We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Excellent doesn't even begin to describe...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica
Certificate of Excellence
Carrollton, Texas
1 review
“Excellent doesn't even begin to describe...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2009

The amazing experience my fiancé (now wife) and I had at the Tree Houses Hotel, Costa Rica in Santa Clara outshines any vacation we've taken together thus far. Clean, air conditioned rooms,amazing property and a great breakfast to get you started for your day's adventures in La Fortuna and other points of interest.

Ours was the first marriage at the Tree houses Hotel, Mark and Lucy (The caretakers and sometimes our saviors) went above and beyond any and all expectations we may have had. We were married on July 11, 2009 down by the small waterfall and pools just off one of the trails on the property. The beauty of the location was only out done by how incredibly beautiful my wife looked in her wedding dress. Mark and Lucy drove us and our photographer to the location in their Hyundai Galloper (affectionately known as "Tree House #4/Honeymoon suite. More on that later), spruced up the area and were our impromptu witnesses, as we had no family in attendance, they were very welcome. After we finished our pictures, we were driven back to the our tree house for a few more shots and then off to our wedding day misadventures in La Fortuna.

After a small delay at the Ecoglide (Zipline!!!), our misadventures began with a trip to La Fortuna waterfall. After a rather rough, bumpy and lengthy drive uphill to the waterfall we arrived at 5 p.m. only to find that the trail to the waterfall closed at – 5 p.m.! We then went to our base of operations while in La Fortuna, "The Lava lounge," where we were told by an American expatriate about a fantastic view of the Arenal volcano eruption, just 20 minutes up the road and to go after dusk for the best view. Well the drive was 40 minutes up yet another bumpy pothole plagued road and halfway up, we noticed that our fuel light was on and no gas station in sight. We were told by a tour guide that the only gas station was back in La Fortuna – 40 minutes back the way we came!! After coasting into La Fortuna and getting gas, we found ourselves back at the Lava Lounge for some much needed liquid relaxation and a bite to eat. Highly recommend the Lava Lounge. Great food!

Upon our return to the hotel, we found that due to a power outage we could not open the gate with the remote. Grabbing what I think are the keys to our rental car, my new bride and myself make our way to our
Tree house where by candle light, we find that Mark and Lucy have left
a chilled bottle of champagne and two glasses! How cool was that!!! My wife wanted to take a picture of the generous gift and she asked me for the car keys. Reaching into my pocket, I realize the only keys are the keys to the room. Returning to the car, we see that the camera is in the passenger seat and the keys are, well, right where I left them, IN THE IGNITION!

Mark, Lucy, my wife and myself will never be the ring leaders of an auto theft ring.

We tried very unsuccessfully to get into the car with a coat hanger (works in the movies right?). We called the car rental office and they couldn't send someone until the morning and the office was 3.5 hrs away! Fearing that the car would be broken into or worse, stolen, we had our first disagreement as husband and wife, then opted to stay with the vehicle, sadly parked on the driveway of the property until sun up (which in Costa Rica is 5 a.m.) just 4 short hours away.

Mark and Lucy came to the rescue of their problem charges once again by backing their Hyundai Galloper up to the other side of the gate so we would have something to stand vigil in. So that's how we spent our wedding night, reclining in separate seats in Tree House #4/ The Honeymoon Suite!

The Tree House Hotel Santa Clara, Costa Rica will be the most memorable experience of our lives. Largely due to the warmth and hospitality of our host, the accommodations and beauty of the property.

Do not miss out on this folks!

Mark, Lucy, Bejuco, Minnie B, muchas gracias

PURA VIDA!

Shawn and Megan P.
Carrollton, Texas

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Galloper_Treehouse4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    691
    131
    21
    12
    3
See reviews for
326
361
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2009

It was great fun staying in a tree house (!) with its own comfortable porch and seating/picnic table, beautiful (yet secluded) views from the heights, and grounds that are a pleasure to stroll through with the reward of a waterfall and pools at the end (not to mention our butterfly and exotic frog encounters). Our hosts Lucy and Mark served a nice breakfast both mornings of our stay and gave helpful tips and advice regarding our adventures. Breakfast time also brought the other guests together for conversation about the prior and future excursions. All very easy, intimate, comfortable, relaxing, and peaceful. If you're considering staying here, we say "Go For It!"
A video tour is also (currently) posted at YouTube, at the library of "richcurtaa".
Enjoy your trip!

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank richcurtaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2009

Tree houses was one of the best experiences in Costa Rica! You were really up in the trees....it's really peaceful and quiet, and very private! Our hosts, Mark and Lucy were wonderful and very helpful! They helped us book all of our tours around the area, and had great suggestions on things to do! The food is great, and the rooms are very comfortable! Will definitely come back next time I'm in CR!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chocaffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2009

It was great fun staying in a tree house (!) with its own comfortable porch and seating/picnic table, beautiful (yet secluded) views from the heights, and grounds that are a pleasure to stroll through with the reward of a waterfall and pools at the end (not to mention our butterfly and frog encounters). Our hosts Lucy and Mark served a nice breakfast both mornings of our stay and gave helpful tips and advice regarding our adventures. Breakfast time also brought the other guests together for conversation about the day before and the day ahead. All very easy, imtimate, comfortable, relaxing, and peaceful. If you're considering staying here, we say "Go For It!"
A video tour is also (currently) posted at YouTube, at the library of "richcurtaa".
Enjoy your trip!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank richcurtaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2009

Our kids (2 girls, 5 and 7) simply loved the tree houses. They even got their own loft to sleep in by themselves. What an adventure! Our tree house was clean and comfortable, and the managers were super-friendly and gave us some invaluable help in planning our stay in the Arenal area, pointing us to some very appropriate kid-friendly tours in town. (Alberto's Horses was a great find!) There's also a nifty little restaurant a minute away with a breathtaking view of the volcano and the countryside, and great pina coladas. The only reason I can't give it 5 stars is that the house was cramped with 4 of us, and it's about 30 minutes from La Fortuna, which was a bit of a nuisance when we had early-morning plans. Still, it was a great place to land, and we're glad we chose it!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orlando, florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2009

He just recently got back from Costa Rica where we spent one night at the Treehouse Hotel. The proprietors, Mark and Lucy, were so helpful and lovely. The accommodations for my husband, young daughter and myself were well appointed, clean, and charmingly rustic and authentic. I totally recommend staying here without any concerns or doubts. Unfortunately, we didn't get a chance to see any actual sloths or monkeys, but we did hear them in the morning and it was a lot of fun for everyone! We also enjoyed all the other animals such as frogs and the two cute dogs that make this place feel like home. Lastly, the food was fantastic! Thank you Mark and Lucy for a memorable and wonderful stay on our Costa Rican adventure. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank indiemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2009

I just got back from an amazing trip to CR. The Treehouses were our first stop! The hotel is very easy to get to. You are a little outside of the Arenal area which gives you the best of both worlds... just a short, direct 30 minute drive gets you to the arenal area and you get the best of both worlds.

The trails are great but be prepared to sweat!!!

Breakfast was delicious! mark and Lucy were fabulous at helping us get acclimated to CR. We will definately be back!

Pura Vida!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank salsamari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
13.8 mi away
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
#2 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,000 reviews
12.7 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#6 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,712 reviews
13.7 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Nayara Springs
Nayara Springs
#1 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
9.8 mi away
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
#4 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
13.5 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica

Property: Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica
Address: 300 Meters Norte de Cementerio | Santa Clara, San Carlos, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tree Houses Hotel is a bed and breakfast hotel conveniently located off the main road that runs through La Fortuna and around the Arenal Volcano. We are a short 25 minute drive to the high tourist area. People seek us out with that in mind, to be away from it all but close enough to enjoy all the fun adventure the La Fortuna, Arenal Volcano area has to offer.We have just 5 tree houses (each very private) on 8 acres and we are surrounded by a 70 acre wildlife refuge with a waterfall, pools to swim and a beautiful river. Each tree house features A/C, warm water showers, refrigerators and safes.There are few hotels like this in the world and none other in Costa Rica. There is something so very exciting about spending the night high in the forest canopy, wildlife all around you, safe and cozy in a tree house hotel in Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tree Hotel In Costa Rica
Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing