We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view of Arenal Volcano”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Beautiful resort! The rooms were great and the bathroom was wonderful! The bathrooms had plants in the showers and when it rained, the rain ran down a stone wall into the plants....we want this bathroom at home! The grounds were beautiful and each room, which was attached to one other room, had it's own private garden area; with rocking chairs on the porch with a view of the volcano. The food and service was good. The only annoyance was when we went to have our meals. Our trip was all-inclusive and it seems that there was some confusion each and every time we went to eat. We had to wear yellow bands at this resort and we assumed this identified what we would be doing or getting during our stay. The first night there we were handed a large menu, but a few minutes later the hostess came and took it from us and handed us a smaller menu to chose from when she found out we were all-inclusive, that was a little awkward. We felt at times as if the staff at the restaurant were a little annoyed with us because we didn't have "tickets" that they kept asking for. So I explain all of this to say...maybe there should be more of an explanation to the tourist as to how to handle meals when it's all-inclusive and/or talk to the staff about being a little more patient or trained on how to handle this situation. Breakfast each day was wonderful, as it was a buffet and had lots to chose from; and our other meals were tasty too. All of this aside...it is a beautiful resort and the side trips of ziplining and Safari ride down the river was great! We loved our guides! The pool(s) and hot spring(s) were to die for and are a must when you visit here. Pura Vida!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

Hello dear friends, we note your comments and thank you with all our heart that you had to get the detail of your valuable time to remind us, all of your comments and suggestions are really important to us because it helps us to see and determine in what areas we need to work better and also in areas which are good, our dream and mission is to give all our guests the best possible experience here at our hotel, we know that there are millions of different opinions and that each person is different, so thanks to your comments we can help more people every day, we also appreciated that you chose us as your Hotel in Costa Rica and we hope in God to see you back soon.
from all workers in the Arenal Springs Hotel we thank you very much and God bless you always

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,474)
There are newer reviews for Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,253 - 1,259 of 2,474 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2013

This is a beautiful place! The rooms are like cottages (duplexes). I would really give it a 4 !/2 star. The rooms are separated by a door so if you have noisy neighbors you get noise. We were lucky and had quiet ones. The bathroom also is 'open'--their are plants in the shower (big shower) with a corrugated plastic roof with a slight space. It is really beautiful and elegant but not great to keep out the noise. Your choice is beautiful ambiance or quiet. It was very quiet for us. Every once in a while we would hear a critter noise. There are porches with chairs and a table so you can sit outside and enjoy the views. There is also a large pool and 3 large hot springs to use. The hot springs are hotter at the top and flow down and get cooler with a bar and sushi bar in the coolest. Everything in the room is stocked once, to include the refrigerator with 2 cokes, 2 beers, and 2 waters. This also includes one tiny bottle of shampoo, conditioner, and lotion. They also provide an aroma candle and 2 other candles for ambiance. It is by far the best resort we have be in here in Costa Rica and the view of Arenal is wonderful.

Room Tip: We were in a junior suite on the end of the street and it was extremely quiet. (212)
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cindy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

Hello dear friends, we note your comments and thank you with all our heart that you had to get the detail of your valuable time to remind us, all of your comments and suggestions are really important to us because it helps us to see and determine in what areas we need to work better and also in areas which are good, our dream and mission is to give all our guests the best possible experience here at our hotel, we know that there are millions of different opinions and that each person is different, so thanks to your comments we can help more people every day, we also appreciated that you chose us as your Hotel in Costa Rica and we hope in God to see you back soon.
from all workers in the Arenal Springs Hotel we thank you very much and God bless you always

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

It is true that every room has a view of the volcano. Don't confuse this hotel with The Springs Arenal....which is an ultra luxury hotel. Our overall impression is as follows:

Pros:
-beautiful well kept grounds with flowering orchards etc everywhere
-really wondeful breakfast part of the room rate
-hot springs at the hotel were wonderful- beautifully done with stones and waterfalls. Three levels of hotsprings ith different temperatures.
- the pool area was very nice and included a swim up bar.
-rooms were ok and the shower was pretty neat with the plants
-stocked fridge was nice

Cons:
-not very helpful front desk staff
-noisy rooms-poor sound insulation. We also happened to have noisy neighbours and complained to the fron desk. The front desk staff didn't really help. The did not offer for us to chnge rooms and were very dismissive.
-hard beds.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank catVancouver_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

Hello dear friends, we note your comments and thank you with all our heart that you had to get the detail of your valuable time to remind us, all of your comments and suggestions are really important to us because it helps us to see and determine in what areas we need to work better and also in areas which are good, our dream and mission is to give all our guests the best possible experience here at our hotel, we know that there are millions of different opinions and that each person is different, so thanks to your comments we can help more people every day, we also appreciated that you chose us as your Hotel in Costa Rica and we hope in God to see you back soon.
from all workers in the Arenal Springs Hotel we thank you very much and God bless you always

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

This is a very nice resort. The property is well kept. There are multiple hot spring pools at different temperatures and there is also a swim up bar at the large pool. We had unit 502 for three nights which had two rocking chairs on the porch and a nice view of the volcano. The weather was mostly clear and we were fortunate to see the volcano each day discharging steam. Our room had two comfortable beds and a nice big shower. There was a refrigerator with complementary beverages when we arrived the first day. There is a closet with shelves, a table and bench in the room. The ac and fan worked well. There is a golf cart that can drive you or you can walk the property. Our room was in a good location to walk. The main restaurant was very good and the service was good, prices were not bad for a resort. It is an open restaurant with some windows. Breakfast contained scrambled eggs on the buffet or fresh made eggs or omelets, a meat, sides, cereal, fruit and juice. You can also order sushi by the big pool. The property was nice and attracted birds and many hummingbirds were seen. There are some computers in the lobby for use and a small gift shop. There is a spa on the property.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alwaysfun2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

Hello dear friends, we note your comments and thank you with all our heart that you had to get the detail of your valuable time to remind us, all of your comments and suggestions are really important to us because it helps us to see and determine in what areas we need to work better and also in areas which are good, our dream and mission is to give all our guests the best possible experience here at our hotel, we know that there are millions of different opinions and that each person is different, so thanks to your comments we can help more people every day, we also appreciated that you chose us as your Hotel in Costa Rica and we hope in God to see you back soon.
from all workers in the Arenal Springs Hotel we thank you very much and God bless you always

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Stayed three nights in June. Great for families--my picky five-year-old found a lot to eat at the breakfast buffet. Pools were really clean and uncrowded, staff was friendly. Stuck at the onsite restaurant because it's far from town, but when we split entrees it was relatively affordable. Amazing flowers, tons of birds, saw a basilisk running across the pool.

Room Tip: All rooms have terrific volcano view.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kate F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

Hello dear friends, we note your comments and thank you with all our heart that you had to get the detail of your valuable time to remind us, all of your comments and suggestions are really important to us because it helps us to see and determine in what areas we need to work better and also in areas which are good, our dream and mission is to give all our guests the best possible experience here at our hotel, we know that there are millions of different opinions and that each person is different, so thanks to your comments we can help more people every day, we also appreciated that you chose us as your Hotel in Costa Rica and we hope in God to see you back soon.
from all workers in the Arenal Springs Hotel we thank you very much and God bless you always

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

This was the absolute highlight of our trip to Costa Rica! Every turn was like walking into a postcard. You couldn't beat the beautiful rooms. Perfect amount of privacy, and spectacular views of the Arenal volcano. The beds were so comfortable. I slept like a baby.

The grounds are relaxing. Take a day to spend by the pool or hang out in the hammock. You owe it to yourself! We highly enjoyed the hot springs and the fresh water pool was refreshing when the day got hotter.

The staff were incredibly helpful and welcoming. when we first arrived, it was late and there were cold fruit drinks waiting for us. We were taken to our room by golf cart and given great advice on excursions to take based on our preferences.

The breakfasts were filling and a good mix of authentic Costa Rican food and North American staples. You won't be hungry after your meal. Oh, and you also have a view of the volcano while enjoying your coffee.

I would like to give constructive criticism but I really don't have anything negative to say. I wish I could have stayed longer. The grounds were nice and quiet at night and there were lots of people there of every age. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: every room will give you a good view of the volcano, but to avoid the clouds that will sometimes hid...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LindsayD820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

Hello dear friends, we note your comments and thank you with all our heart that you had to get the detail of your valuable time to remind us, all of your comments and suggestions are really important to us because it helps us to see and determine in what areas we need to work better and also in areas which are good, our dream and mission is to give all our guests the best possible experience here at our hotel, we know that there are millions of different opinions and that each person is different, so thanks to your comments we can help more people every day, we also appreciated that you chose us as your Hotel in Costa Rica and we hope in God to see you back soon.
from all workers in the Arenal Springs Hotel we thank you very much and God bless you always

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Good return for the price paid. Beautiful sightseeing by the Arenal Volcano skirts. lots of birds and wild fauna around. quick and abundant golf-cart resort transportation within premises. well trainned cordial and smily staff. Clean and comfortable accomodation in bungalos. Well kept resort premises. Peaceful place to rest. Excelent thermal hot water pools. Well prepared not pricey drinks at wet bar by the main pool. The hotel restaurant though is not that good and food is a bit expensive as well as the wine list is limited and expensive. Ideal place for a couple on holidays. Thermal pools open time deserve to run until late night instead of closing down by 10pm.

Room Tip: Get a single story bungalo as those are cheaper but equally quiet and accesible.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MoahB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

Hello dear friends, we note your comments and thank you with all our heart that you had to get the detail of your valuable time to remind us, all of your comments and suggestions are really important to us because it helps us to see and determine in what areas we need to work better and also in areas which are good, our dream and mission is to give all our guests the best possible experience here at our hotel, we know that there are millions of different opinions and that each person is different, so thanks to your comments we can help more people every day, we also appreciated that you chose us as your Hotel in Costa Rica and we hope in God to see you back soon.
from all workers in the Arenal Springs Hotel we thank you very much and God bless you always

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
1.2 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 63 in Arenal Volcano National Park
2,421 reviews
0.5 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,934 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,317 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,852 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Springs Resort and Spa

Address: 5 Miles West of Catholic Church of la Fortuna, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#7 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#12 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: $126 - $696 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Springs Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Arenal Springs is located just 5 miles away from la Fortuna town toward the Arenal Volcano or National Park. We are located between La Fortuna town and the Arenal Lake.The Hotel count with 87 Junior Suites and 3 Master Suites King and 3 Master Suites Queen with direct view to the Arenal Volcano. Each room are surrounding with exotic gardens, beautiful flowers and many species of birds. These rooms offer either a king size bed or two double beds. Also we provide rooms with handicap access and adjoining rooms for families who want stay together.Our hotel offers you 2 swimming pools and a Thermal river.Hotel Arenal Springs Resort offers on each Junior Suite the best amenities for your comfort. King Bed or Two queen beds, Hair dryer, Cable TV, Mini bar, Free Wi-Fi Internet access, Air Conditioning, Ceiling fan, Laundry Bag, Telephone, Safe deposit box, Coffee Maker free coffee and tea), Bath amenities, Private bath with tropical garden, hot water, Private terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Arenal Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Springs Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Hotel Arenal Springs
Arenal Springs Resort And Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing