We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$200
$183
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$289
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$474
$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$173
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Volcano Lodge & Springs(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$169
$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of $82/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Lomas del Volcan(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$107
$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Arenal Manoa Hotel(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$124
$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arenal Lodge(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$109
$77
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$86
$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Nayara Springs(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$563
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,004)
Filter reviews
1,004 results
Traveler rating
824
144
20
12
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
824
144
20
12
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnight hikehowler monkeysmark lucyunique experienceeach morningcoffee deliveredjuan carlossloth housesanta claracosta ricahonor systemla fortunagreat hostswrap around porchfree nightplantainsproyecto asis
Filter
Updating list...
765 - 770 of 1,004 reviews
Reviewed November 22, 2010

If you like a quiet and natural place look no further. Tree Houses Hotel was all that and more. It is about 25 minutes out of the hustle and bustle of La Fortuna. If you want to stay away from tourist central and mega resorts this is the place. Mark and Lucy are awesome hosts and help you at every turn. The breakfasts at Tree Houses Hotel are excellent as you watch hummingbirds, toucan, Costa Rican Robins, Honey Creepers and other wildlife. We also saw howler monkeys while staying here. If you fly into San Jose you will have about a 2.5 hour drive to the hotel. the drive is thru the cloud forest and is very beautiful. Even though Tree Houses Hotel doesn't serve dinner or lunch there are plenty of places to enjoy in the area (Bella Verona and Samay are great). We took excursions to Volcano Arenal, a waterfall, Cano Negro and explored on our own as well. The planned excursions were booked for us by Tree Houses Hotel. I would defintely recommend this hotel to anyone and would definitely come back to Costa Rica in a heartbeat. The tree houses are pretty cool as well. The showers are unique and very functional. Our tree house had a wonderful balcony were you could just sit, read, or relax. There is a waterfall hike at this location and I do recommend putting on bug spray before the hike. The hike is pretty simple down, but is all uphill on the return. This activity takes about 1.5-2.5 hours. In summary, we loved are time at Tree Houses Hotel and Costa Rica! Thank you Mark, Lucy, and Mini B!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelingduo8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2010

What an amazing experience. The tree houses are just incredible... most especially your shower which looks out into the treetops so you can see and hear the birds and howler monkeys as you wash! My husband stood admiring a toucan from the shower on our first morning.

The rooms are small but the allure of staying here has to be the experience. What's more, it's very clean and comfortable... we had our own private balcony... and the breakfasts are great. It's tempting to give away too many details but will also just say that watching the humming birds a metre or two away at breakfst was also an amazing experience.

The owner was there when we were and she was so helpful at arranging our plans for the day (definitely ask for their neighbour Juan to take you out for the day for a very reasonable price... he's a legend - lovely guy and full of knowledge!).

There's no evening food served at the treehouses but a great local bar/restaurant that does tasty food for a great price. The owner there was so friendly too and patiently talked to us in Spanish for a couple of hours (ours is pretty rusty!).

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2010

This hotel is a MUST stay - even for just one night.

Check in and out was breeze with no hassles, request for deposits etc. When we checked out it was simply "Did you take any drinks from the fridge? No. Alright then. You're all set to go!"

We were not harassed about tours and were given tips on where to eat (Pizza John, Lava Lounge and Happy Land. All FANTASTIC places!), possible POI and any other questions we had were answered honestly.

Breakfast was served in a beautiful setting with different types of birds (and a sleeping sloth) as companions.

The room was spacious, well built and perfectly clean. You did hear the highway noise a bit, but the sound of birds and unidentified animals drowned it out throughout the night. There is a working AC, small fridge, and coffee maker in the room. No TV though and I hope they keep it that way.

To be perfectly honest, this hotel is not in or near La Fortuna as I thought it would be. It is closer to Santa Clara, which is closer to Ciudad Quesada and is more than 30 minutes drive - albeit a nice one.

This is definitely a hotel that I will return to again.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SSC-CP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2010

Tree Houses Hotel in Costa Rica was great. I was so happy to visit here. Service was impeccable, Mark and Lucy are super nice, and it's definitely an adventure. Breakfast was always fantastic. The tree houses are a good size, the bathrooms are nice, and they have hot water. I see that many people complain about the lack of hot water in Costa Rica. Two things to say about that. 1. not every place is going to have hot water, this is not the US. 2. many showers in Costa Rica have a special shower head to control the hot water since there is little of it. Usually you have to turn the shower on to a medium pressure, the more pressure the less hot the water will be. It take s a bit of getting used to, but once you got it it's all good.

The staff was oh so helpful. The night watchman, Rolando, took us on a night tour. He had an eye that could see from so far a away and a hand that could catch anything. He showed us all sorts of frogs, bugs, plants, birds, he was awesome! I hope I get to meet him again someday.

For those that complain about the roads, and the bus, it being full etc. I must ask, why did you come to Costa Rica? If you wanted lovely clear marked roads, and bus stops instead of waiting on the side of the road, stay in the US. Things work differently in different countries, and it is up to the traveler to adapt. When in Rome, right?

The one thing I have to say-the noise from the road can be slightly distracting, but not too big a deal.

The value of the Tree Houses Hotel was pretty good considering the experience you're getting. A crap motel in the US can easily cost 50-60, and so consider that.

I loved this place. I would come back here anytime. Definitely a good honeymooners spot! (for adventurous couples). If you want all the luxuries of home, stay in a resort (or home).

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danitravelgirl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2010

This is an amazing experience. You are literally sleeping in the middle of the jungle. Then, in the morning, you are treated to an amazing breakfast on an outdoor patio with hummingbirds and many other different kinds of birds all around you.
Mark and Lucy were extremely helpful with directions and recommendations and everything that they suggested we do was great.
Sleeping up in the trees may not be for everyone, but for us it was perfection!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toasternyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews