We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique and wonderful stay with nature!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unique and wonderful stay with nature!”
Reviewed January 3, 2010

After a long and hectic drive to the tree houses hotel, once we pulled into the driveway, everything changed. We didn't expect such a beautiful entrance. We felt like we were entering a high end resort. We were greeted by Mark and Lucy, who really could not be any more welcoming. Not only did they call to make sure a restaurant was still open, but they also took our airline information and followed up on our missing bag.

We stayed in Tree house #3, and the views were absolutely gorgeous! Although it is not large, there was enough room for my husband and I and our two teenage boys. The highlight of our visit was when my husband spotted a sloth right outside our treehouse! It was incredible to see one up close.

We were travelling with two other families with teenagers, and it was so much fun to have the whole place to ourselves. At night, Rolando (the night watchman) took the older boys on a nature walk. They said it was amazing! They really got to practice their Spanish, and spoke Spanish the whole time with him.

We are so happy that Mark booked all of our tours for us. The guides know Mark and Lucy and were all so knowledgable.

The breakfasts were incredible too. We had fresh juice, fruit, coffee, and banana stuffed french toast, crepes, and more. We all loved watching the humming birds and other birds that surrounded the breakfast area.

As far as the location, it took us about 30 minutes to drive to La Fortuna for our tours. It was really not a problem, but we are glad we had a car, and especially one with a GPS. If you are planning on driving, a gps is a necessity.

It is hard for me to think of any negatives, other than you need to remember that these are tree houses, and not a luxury hotel room. They are clean and comfortable, but not fancy. This is not for everyone. However, for our family and the other two families traveling with us, we are so happy that we stayed here. I spoke with a woman on the airplane who stayed at Tabacon and described it like staying at Disney World, with crowds and lines. She said she wished she had stayed at the Tree Houses!

I highly recommend staying at the Tree Houses hotel.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wetravel2Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

924 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    749
    139
    20
    12
    4
See reviews for
350
394
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
1 review
Reviewed December 31, 2009

Our recent stay in the Tree House was the perfect way to begin an incredible vacation in Costa Rica. Mark and Lucy are wonderful hosts and gave us many great suggestions on things to do and see. Since we had a car, traveling to La Fortuna was not an issue; however the drive back to the Tree House at night was an adventure in itself! We went to the restaurant next door for dinner which was perfect. We really enjoyed the breakfast while watching all the birds. All in all, it was a great experience!

Happy New Year, Mark and Lucy! We miss Costa Rica already!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KittyAtlanta_GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, AZ
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2009

Just a quick review to anyone considering a somewhat unconventional stay at Treehouses Hotel in LaFortuna de San Carlos........run, don't walk, to get there as soon as you can!!
How fun was this and how great the memories!! Very comfortable (albeit small,and yes,with air conditioning!), with the amazing Mark and Lucy at the helm!! So gracious, so helpful and so very welcoming and friendly!! Great hiking trail on the premises and minutes from the best Italian meal you will ever have (anywhere!Believe me!) called Belle Verona!! I am going to try to beg for the recipe for their Spaghetti Ragu!! Mark and Lucy....best wishes for the coming New Year....we miss you already!!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snowMesa_AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 21, 2009

our 20th anniversity. no kids for the first time in a long time. no tv. no phone and a house in a tree. its small, but very comfortable. it would have be too small if there were any kids in the loft, but it was great for two. i would have liked a hammock or another chair on the deck. there is a great restaurant next door with authentic tico fare. mark and lucy were awesome hosts. the breakfast was very good. about 30 or so minutes from arenal.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donsuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 21, 2009

There is a waterfall on the grounds of the tree houses property, only a short walk from the tree house itself. This area is so nice and worth the price of staying here. Plus, we experienced very friendly hospality and enjoyed all the wildlife in the area (including hummingbirds, woodpeckers, and other birds while eating a great breakfast each morning).

To book go to their website: http://treehouseshotelcostarica.com/

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karibou82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 15, 2009

These are beautiful, rustic little gems. They are romantic & intimate. Watching the jungle from the bed or sitting out on the deck, it's all great when you're in your own tree house. And underneath your tree house is a beautiful groomed trail through pristine jungle. It's a beautiful hike to waterfalls with pools and a beautiful jungle river - all within the grounds of the hotel. And every morning a lovely breakfast is served at the main house among a wild display of the native birds. It's awesome. Three tree-houses in all and a main house where Mark & Lucy live. They are great hosts to be sure -- friendly, helpful and knowledgeable.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank treehouselover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2009

First, Mark and Lucy were absolutely gracious and friendly. Second, the tree houses hotel is a place one must visit if a unique experience is what you're seeking. Two good friends of mine and I stayed in tree house #3 for three nights and enjoyed every moment of it. Breakfast was carefully prepared and the recipes were creative and tasty. Mark and Lucy made me feel as if I was staying at a luxury resort without all the fluff and pomp. Aside from their excellent service, there's an abundance of wildlife here--especially birdlife. You'll need an extensive bird spotting book to name all the species of birds that live near the main office. Mark's advice to visit Las Lomas del Mapache (within walking distance) was spot on. There we enjoyed cheap, local cuisine. If you're looking to venture a little further out, then La Fortuna is a brief, cheap bus ride away from this hotel. Tree Houses Hotel is a great place to relax in seclusion and escape the tourist areas.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank francesca0477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
14.0 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,226 reviews
13.0 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#5 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,825 reviews
13.9 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,245 reviews
13.5 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,804 reviews
4.1 mi away
Heliconias Nature Lodge
Heliconias Nature Lodge
#8 of 62 in Arenal Volcano National Park
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica

Property: Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica
Address: 300 Meters Norte de Cementerio | Santa Clara, San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tree Houses Hotel is a bed and breakfast hotel conveniently located off the main road that runs through La Fortuna and around the Arenal Volcano. We are a short 25 minute drive to the high tourist area. People seek us out with that in mind, to be away from it all but close enough to enjoy all the fun adventure the La Fortuna, Arenal Volcano area has to offer.We have just 5 tree houses (each very private) on 8 acres and we are surrounded by a 70 acre wildlife refuge with a waterfall, pools to swim and a beautiful river. Each tree house features A/C, warm water showers, refrigerators and safes.There are few hotels like this in the world and none other in Costa Rica. There is something so very exciting about spending the night high in the forest canopy, wildlife all around you, safe and cozy in a tree house hotel in Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tree Hotel In Costa Rica
Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing