We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for your "Europe thru the backdoor" traveler, but worth every penny!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica
Certificate of Excellence
State College, PA
1 review
“Not for your "Europe thru the backdoor" traveler, but worth every penny!”
Reviewed September 4, 2010

TTH is an *awesome* place to stay! We saw a toucan flitting in the trees, right at eye-level, about 75 feet away. It was amazing. The positive reviews on this site say it all. Do take a look at the one slightly negative review recently dated as it has some helpful information on the details. I would, however, add a huge chunk of salt to that negative review --- little things like exactly how far the bus stop is and how to get to Happy Land, and how far it is to La Fortuna are very, very heavily dependent on local contexts. As an American traveler one is used to roads that are clearly marked, wide, and smooth. One is used to there being places to pull over and think about where you are. Costa Rica does not offer that, and it is your job as a cross-cultural traveler, to be able to respond to those differences. Signage is different -- not just in a different language; it's a whole different marketing philosophy. So you as a consumer need to be savvy about *Costa Rican* marketing/culture/philosophy. If you value your American independence, rent a car, preferrably a 4WD so that you can really explore.

That said, we traveled as two parents, two kids age 6 and 13. We had ourselves a marvelous time and loved the fact that our house was the only one with a tree actually in it. And it leaked around the tree -- you could touch it during the rains and it'd be wet. A neat ring of towels was wrapped around the trees at the floor level, and this worked sufficiently. They changed out the towels frequently to keep it clean and not moldy. During one absolutely freak storm there was more rain than the towels could keep up with, and Mark showed up at our doorstep with lots more towels and extra flashlights because the power went out.

9 fruit bats made their residence on the underside of our outside roof line and we watched them arrive each morning from their nighttime forays, and looked at them during the day while they slept. Every time we went out for breakfast or a tour or a exploratory side trip, they were there, marking our passage.

Breakfast was fabulous -- the kids struggled a bit with the exotic breakfast goods, used as they are to plain ol' cereal (sigh, the joys of getting kids to eat other cultural foods). Mark and Lucy had chocopuffs on hands, which were appreciated but surprisingly to us parents, not wholly consumed by the kids -- they said it was too sweet! So maybe have the ol box of Cheerios handy? Not a single soul failed to be cheered by Behuca, CeeCee, and MiniB, the three four-legged companions to the endless chaotic beauty of hummingbirds, clay-colored robins, and the occasional grey-necked wood rail. And don't forget the butterflies. :) :)

Mark and Lucy and their staff all very helpful, very kind, very warm. Mark is a boundless source of information -- almost too much information! He knows everything and will tell you everything. It's up to you to make the right choice for you, and only you can do that by going out and exploring. The first 3 days were a little confusing for us as we adjusted to the Costa Rican way of travelling, living, eating, and thinking. The remaining four days were utterly perfect and blissful. I recommend that folks stay either just one night to get the jungle experience, or stay for 1 week and get to know the place intimately. 3 days whirlwind tour is not recommended because your needs and your expectations are likely not to mesh with THH, unless of course, you are the intrepid, fearless traveler! In which case, you cannot reasonably hold Mark and Lucy and the owners to the standard of tourism held by the negative review.

They are building a new treehouse that will not have the loft with a steep staircase ladder -- precisely because they realize that not many folk can scale that kind of ladder, and because it's hard for even them to use it to clean the upper levels properly (which they do thoroughly, by the way!). Costa Rica climate is hard on houses! And Mark and Lucy and Kelly and Raeann are diligently working on that everyday to make it presentable (to American eyes) and unique. (If you want the Hilton experience, stay at the Hilton....! ) I would suggest that this new treehouse have some storage space/sitting space. Our treehouse had a wonderful wrap around porch that we did not use because it was not screened in (how to balance the aesthetics of unscreened vs screened porch?); as a result, we were always sitting on our bed for everything-- studying the maps, planning trips, or sitting on the floor. In our treehouse there was no room for a table or dresser, but perhaps the new one can accommodate a mutiple function table or dresser? We were perfectly able to have our clothes neatly unpacked and organized, and our stuff organized, we just lacked for a flat surface area other than the floor for eating improvised meals from the grocery store and mapping out our travels (altho to be perfectly fair, we could have used the breakfast commons for that). BTW, they are in the process of building a new breakfast commons where people can do exactly what I talk about above. The small bedside stands were about 6 inches too narrow to be perfect -- we managed fine with them but would have liked 6 inches more (and that's the large American talking again!). Lighting was a bit dim for what we Americans are used to -- but lighting is dim EVERYWHERE at night in Costa Rica. Yes, the lighting was a bit low, as the negative review indicated. Easy solution, move the lamp up to the top of the bed post. Ta-da, high enough to read by easily. IN fact, the four of us did logic puzzles together in one bed by the light of those two lamps, easily. And we all wear glasses. (Yes, we're nerds and proud of it).

The short of it is that TTH was the perfect gateway for us to experience CR as a family for the first time. Next time we go to CR, and we will return, we'll look for a place that has a kitchen so we can shop and cook ourselves (one sort of has to have food available 24/7 when you have kids). Raeann and Kelly have a beach house they rent out -- sounds like it's right up our alley! ;) And of course, we'll book a couple of nights at the TTH to say hello to our new friends (two-legged and 4-legged alike).

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ats169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

926 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    751
    139
    20
    12
    4
See reviews for
350
396
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 11, 2010

When looking for a fun and very unique place to stay, we searched the internet and found The Tree House Hotel just south of La Fortuna. What a great experience for our entire family! Even our 18 year old daughter and 15 year old son thought it was fun-although they did miss a TV, but hey, we're on vacation and need to spend quality time with eachother....right?!!
Definately walk around the property and head down to the river and waterfall - absolutely beautiful. We saw humming birds, a sloth, toucan and heard the monkeys while sitting up in the tree tops on our balcony.
The owners are so very helpful in finding fun things to do in the area and the breakfasts were definately not your typical hotel breakfast - fresh fruit each morning and a great homecooked breakfast. Great coffee too!
All in all, a great experience we will recomend to everyone looking for an adventurous and unique experience.
Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sfenger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northborough, MA
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2010

After reading all of the glowing reviews of Tree Houses Hotel, we had very high expectations … all of which were met! This place is really as wonderful as everyone says. Beware: if you want luxury, keep looking. This is a place for roughing it ever so slightly, but that includes great accommodations, air conditioning, delicious breakfasts, amazingly beautiful grounds, no TV or Internet distractions, and great staff. The hosts, Mark and Lucy, were wonderfully attentive.

Mark helped us line up our activities before arriving. One day, we went to Venado Caves, then hiked Arenal and went to Baldi Hot Springs. The next day, we went whitewater rafting (through Wave Adventures) on the Balsa River (very exciting Class 2/3/3.5). On the last day, we went horseback riding to Fortuna Falls (Alberto’s Horses). We enjoyed the restaurant recommendations: Lava Lounge (in La Fortuna), Bella Verona (close to the hotel), and Happy Land (also fairly close to the hotel). We also thoroughly enjoyed a night hike (2 hours!) with Rolando, the Tree Houses Hotel’s night watchman. He was able to point out all sorts of flora and fauna. Our last morning there, we hiked the trail on the grounds down to the waterfall (human-made, multiple small pools, including changing rooms), which was a very nice hike as well.

Our family of 5 (2 adults and 3 teenagers) occupied two tree houses for 4 nights. One of our kids stayed with us in #3, and our other two kids stayed in #1. Both have a double bed on the first level and a vertical ladder to a loft. The loft of #3 has 2 single beds, and #1 has a double bed. We preferred #3, since it has a porch that wraps around the entire house, and two of the walls are mostly glass (multiple sliding glass doors). It also had fruit bats that hang out (literally!) during the day. The one thing that we liked better about #1 is that the bathroom is split into two rooms: on one side of the bed is the shower, and on the other is the sink/toilet, making it easier for multiple people to share a bathroom. We enjoyed having the mini-fridge and safe.

The breakfasts were wonderful, with a unique offering each day (e.g., banana French toast and gallo pinto (traditional Tico breakfast)). It’s fun to eat while watching the hummingbirds (and others) at the feeders. We also enjoyed the five dogs (Bejuca, Mini B, Cici, and Luna – the fifth name is escaping me now). Had it not been for the airline’s restriction on dogs flying when it’s over 85 degrees, we might have adopted Luna, the latest stray that Mark and Lucy have taken in.

If you want a truly unique experience while in the Arenal area, DO NOT MISS staying at the Tree Houses Hotel!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeslieRMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornelius, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the treehouses hotel. Marc and Lucy were very nice and helpful. The breakfasts were fantastic! We loved seeing the hummingbirds at breakfast. It was a little ways outside of LaFortuna, but fun for an adventure. We saw sloths and coud hear howlers a few times. Our friends saw toucans outside theri windows.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
veraz
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2010

Tree Houses was our first stop in Costa Rica on our honeymoon. My husband and I stayed in the house # 3 - the one with the tree growing through it. I agree with all the other positive reviews for this hotel. We loved the concept, loved the breakfast, loved waking up in the morning and feeling like all you have around you is the trees! The houses are very cute, but obviously not luxury. For honeymooners I think 3 nights is plenty to get a good experience of the place - I probably won't stay more than that because after a while you just want a little more amenities and bells and whistles. The only negative thing is that the air conditioner in our house wasn't de-humidifying the air enough, so we felt pretty sticky most of the time inside the house.
As you know the place is fairly isolated, but we loved the fact that it is and it worked out for us since we were out on tours most of the time which I would highly recommend doing. Marc and Lucy were on top of everything arranging the tours for us. We did the El Toro Rafting and All Day Arenal Volcano Adventure and loved both of them. The All Day Volcano Adventure is definitely tiring, but well worth it. We didn't have a car and didn't need it, but I can see how it would have been necessary if we were staying longer.
There is a restaurant within walking distance (0.5 mi at most) with great food and the view of volcano. Marvin - the owner - is has some good stories and was great to chat with. Another restaurant Bella Verona is definitely a must, but not walking distance.
Overall, I definitely will recommend!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank veraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2010

Just returned from my honeymoon in Costa Rica with my wife. Tree Houses was definitely a memorable place!

Pro's:
-Very friendly staff helps with booking tours and recommendations.
-Quiet hotel with spacious property to explore. The Waterfall/River hike on the property allows for plenty of wildlife viewing.
-Breakfast at 8am every morning is amazing.
-Nearby Restaurants Bella Verona and Happyland were probably a couple of the best meals during the entire trip to Costa Rica.

Cons:
-Treehouse #1 is a little cramped, any more than 2 people would make it uncomfortable.
-Located 25-30 minutes from La Fortuna. Taxi costs $35 each way. Definitely recommend renting a car. The road is 2 lanes and is paved the entire way. As with driving in any foreign country, use extra caution as the lane markers and signs are purely "advice" and usually aren't followed by the locals.

My wife and I loved taking day trips around La Fortuna and returning to the peace and quiet of the Tree Houses at night. Perfect place to stay for the more adventurous types.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BMedina84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed July 4, 2010

The tree house hotel was unique and fun. We enjoyed sleeping in the treehouse and watching animals such as monkeys, bats and birds from our porch. Mark and Lucy booked all or our tours beforehand. All the tours were reasonably priced and perfect for children and adults. Mark and Lucy also provided wonderful breakfasts and recommended great restaurants. This was our favorite family vacation to date.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ethan3715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
14.0 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,244 reviews
13.0 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#5 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,844 reviews
13.9 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,261 reviews
13.5 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,816 reviews
4.1 mi away
Heliconias Nature Lodge
Heliconias Nature Lodge
#9 of 62 in Arenal Volcano National Park
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica

Property: Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica
Address: 300 Meters Norte de Cementerio De La Florencia | Santa Clara, San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tree Houses Hotel is a bed and breakfast hotel conveniently located off the main road that runs through La Fortuna and around the Arenal Volcano. We are a short 25 minute drive to the high tourist area. People seek us out with that in mind, to be away from it all but close enough to enjoy all the fun adventure the La Fortuna, Arenal Volcano area has to offer.We have just 5 tree houses (each very private) on 8 acres and we are surrounded by a 70 acre wildlife refuge with a waterfall, pools to swim and a beautiful river. Each tree house features A/C, warm water showers, refrigerators and safes.There are few hotels like this in the world and none other in Costa Rica. There is something so very exciting about spending the night high in the forest canopy, wildlife all around you, safe and cozy in a tree house hotel in Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tree Hotel In Costa Rica
Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing