We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed June 5, 2011

During our weeks stay in Costa Rica the Arenal Springs Resort was our favorite. The location, food, room were all excellent. But the best part was the staff. The made it a point to know our names and treated us like family. John, one of the staff at the restaurant, was the best We hated to leave. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pkelly224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2011

Dear guest, thank you very much for your lovely comments about us, these make us feel we're doing things right, and motivates us to continue our work.
for us it was a pleasure having you here and hope to see you soon, God bless and take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,526)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,714 - 1,720 of 2,526 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2011

This hotel is situated on beautiful grounds with luxurious vegetation. Private bungalows, outdoor dining and breakfast with superb view, friendly staff, great thermal springs swimming pool, spa, great bathrooms. I did not want to leave.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank monicaperezsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2011

Dear guest, thank you very much for your lovely comments about us, these make us feel we're doing things right, and motivates us to continue our work.
for us it was a pleasure having you here and hope to see you soon, God bless and take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2011

Stayed at Arenal Springs for two nights. Room was extremely nice with large windows and great view of volcano. Grounds were very well maintained and hot springs pool was great to lounge around in. Breakfast was functional in a nice setting. Great spot to stay, especially if you have your own vehicle.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ARKGang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2011

Dear guest, thank you very much for your lovely comments about us, these make us feel we're doing things right, and motivates us to continue our work.
for us it was a pleasure having you here and hope to see you soon, God bless and take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2011

After reading reviews of hotels over and over on Trip Advisor, I had a hard time deciding where to stay during our recent trip. In the end, I chose this hotel and we couldn't have been happier! The property is beautifully maintained and the view of the volcano is fabulous! The complimentary breakfast was very good.....lots of choices to appeal to all. The pool is really a hot spring which was really nice....no expensive trips needed to other area hot springs. The pool area is fairly small, bu t it really never felt crowded. We were told that they are planning a pool area expansion so that should fix any issues with that regard. Loved that you needed to use your room key to turn on the electricity and A/C in the room.....very "green" and eco-friendly. Even though the weather was very warm when we were there, the room was never really hot when we came back from our various excursions.....and cooled extremely quickly. Manuel, the bartender in El Barril was FABULOUS!!! He shared so much information with us about Costa Rica and he even went out of his way to bring empanadas for us for lunch one day after my daughter talked about having them in Argentina...he is the best! I would definitely recommend this place to others.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lmasood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2011

Dear guest, thank you very much for your lovely comments about us, these make us feel we're doing things right, and motivates us to continue our work.
for us it was a pleasure having you here and hope to see you soon, God bless and take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2011

My fiance and I spent 3 nights at Arenal Springs Resort. The property is absolutely breath taking and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Beds are hard as a rock but the rooms are beautiful, clean and private. The food at the restaurant was uninspired except for the complimentary breakfast buffet which was delicious (of course, no one told us it was complimentary until the last day, so we missed out the first 2 mornings). There isn't much to do at night and this resort is a little ways from town. We would have liked to be closer to other bars and restaurants in La Fortuna. Be sure to compare excursion prices offered at the hotel to ones available in town... we found way better deals on several excursions when we went to the local travel organizations.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FSUJamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2011

Thank you very much for your beautiful comments, for us it was a real pleasure to have had you in our hotel, and we hope to see you soon remember you have many friends here waiting for you, see you soon and God bless.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2011

This is a beautifeul resort comprised of a series of semi-detached bungalows all with uninterrupted views of Arenal volcano. If you're lucky enough to be in La Fortuna when Arenal is not shrouded in clouds you can wake up, open the curtains and have the volcano fill your window pane. The grounds are very well kept and each room has it's own parking pad making it very convenient if you have a rental car. Our room was spacious and tastefully decorated with TV, AC, mini fridge and coffee maker. The pool for this hotel is filled with perfectly warm water from the nearby hotsprings and there's even a swim up wet bar. (Have a laugh at the sign for the pool rules which reads "Love scenes are not allowed in the pool".) If you're staying here you really don't need to spend the extra money going to one lf the other hot springs in the area. The restaurant is nice, good food but a little pricey. Breakfasts, which are included, had a nice variety and everything was delicious. We loved staying here but the one drawback was that it's very isolated and difficult to get anywhere else unless you have a car. We took a taxi to the hanging bridges and it cost $25. I think just going into town would have cost about $20 as well so transportation costs really add up. If you're not going to have a car then your next best option is to sign up for tours that include transportation. The hotel does not offer a shuttle service.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lingchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2011

Thank you very much for your beautiful comments, for us it was a real pleasure to have had you in our hotel, and we hope to see you soon remember you have many friends here waiting for you.
see you soon and God bless

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2011

This place was amazing! Talk about "all natural". The welcome was very warm. The place is beautiful- spa like resort in the middle of the forest! Pictures on website due no justice. The surroundings were beautiful. We heard Congos and all types of birds early in the AM.

Room Tip: call hotel directly
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewJerseyKathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-arenal-springs, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2011

Dear friend, for us has been a pleasure to have had you in our hotel and we hope to see you soon, remember that now are part of our family and we are waiting for you here to serve you with pleasure.
thank you very much for your comments and God bless
and remember this place will always be PURA VIDA!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
1.2 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,342 reviews
0.5 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,024 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#5 of 64 in Arenal Volcano National Park
2,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,877 reviews
3 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,584 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Springs Resort and Spa

Address: 5 Miles West of Catholic Church of la Fortuna, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#7 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#12 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: $146 - $831 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Springs Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Arenal Springs is located just 5 miles away from la Fortuna town toward the Arenal Volcano or National Park. We are located between La Fortuna town and the Arenal Lake.The Hotel count with 87 Junior Suites and 3 Master Suites King and 3 Master Suites Queen with direct view to the Arenal Volcano. Each room are surrounding with exotic gardens, beautiful flowers and many species of birds. These rooms offer either a king size bed or two double beds. Also we provide rooms with handicap access and adjoining rooms for families who want stay together.Our hotel offers you 2 swimming pools and a Thermal river.Hotel Arenal Springs Resort offers on each Junior Suite the best amenities for your comfort. King Bed or Two queen beds, Hair dryer, Cable TV, Mini bar, Free Wi-Fi Internet access, Air Conditioning, Ceiling fan, Laundry Bag, Telephone, Safe deposit box, Coffee Maker free coffee and tea), Bath amenities, Private bath with tropical garden, hot water, Private terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Arenal Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Springs Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Hotel Arenal Springs
Arenal Springs Resort And Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing