We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great sushi”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Marysville, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great sushi”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Great vacation destination. Pleasing staff.expensive restaurant, though. Loved the breakfast buffet. And the sushi was really really good! Our booking was made through Pacific Trade Winds, who I would recommend. Booked flights on our own with Spirit Airlines who I WILL NEVER FLY WITH AGAIN

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Hello dear friends, we note your comments and thank you with all our heart that you had to get the detail of your valuable time to remind us, all of your comments and suggestions are really important to us because it helps us to see and determine in what areas we need to work better and also in areas which are good, our dream and mission is to give all our guests the best possible experience here at our hotel, we know that there are millions of different opinions and that each person is different, so thanks to your comments we can help more people every day, we also appreciated that you chose us as your Hotel in Costa Rica and we hope in God to see you back soon.
from all workers in the Arenal Springs Hotel we thank you very much and God bless you always.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,512
    745
    140
    24
    11
See reviews for
795
1,099
40
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (564)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Arenal Springs Resort for two nights in April 2013. This resort was so amazing, from check-in to check-out! At check-in you are greeted with a smile and a delicious fruity drink! The property is very large and if you aren't close to the main registration/restaurant area its pretty cool because they have a staff that will drive you to your room in a golf cart. We stayed in the bungalows in the back row (700s), honestly every bungalow on the property has an incredible view of the volcano...so you can't go wrong regardless of where your room is. The rooms were great, definitely a bug issue (but, hey you are in the rainforest). We had someone come to our room to spray for bugs and after that we had no more issues.

On our first night we hit up the hot springs and the swim up sushi bar. A must do for sure! The hot springs were so amazing at this property, I can't say it enough. There are also kid friendly hot springs and cold water pools. I must also mention how beautiful the resort is. The flora and fauna is meticulously maintained. Finally, the free breakfast is not to be missed!! Pura Vida!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sasand01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Hello dear friends, we note your comments and thank you with all our heart that you had to get the detail of your valuable time to remind us, all of your comments and suggestions are really important to us because it helps us to see and determine in what areas we need to work better and also in areas which are good, our dream and mission is to give all our guests the best possible experience here at our hotel, we know that there are millions of different opinions and that each person is different, so thanks to your comments we can help more people every day, we also appreciated that you chose us as your Hotel in Costa Rica and we hope in God to see you back soon.
from all workers in the Arenal Springs Hotel we thank you very much and God bless you always.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Our overall stay here was ok! The staff are very nice and are keen to help. However the food isn't very good , it's over priced and very greasy. The breakfast buffet is nice apart from the million bugs flying around the food which put me off. The grounds are beautiful. The rooms aren't very clean if I'm being honest, we found numerous bugs and geckos in room and found gecko feces in sink many times, you can hear everything next door at neighbours , and the beds are way too hard ! One thing that did annoy us is we requested a wake up call one morning for 830 Am and were woken up at 630 Am, wasn't very happy. Overall our experience was average , I wouldn't rush back at all.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Street90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Hello dear friends, we note your comments and thank you with all our heart that you had to get the detail of your valuable time to remind us, all of your comments and suggestions are really important to us because it helps us to see and determine in what areas we need to work better and also in areas which are good, our dream and mission is to give all our guests the best possible experience here at our hotel, we know that there are millions of different opinions and that each person is different, so thanks to your comments we can help more people every day, we also appreciated that you chose us as your Hotel in Costa Rica and we hope in God to see you back soon.
from all workers in the Arenal Springs Hotel we thank you very much and God bless you always.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Beautiful view of the Volcano! The pools were great, hot springs very relaxing. Staff was friendly and accommodating. Grounds and pools were kept very well, and clean. The only thing that was a little uncomfortable was the beds, they were hard. But we really had a great time and would recommend it for the relaxing pools, beautiful plants and trees on the well manicured grounds.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LillieD_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Hello dear friends, we note your comments and thank you with all our heart that you had to get the detail of your valuable time to remind us, all of your comments and suggestions are really important to us because it helps us to see and determine in what areas we need to work better and also in areas which are good, our dream and mission is to give all our guests the best possible experience here at our hotel, we know that there are millions of different opinions and that each person is different, so thanks to your comments we can help more people every day, we also appreciated that you chose us as your Hotel in Costa Rica and we hope in God to see you back soon.
from all workers in the Arenal Springs Hotel we thank you very much and God bless you always.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

This is a great hotel in the Arenal area. Every room has a view of the volcano set as small houses with 2 rooms in each. Pools are great and well maintained. To me the grounds were the true selling point. Every " house" has its own lawn and garden. And the property is landscaped beautifully. The staff was very attentive and most were bilingual. And the hotel is working to a zero carbon footprint (you can help by donating to a tree planting). The only "miss" was the bed. A bit hard.

I highly recommend checking them out.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skruffdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Hello dear friends, we note your comments and thank you with all our heart that you had to get the detail of your valuable time to remind us, all of your comments and suggestions are really important to us because it helps us to see and determine in what areas we need to work better and also in areas which are good, our dream and mission is to give all our guests the best possible experience here at our hotel, we know that there are millions of different opinions and that each person is different, so thanks to your comments we can help more people every day, we also appreciated that you chose us as your Hotel in Costa Rica and we hope in God to see you back soon.
from all workers in the Arenal Springs Hotel we thank you very much and God bless you always.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We stayed here for a few nights in April 2013 and the resort is lovely. The pools/springs are great, the rooms are nice (though we could sometimes hear the people next door - this wasnt an issue for us but it could be if you get noisy neighbours or are particularly bothered by this) and you have a fantastic view of the volcano. The restaurant is fine - we did have a few issues with the consistency of the food but one of the waiters who had served us the previous night sorted out the issues and was very apologetic. It is also quite pricey for what you get, but that is expected in resorts. The staff at reception would go out of their way to help in any way they could. All in all, we really enjoyed our stay here and would definitely go back

Room Tip: We stayed in 612 and had a fantastic view of the volcano
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynsey c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Hello dear friends, we note your comments and thank you with all our heart that you had to get the detail of your valuable time to remind us, all of your comments and suggestions are really important to us because it helps us to see and determine in what areas we need to work better and also in areas which are good, our dream and mission is to give all our guests the best possible experience here at our hotel, we know that there are millions of different opinions and that each person is different, so thanks to your comments we can help more people every day, we also appreciated that you chose us as your Hotel in Costa Rica and we hope in God to see you back soon.
from all workers in the Arenal Springs Hotel we thank you very much and God bless you always.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Absolutely amazing view. The staff were excellent. The pools were the neatest I've seen. Super clean. We were sitting at breakfast May 1,13 and the volcano erupted for the first time since 2010 and we watched from our seats. The beds are super hard but the hot springs soak away any stiffness. I would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RGDprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Hello dear friends, we note your comments and thank you with all our heart that you had to get the detail of your valuable time to remind us, all of your comments and suggestions are really important to us because it helps us to see and determine in what areas we need to work better and also in areas which are good, our dream and mission is to give all our guests the best possible experience here at our hotel, we know that there are millions of different opinions and that each person is different, so thanks to your comments we can help more people every day, we also appreciated that you chose us as your Hotel in Costa Rica and we hope in God to see you back soon.
from all workers in the Arenal Springs Hotel we thank you very much and God bless you always.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
0.5 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,885 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#5 of 63 in Arenal Volcano National Park
2,405 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,839 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,278 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#3 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Springs Resort and Spa

Property: Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Address: 5 Miles West of Catholic Church of la Fortuna, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#7 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#12 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Springs Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Arenal Springs is located just 5 miles away from la Fortuna town toward the Arenal Volcano or National Park. We are located between La Fortuna town and the Arenal Lake.The Hotel count with 87 Junior Suites and 3 Master Suites King and 3 Master Suites Queen with direct view to the Arenal Volcano. Each room are surrounding with exotic gardens, beautiful flowers and many species of birds. These rooms offer either a king size bed or two double beds. Also we provide rooms with handicap access and adjoining rooms for families who want stay together.Our hotel offers you 2 swimming pools and a Thermal river.Hotel Arenal Springs Resort offers on each Junior Suite the best amenities for your comfort. King Bed or Two queen beds, Hair dryer, Cable TV, Mini bar, Free Wi-Fi Internet access, Air Conditioning, Ceiling fan, Laundry Bag, Telephone, Safe deposit box, Coffee Maker free coffee and tea), Bath amenities, Private bath with tropical garden, hot water, Private terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Arenal Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Springs Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Hotel Arenal Springs
Arenal Springs Resort And Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing