We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stop in Costa Rica!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago Illinois
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Stop in Costa Rica!”
Reviewed November 19, 2009

My wife and I stayed there for one night in November. My only complaint is not being able to stay there longer. Mark and Lucy are beyond helpful; they even helped us plan other aspects of our trip well before we arrived! The area sorrounding the hotel is beautiful and representative of Costa Rica in general. The Tree Houses themselves are a unique experience. They are clean and comfortable. The hotel is situated just far enough from the hustle and bustle, but not so far that it becomes an inconvenience to get around. My wife and I are planning a return trip to Costa Rica, and we will definitely be staying at Tree Houses again.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

914 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    739
    139
    20
    12
    4
See reviews for
346
389
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed here for the first two nights of our 10-day trip, and couldn't have been happier. The Treehouses seemed like a "Swiss Family Robinson" adventure, a place you dream of as a kid.. and very romantic for adults. I can't imagine that any kid, or the kid in you, wouldn't love it and remember the place for the rest of your lives. We arrived by cab (about a 2 1/2 hour drive, $90) straight from the San Jose airport. There's an indoor cab counter almost as you are exiting the airport, where you can arrange transport to anywhere you choose, and you pay for the ride there, instead of after the trip. Make sure to have printed directions to the Treehouses though. It worked well for us, as we debated the rental car issue, and decided against it. Rather than waste a night in San Jose, which we discovered at the end of our trip is a dirty, barb-wired city, we just high tailed it out of there immediately. We awoke after our first night at the Treehouses to the sound of howler monkeys, jumped out of bed and watched three monkeys swinging from tree to tree! Our treehouse swayed slightly and creaked, and literally had a large tree trunk passing through our bedroom, a very private porch, which we enjoyed fully, a sleeping loft with two single beds, and was very clean. The shower was hot! We enjoyed breakfast at the main house with dozens of hummingbirds buzzing around two feet away, the hike to their private waterfall with bathroom (saw beautiful butterflies and a poison dart frog there!) and it was the perfect place to begin our trip. Yes, without a car you are slightly stranded.. but who cares, for a couple of nights?! They arranged for a cab to take us to dinner at a restaurant 10 minutes away, and we think the Treehouses is not to be missed!! As a side note, we traveled afterwards with "Interbus" throughout several regions. Small minivans pick you up at your hotel, and transport you directly to your next hotel. They stop for bathroom breaks/food, and sometimes switch you to another minivan for your final destination. Not complicated at all-- we booked our transportation online before the trip, and it worked seamlessly. We decided against a rental car, and were so happy with our decision--many huge potholes, narrow one-lane bridges, switchback mountain roads, accidents, vehicle break-ins, and finding and paying for gas (about $5/gallon). The other couple staying at the Treehouses told us they were stopped by police in their rental car for "speeding", and given the option of a $40 "fine" now or much more at the police station. Happy Trails to you all!
Gwenn & Roger
Boston, MA

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank higwenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wi
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 16, 2009

We have stayed in many five star hotels around the world. We gave this a five star because it was unique and fun!

Mark and Lucy were the perfect host and hostess, and the workers were gracious and
helpful.

We appreciated the fact that it was away from the "touristy" places but close enough so
we could get to many different good restaurnats. The traffic could be heard but we did
not find it distracting.

All in all an enjoyable time and "we shall return".

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WebeWi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2009

we stayed at tree houses for three nights. mark and lucy were great hosts. we loved the home cooked breakfast and birdwatching. the trail to the waterfall is an easy walk and refreshing pools are just waiting for you to jump in. we saw more birds and wildlife on the tree house property in 48 hours than we did on the rest of our nine day visit to costa rica. the tree house itself was very clean and comfortable. unfortunately, it's located approximately 25-30 minutes away from arenal volcano in santa clara, not la fortuna. if you don't have a rental car it gets expensive when you're making trips back and forth every day for tours. also, no restaurants within walking distance. i would suggest making a one or two night stop at tree houses, enjoy the property there, take an afternoon float down the river with pura vida tours, then move on to a location closer to arenal.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LS279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, TN
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2009

We had a fun time staying here for a night on our recent stay, but it is definitely something you want to read all the reviews on here before booking. They have charming little treehouses that make for a unique experience. The service was wonderful and the people running it were absolutely as nice as can be. Having said that, I was a little disappointed with the hiking and wildlife. Our treehouse was close to the road and we had trucks driving by audibly throughout the night. The accommodations were rustic, but we expected that before we got there. Like I said, it was a great experience for us, but definitely read all the reviews on here before you book so that you know what you're getting into. Its not for everyone.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WhitNRano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, Nc
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2009

My daughter (age 9), my friend (30's), and myself (30's) stayed in Tree House # 1 for two nights in October.

First I should say that our hosts, Raenne and Kelly, were lovely people and extremely helpful and friendly. They were a lot of fun to chat to as well. They both hail from the U.S. originally, and are very helpful in getting tours set up.

Tree Houses is an easy 25 minute drive outside La Fortuna. It is definitely easiest if you have a car, and we are so glad we rented a car anyway! It was a breeze with the GPS to get around. We enjoyed splitting our week-long vacation between Tree Houses, Arenal Observatory Lodge, and the Springs Resort and Spa....each had something different to offer. The Tree Houses was wonderful and is a great place to spend at least 2 or more nights of a trip to that area.

The tree houses consist of a main bedroom with a double bed (about 10 feet by 10 feet, or maybe a bit more), a loft with a double bed up a ladder, and two "half baths" - one with the shower and one with the toilet and sink. The tree houses are up two fairly steep flights of stairs, so it's probably best to have at least one reasonably fit person in your party to get the luggage up there! The tree houses are very cute and comfortable, with a fridge and coffee maker (and great coffee), and some room for storage. (It would be a tight fit if you have massive amounts of luggage, but we travel light so it was no problem.) There is an A/C unit in the tree houses, but it did not really get cold air up into the loft area. Still, there was a fan in the loft and it is ventilated, and we (my daughter and I) were comfortable up there. The tree house sways ever so slightly, which I enjoyed!

The porch on the tree house has a picnic table, and it was lovely to sit out there and have coffee. Also, a mosquito coil/incense stick is provided (which smells lovely), so it was nice to sit out on the porch at night too.

The grounds of the Tree Houses feature an easy walk about 1 mile or less to some little pools and a small waterfall. We saw howler monkeys, a laughing hawk, and other asundry wildlife hiking down to the falls. My daughter had a blast exploring the grounds and going for a swim in the waterfalls.

The breakfast is included, and it was very good. You have breakfast on the porch of the reception building, and it is a lovely porch with birdfeeders and hummingbirds zipping about.

The Balsa River is nearby - only a few minutes drive - and Kelly and Raenne arranged a whitewater tour (level 2/3) that was the highlight of my daughter's trip. It was so much fun and it is very close to Tree Houses.

There are some nearby restaurants - I can't recall the names offhand - and the closest one, only a mile away or less, has a lovely view of Poas and Arenal volcanos, as well as great food.

Also, make sure you stop at Leo's Gift Shop a few minutes down the road, which was recommended by Kelly and Raenne. The proprietors are wonderful, and they have parrots and a toucan out back. They let my friend, my daughter and I hold their parrots and feed the toucan, which was fun. They also gave us fresh coconuts to drink/eat! They have a wonderful variety of crafts for sale, from very inexpensive things to more elaborate items.

In short, I would highly recommend Tree Houses to families or couples! They are very pretty and secluded. We hope to go back soon.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona Del Mar California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2009

This is a great unique place that would be fun for the passing family but not great for seeing Arenal Volcano or the activities of town.

Cab drivers do not want to go all the way out to where these tree houses are located and will try to gouge you. I can not stress this enough that the hotel is VERY FAR from anything you may want to do other than sit in your treehouse or hike the property.

The property is quite large and there is a good amount of wildlife. The tree house is clean and the staff is very friendly and prepares a nice breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LivinInCDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
14.0 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,204 reviews
13.9 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,790 reviews
13.0 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#3 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,206 reviews
4.1 mi away
Heliconias Nature Lodge
Heliconias Nature Lodge
#8 of 65 in Arenal Volcano National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
14.0 mi away
Nayara Springs
Nayara Springs
#1 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica

Property: Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica
Address: 300 Meters Norte de Cementerio | Santa Clara, San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tree Houses Hotel is a bed and breakfast hotel conveniently located off the main road that runs through La Fortuna and around the Arenal Volcano. We are a short 25 minute drive to the high tourist area. People seek us out with that in mind, to be away from it all but close enough to enjoy all the fun adventure the La Fortuna, Arenal Volcano area has to offer.We have just 5 tree houses (each very private) on 8 acres and we are surrounded by a 70 acre wildlife refuge with a waterfall, pools to swim and a beautiful river. Each tree house features A/C, warm water showers, refrigerators and safes.There are few hotels like this in the world and none other in Costa Rica. There is something so very exciting about spending the night high in the forest canopy, wildlife all around you, safe and cozy in a tree house hotel in Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tree Hotel In Costa Rica
Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing