We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pool and hot springs but some downsides”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We just stayed in May 2013 and I have mixed feelings. First of all, the pool and springs are very nice. There are about 8 different pools/hot springs and a big swim up bar where you can also eat bar food or sushi. The pool area couldn't be nicer and makes the hotel. It seemed like there were only about 8 other couples in the hotel and we would go literally hours upon hours of not seeing a single soul anywhere on the grounds - including the pool. It was like our own private resort. That's low season for ya. The view of the volcano is great although it's not on the side where you can see lava. In fact, they say the volcano hasn't really put out any lava in a couple of years now. Too bad. Outside of that, there are some problems. The food is incredibly overpriced but you end up eating it because it would be just as expensive to get a cab into town and back (which costs about $10 - 12 each way). Also, the rooms are literally paper thin - they are set up so that each cabin is like a duplex. A door (which opens if you rent out both rooms in the cabin) is all that separates each room. If one person burps in a room, the other people in the other room hear it. Literally. There is ZERO insulation. With that being said, there are quite a few honeymooners and things can get pretty awkward pretty quickly when you're trying to sleep if you catch my drift....

Room Tip: Find a friend and get them to rent out the other room and then you'll have a whole cabin to your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rebelfan1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Hello dear friends, we note your comments and thank you with all our heart that you had to get the detail of your valuable time to remind us, all of your comments and suggestions are really important to us because it helps us to see and determine in what areas we need to work better and also in areas which are good, our dream and mission is to give all our guests the best possible experience here at our hotel, we know that there are millions of different opinions and that each person is different, so thanks to your comments we can help more people every day, we also appreciated that you chose us as your Hotel in Costa Rica and we hope in God to see you back soon.
from all workers in the Arenal Springs Hotel we thank you very much and God bless you always.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,508)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,302 - 1,308 of 2,508 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed here a few days ago and loved it! I'll break down the pros and cons.
Pros: The staff was excellent (friendly and accomodating), the views of the volcano are beautiful, the hot springs are great, the tour staff is helpful, the free buffet breakfast is good, and the amenities (like the yoga patio) are nice.
Cons: The food on site is EXPENSIVE. We knew it would be more expensive than local sodas, but were shocked to find sushi and other meals more than American prices! The only other con is that the location is not in walking distance of anything so it's $10-12 to get a taxi into La Fortuna (we were told $6-8 but that's not the case).

Room Tip: Keep the bathroom door shut... because of the open shower the room can get very muggy while you'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amber C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

Hello dear friends, we note your comments and thank you with all our heart that you had to get the detail of your valuable time to remind us, all of your comments and suggestions are really important to us because it helps us to see and determine in what areas we need to work better and also in areas which are good, our dream and mission is to give all our guests the best possible experience here at our hotel, we know that there are millions of different opinions and that each person is different, so thanks to your comments we can help more people every day, we also appreciated that you chose us as your Hotel in Costa Rica and we hope in God to see you back soon.
from all workers in the Arenal Springs Hotel we thank you very much and God bless you always.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed here from May 15th until May 19th 2013. I chose this resort on line and was a little apprehensive about what it would really be like. I was more than pleased when we arrived. The resort is beautiful and extremely inexpensive. The rooms and facilities are the cleanest I have ever stayed at including the Disney Resorts (and they are pretty clean). The Costa Rican people take great pride in their resorts, cleanliness and hospitality. Everything was first class all the way. The concierge was friendly and helpful. He booked 2 of our excursions for us and we had a blast. The food at the restaurant was very good as well. I would definitely return to this resort. It is one of few (if not the only) resort that does not sell the use of their hot springs. That means that the springs are only used by the guests staying at the resort which was a huge plus. I would highly recommend this resort!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

Hello dear friends, we note your comments and thank you with all our heart that you had to get the detail of your valuable time to remind us, all of your comments and suggestions are really important to us because it helps us to see and determine in what areas we need to work better and also in areas which are good, our dream and mission is to give all our guests the best possible experience here at our hotel, we know that there are millions of different opinions and that each person is different, so thanks to your comments we can help more people every day, we also appreciated that you chose us as your Hotel in Costa Rica and we hope in God to see you back soon.
from all workers in the Arenal Springs Hotel we thank you very much and God bless you always.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

The property is gorgeous - the pools, the lush landscaping, the rooms - simply a joy. The staff was very helpful, the restaurant had great breakfast buffet and perfectly appropriate lunch and dinner menu. The location was very convenient to Tabacon Hot Springs and close to other activities (they usually provide transportation anyway). We would love to go back - loved every minute here.
Quick tip - there are a lot of groups coming and going, so keep an eye on your luggage so it doesn't end up on the wrong bus.:)

Room Tip: The property consists of separate houses, so if you don't feel like walking 5-8 minutes to your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cheburashka109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

Hello dear friends, we note your comments and thank you with all our heart that you had to get the detail of your valuable time to remind us, all of your comments and suggestions are really important to us because it helps us to see and determine in what areas we need to work better and also in areas which are good, our dream and mission is to give all our guests the best possible experience here at our hotel, we know that there are millions of different opinions and that each person is different, so thanks to your comments we can help more people every day, we also appreciated that you chose us as your Hotel in Costa Rica and we hope in God to see you back soon.
from all workers in the Arenal Springs Hotel we thank you very much and God bless you always.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Loved every minute of our experience at Arenal Springs for Christmas! Beautiful pools, great views, varied wildlife, and good food. Wonderful service, especially at the concierge desk and bars! Energetic and helpful concierge, and a friendly and great bar tender for the length of our stay made our time there even more special. Would stay here anytime we visit in the future. Spa massages were incredible and a space for yoga to boot. It's very romantic and the perfect get-away place!

Room Tip: One of the rooms on the lower part of the hill for great access to the pools and spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GlobalLove247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

Hello dear friends, we note your comments and thank you with all our heart that you had to get the detail of your valuable time to remind us, all of your comments and suggestions are really important to us because it helps us to see and determine in what areas we need to work better and also in areas which are good, our dream and mission is to give all our guests the best possible experience here at our hotel, we know that there are millions of different opinions and that each person is different, so thanks to your comments we can help more people every day, we also appreciated that you chose us as your Hotel in Costa Rica and we hope in God to see you back soon.
from all workers in the Arenal Springs Hotel we thank you very much and God bless you always.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Even though the hotel is located in a remote area, hard to get and no paved road, it was a great experience. To be honest the majority of the roads in Costa Rica are not well maintained, and the majority of the hotels in thsi area have this problem.
Anyways, the hotel has a beautigul view to the Arenal Volcano, great spring water pool and excellent breakfast buffet. The rooms were a little bit outdated, but not to much to damage my stay. I would highly recommend to venture out to the town of la fortuna for dinner and lunch, since the service at the restaurant was not that good for these meals.
I would stay again there if I go back to this area.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sergio S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

Hello dear friends, we note your comments and thank you with all our heart that you had to get the detail of your valuable time to remind us, all of your comments and suggestions are really important to us because it helps us to see and determine in what areas we need to work better and also in areas which are good, our dream and mission is to give all our guests the best possible experience here at our hotel, we know that there are millions of different opinions and that each person is different, so thanks to your comments we can help more people every day, we also appreciated that you chose us as your Hotel in Costa Rica and we hope in God to see you back soon.
from all workers in the Arenal Springs Hotel we thank you very much and God bless you always.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Yes, this hotel has nice rooms and beautiful views from each room, the staff are nice, there are free internet PCs to use, the golf cart transportaion is good, and the hot springs and pool are great. I went as part of a Caravan tour and that was a great value. Definitely, I enjoyed myself.

So why the middling rating?

1) It was very hot and the rooms were rigged such that you could only have AC while you were actually IN the room. This meant that whenever you returned to the room there was a loonnnng period before you could become comfortable. For me, this was a deterrent to getting out and enjoying the property especially if I was doing anything but swim (although, you did have a good view from within the room) .

2) They put a plastic sort of bracelet around your wrist to identify you as a guest. For me, this felt confining and moreover embarrassing if I went into town or something. I hated the bracelet.

3) Another minor downside was that as in many Costa Rican locales, you cannot flush the toilet paper down the toilet but must put it in the wastebasket -- fortunately I had brought small ziploc bags along with me which made me feel a bit better about this.

Bottom line: the property has many good qualities but personally I would prefer to stay somewhere less elegant that was more generous with the AC and didn't make me wear a bracelet like I was in a hospital or something. I wouldn't ever choose to go back to this property and would have preferred Caravan used another hotel. YMMV.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Annette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

Hello dear friends, we note your comments and thank you with all our heart that you had to get the detail of your valuable time to remind us, all of your comments and suggestions are really important to us because it helps us to see and determine in what areas we need to work better and also in areas which are good, our dream and mission is to give all our guests the best possible experience here at our hotel, we know that there are millions of different opinions and that each person is different, so thanks to your comments we can help more people every day, we also appreciated that you chose us as your Hotel in Costa Rica and we hope in God to see you back soon.
from all workers in the Arenal Springs Hotel we thank you very much and God bless you always.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
1.2 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,334 reviews
0.5 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,997 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 64 in Arenal Volcano National Park
2,445 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,573 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Springs Resort and Spa

Address: 5 Miles West of Catholic Church of la Fortuna, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#7 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#12 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: $128 - $752 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Springs Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Arenal Springs is located just 5 miles away from la Fortuna town toward the Arenal Volcano or National Park. We are located between La Fortuna town and the Arenal Lake.The Hotel count with 87 Junior Suites and 3 Master Suites King and 3 Master Suites Queen with direct view to the Arenal Volcano. Each room are surrounding with exotic gardens, beautiful flowers and many species of birds. These rooms offer either a king size bed or two double beds. Also we provide rooms with handicap access and adjoining rooms for families who want stay together.Our hotel offers you 2 swimming pools and a Thermal river.Hotel Arenal Springs Resort offers on each Junior Suite the best amenities for your comfort. King Bed or Two queen beds, Hair dryer, Cable TV, Mini bar, Free Wi-Fi Internet access, Air Conditioning, Ceiling fan, Laundry Bag, Telephone, Safe deposit box, Coffee Maker free coffee and tea), Bath amenities, Private bath with tropical garden, hot water, Private terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Arenal Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Springs Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Hotel Arenal Springs
Arenal Springs Resort And Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing