't be concerned about going in July.

The breakfast buffet which is included in the rate was spectacular, and they changed it up from one day to the next. Some traditional American fare, but also Costa Rican fare which I really enjoyed trying. Yes, there are some flies around, but that would the be the case anywhere there is an open air buffet. It's not bad at all.

This is a great place to stay for a few nights as a home base for other excursions. I would definitely come back.

Room Tip: Room 411 is a standard room but has no adjoining room. As mentioned in trip advisor sometimes if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Hello dear friends, we note your comments and thank you with all our heart that you had to get the detail of your valuable time to remind us, all of your comments and suggestions are really important to us because it helps us to see and determine in what areas we need to work better and also in areas which are good, our dream and mission is to give all our guests the best possible experience here at our hotel, we know that there are millions of different opinions and that each person is different, so thanks to your comments we can help more people every day, we also appreciated that you chose us as your Hotel in Costa Rica and we hope in God to see you back soon.
from all workers in the Arenal Springs Hotel we thank you very much and God bless you always
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

After going through so many hotels to stay at in the Arenal area, my boyfriend and I decided on Arenal Springs. The reviews were great but our experience was even better. We actually stayed in the farthest room (712) from the entrance. At first we took golf carts to/from it but then realized it was only a 5 minute walk -- and a beautiful one at that. If you have ever been to Israel, Arenal Springs kind of resembles a Kibbutz. It's so beautifully manicured with different flowers and trees on every corner. Also, every private bungalow has it's own green backyard. We arrived at night, settled into our room, and awoke to a gorgeous view of the volcano. If you wake up early, you'll get a perfect glimpse of it before the clouds cover it up for the afternoon later on. The food here was also fantastic - we asked the servers to cook us our food a special way, in tin foil, to satisfy our Kosher needs, and they were more than accommodating. Nothing we asked for was looked at as "weird" and the food was delicious - especially the fish dishes! All of the swimming pools were gorgeous, especially the hot one with the swim up sushi bar. The sushi was a little overpriced but you're paying for the experience. Overall, I highly recommend this hotel to anyone -- families, couples, elderly, etc.

Room Tip: We liked our quiet corner in 712!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Hello dear friends, we note your comments and thank you with all our heart that you had to get the detail of your valuable time to remind us, all of your comments and suggestions are really important to us because it helps us to see and determine in what areas we need to work better and also in areas which are good, our dream and mission is to give all our guests the best possible experience here at our hotel, we know that there are millions of different opinions and that each person is different, so thanks to your comments we can help more people every day, we also appreciated that you chose us as your Hotel in Costa Rica and we hope in God to see you back soon.
from all workers in the Arenal Springs Hotel we thank you very much and God bless you always
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

The Arenal Springs Resort and Spa is a TripAdvisor 2013 hotel choice for a reason. Absolutely wonderful. From the moment you check in to the moment you leave, the service at the resort is fantastic. Amazing views of the Arenal volcano from all locations on the resort. The Ti-Cain restaurant serves amazing meals for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Breakfast was probably our favorite meal of the day - typical food every day! The pool and mini-springs are nice too for all ages. The swim up bar is large and can accommodate many people at once. The Natria Spa was incredible. We indulged in a Swedish massage for two and the price was very reasonable and the therapists were very professional and gave a great massage. La Fortuna is a short 3-5 minute taxi ride. All in all, the Arenal Springs Resort and Spa is where to stay when in the Arenal area.

Room Tip: Views from our second story room were phenomenal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chardy858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Hello dear friends, we note your comments and thank you with all our heart that you had to get the detail of your valuable time to remind us, all of your comments and suggestions are really important to us because it helps us to see and determine in what areas we need to work better and also in areas which are good, our dream and mission is to give all our guests the best possible experience here at our hotel, we know that there are millions of different opinions and that each person is different, so thanks to your comments we can help more people every day, we also appreciated that you chose us as your Hotel in Costa Rica and we hope in God to see you back soon.
from all workers in the Arenal Springs Hotel we thank you very much and God bless you always
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
0.5 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,851 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 62 in Arenal Volcano National Park
2,376 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,261 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,244 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#5 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Springs Resort and Spa

Property: Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Address: 5 Miles West of Catholic Church of la Fortuna, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#7 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#12 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Springs Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Arenal Springs is located just 5 miles away from la Fortuna town toward the Arenal Volcano or National Park. We are located between La Fortuna town and the Arenal Lake.The Hotel count with 87 Junior Suites and 3 Master Suites King and 3 Master Suites Queen with direct view to the Arenal Volcano. Each room are surrounding with exotic gardens, beautiful flowers and many species of birds. These rooms offer either a king size bed or two double beds. Also we provide rooms with handicap access and adjoining rooms for families who want stay together.Our hotel offers you 2 swimming pools and a Thermal river.Hotel Arenal Springs Resort offers on each Junior Suite the best amenities for your comfort. King Bed or Two queen beds, Hair dryer, Cable TV, Mini bar, Free Wi-Fi Internet access, Air Conditioning, Ceiling fan, Laundry Bag, Telephone, Safe deposit box, Coffee Maker free coffee and tea), Bath amenities, Private bath with tropical garden, hot water, Private terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Arenal Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Springs Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Hotel Arenal Springs
Arenal Springs Resort And Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing