We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful start to our Costa Rican experience!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica
Certificate of Excellence
Deal, Kent
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Wonderful start to our Costa Rican experience!”
Reviewed September 3, 2009

We had a fantastic 3 nights with Mark and Lucy at the Tree Houses they made us feel completely at home from the moment we arrived. They were excellent hosts and a mine of useful information. It felt more like visiting friends than staying in a hotel. The pre-visit communication was also really good - quick responses to questions via email and then another email just before we left the UK so we knew they were expecting us. The setting of the tree houses is idyllic - just off the main road but you feel like you are in the middle of the rain forest. The wildlife and was abundant. The tree house we stayed in had a tree growing through the middle of it which gave it even more character. We had a lot of rain dring the time we stayed and Mark and Lucy very kindly offered to dry out our clothes in their dryer before we left. We tried to see the arenal volcano but the cloud was too low for the 3 days we were there but would recommend visiting the Arenal Observatory Lodge http://www.arenalobservatorylodge.com/EN/ - the trip to it is an experience in itself! Make sure you have a 4 x 4! We also visited the butterfly farm and the road is even more extreme but it was worth it! We also went to the Ecotermales thermal springs http://www.northerncostarica.com/eco-termales-hot-springs.html which were wonderful! Breakfasts at the treehouses were varied and delicious fresh fruit, local coffee and juice every morning and then a different local speciality we even had gallo pinto one morning. It was cerainly a really great start to our 3 week trip around Costa Rica. We would definately go again and plan to keep in touch with Mark and Lucy.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pamtDeal_Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

922 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    747
    139
    20
    12
    4
See reviews for
349
393
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey City, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed September 2, 2009

Fantastic experience! My husband, my six year old son, and I loved the Tree House. The hosts, Lucy and Mark, are wonderful! They were the kindest and sweetest people and always willing to help.
The Tree House was truly amazing and emaculate- you have everything you need in the tree house. Most importantly it was very comfortable and lots of fun. Best part was the loft upstairs in the tree house - this is a plus for kids. My son had a blast.
The tours and activities are fantastic. We loved the canopy tour, rafting, and the wild animal rescue center. The great part is that the Tree house can help you book all your activities. Breakfast was delicious and the nearby restaurants was great too.

We will definetly come back to the Tree House. Pura Vida!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickyandNikko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2009

My partner and I recently stayed at the Treehouses for 3 nights. Mark and Lucy are exceedingly kind and helpful; Mark especially seemed to really enjoy talking to the guests and offering whatever advice he could. He was great about helping us map out driving routes and estimating travel times. The treehouse itself really is a stilted cabin as no trees are used to support it, but it was great and fun all the same. It was a bit cramped (treehouse #1), at two people because the double bed takes up about 85% of the floor space, but the bathroom and shower room are adequate in size (there was a second bed lofted above, but we didn't use that space for our suitcases because it was inconvenient, so we were constantly stepping over them on the lower level). It was nice to have a refrigerator, coffee maker, and a safe in the room. The trails within the property are well maintained and a lovely option for things to do. The drive into La Fortuna is fine and worth it for not staying amongst all the souvenir shops and tour-touts. My only small complaint would be that I didn't think the cleaning/serving staff was too stellar. I would definitely highly recommend this hotel, largely because of the uniqueness and because of Mark and Lucy as gracious, friendly, and attentive hosts; I include the minor drawbacks because I trust that they will be addressed since it is apparent that Mark/Lucy want their guests to have a nice stay. All specific, minor problems raised during our stay were immediately remedied, but overall issues such as housekeeping would require a more through approach to address. Additionally, Mark was extremely helpful prior to our stay in answering questions and providing directions; the personalized service really made us feel welcome and excited about our stay.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mexicanmadeline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, AL
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 26, 2009

My husband and I were recently married on the West Coast of Costa Rica in July. We spent a week on the beach and then we headed inland to stay at the Tree Houses Hotel near La Fortuna. The ride inland from the West was such a scenic adventure as we rose up and up into the cloud forest, making our way to our treehouse. We arrived late (10pm) but the hotel manager and his wife(and two cute dogs) greeted us enthusiastically. Every morning we had the most delicious Costa Rican breakfast and ate with our hosts and fellow hotel residents. There are only a few treehouses on the property, so you feel like a little family, and everything is very clean, quant, and private. The managers of the hotel were so helpful, sweet, and knowledgeable; they helped get us booked on an excursion each and every day--we went ziplining, toured Arenal volcano, went river rapid riding, and had a relaxing evening at the spa. And booking everything was such a breeze, the hotel took care of it all; and all we had to do was show up. Our stay at the treehouses hotel is an experience and adventure we will never forget.

Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank aareyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2009

Excellent location in Santa Elena, less than a block from a helpful agency that will arrange all of your local adventures (day hikes, night tours, ziplining, sky bridges, trips to Arenal, etc.). Very clean rooms at a good price. Just as a note, the photos of people in actual treehouses are posted here incorrectly, as this hotel gets its name from the tree it is built around. Nevertheless, a great find.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tda1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramat Hasharon, Israel
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2009

We stayed at the Treehouse in August 2009. The hotel has only 7 rooms, on the top floor of a three story building with restaurants and tour offices (and a BIG tree) on the lower floors. Its quite a place. Very nice rooms. The tree is incredible, and the restaurants very interesting. Breakfast was great, lots of options, and incredible cappucino with monkeys, pigs and dragons created in the foam/coffee mix. The location is perfect. Right in the middle of town, with lots of eating and touring options handy. The rooms are big. They can sleep two couples comfortably.

The only downside is the noise. On our first night (sunday) there was a big festival outside with horses doing some fancy footwork, and then a (very good!) concert. It all ended at about 11pm, but we were all tired and managed to sleep through the concert which seemed to be inside our bedroom. As others have said, on the weekend there is a lot of noise late.

Still, a very nice place to stay and a great experience.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GadiZooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Lauderdale, FL
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 16, 2009

How great to actually live and sleep in a treehouse and we loved our time in Treehouse #3 with an actual tree growing right though the room. We have a 7 year old boy who was in heaven to be staying in such a cool place and he quickly became the best sloth spotter ever. And there were several sloths to see. We also loved the hummingbirds at the mainhouse and the tranquil atmosphere of the whole place. Lucy and Mark were great hosts even before we arrived with providing excellent correspondence and advice and ideas on what to do for side trips. We enjoyed the breakfasts and meeting the other treehouse residents and comparing notes. The walk to the waterfall was really nice but would have been easier without a 7 year old who is used to flat terrain but he made it (in other words, he didn't get left at the waterfall!)

We ended up doing the 1/2 day Balsa River trip (class 2/3) and it was excellent and well worth it. We were not sure is a 7 year old could do but it was fine and there were kids younger than he was. We later went into La Fortuna to pick up the pictures on CD from Wave Adventures and really enjoyed eating at the Lava Lounge which was recommended by Mark and Lucy.

If anyone is looking for a unique place to stay, this is it. Not often does one get to fulfill their childhood dreams of staying in a treehouse. Pura Vida!!

Debra, Chip & Michael from Davie, Florida

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
14.0 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,222 reviews
13.0 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#5 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,821 reviews
13.9 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,235 reviews
13.5 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,801 reviews
4.1 mi away
Heliconias Nature Lodge
Heliconias Nature Lodge
#8 of 62 in Arenal Volcano National Park
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica

Property: Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica
Address: 300 Meters Norte de Cementerio | Santa Clara, San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tree Houses Hotel is a bed and breakfast hotel conveniently located off the main road that runs through La Fortuna and around the Arenal Volcano. We are a short 25 minute drive to the high tourist area. People seek us out with that in mind, to be away from it all but close enough to enjoy all the fun adventure the La Fortuna, Arenal Volcano area has to offer.We have just 5 tree houses (each very private) on 8 acres and we are surrounded by a 70 acre wildlife refuge with a waterfall, pools to swim and a beautiful river. Each tree house features A/C, warm water showers, refrigerators and safes.There are few hotels like this in the world and none other in Costa Rica. There is something so very exciting about spending the night high in the forest canopy, wildlife all around you, safe and cozy in a tree house hotel in Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tree Hotel In Costa Rica
Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing