We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Unique lodging with Wildlife and Great Hosts” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica
Save
You added Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica to your Saves list
Certificate of Excellence
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Unique lodging with Wildlife and Great Hosts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

We just returned from a week in Costa Rica. We began our trip at the Tree Houses Hotel - I would have given 4 1/2 stars if I could have! I want to start off by saying, as with all reviews on Trip Advisor, it's important that you understand the perspective of those that are giving negative reviews. This is definitely not a place for just anyone - it is not a typical "hotel". It is a Tree House, and therefore it will inherently be more rustic than a standard hotel by nature. And that is the exact reason we booked there - it's a one-of-a-kind experience with the added bonus of super nice hosts - Mark and Lucy (and their great staff AND adorable dogs!)

It is such a fantastic place - the tree houses are well built and well appointed, considering the fact that it is 20-30 ft in the air. There is an air-conditioning unit and a full bathroom, as well as a small refrigerator. We stayed in the Sloth house, which was the only one available when I booked. It was close to the road, and yes, we did hear more road noise than I would have liked (which is the main reason I didn't give this 5 stars). But the other tree houses farther into the property are much quieter. My family (my husband and 2 boys - ages 14 and 11) absolutely loved it there. We kept calling it "fancy camping". There were a few tiny ants and a couple of moths but no crazy bugs. We had a great family of fruit bats that "protected" our tree house that were fun to watch and not disruptive. The boys slept up in the loft which was plenty cool with the A/C and the fan. They loved it up there.

My husband and I really enjoyed the coffee service in the morning (they even asked us how we took our coffee when we checked in so they brought milk and sugar with it each day) - we would have our coffee and enjoy the sounds of the rain forest before breakfast. The breakfasts were incredible - especially the Huevos Rancheros in ramekins - I could have eaten 10!

The birds around the property were spectacular - lots of hummingbirds and other tropical birds. We saw sloths as well (no monkeys but they are usually around). We had a great trek to the waterfall on the property that was beautiful and the boys swam and played in the pool area under the waterfall. It is true that there isn't a ton going on in the exact area but Mark and Lucy are excellent at making recommendations. We had a few hours before our Arenal hike and Mark directed us to the local college where we saw crocodiles and where they were, lucky for us, having a little local craft fair so we were able to get some great souvenirs and meet local crafts people. I really value getting off the beaten path and meeting locals, so it was perfect. I do speak Spanish so it made things a bit easier but you can certainly get by in this area with English.

There is a grocery store minutes from the hotel that we visited daily for water and snacks. And we ate twice at Happy Land which we loved (ask for a marker to write on their walls)! Lastly, our hike with Juan Carlos to Arenal and then the visit to Baldi Springs was excellent! Juan Carlos was a fantastic guide and we learned so much about the plants and animals from the area (including the crazy plant that numbs your mouth!), saw some spectacular views of the volcano, and enjoyed a relaxing time at the springs (which the boys LOVED). All in all a perfect way to start our trip. Thank you Mark and Lucy for a great experience!

Room Tip: Ask for a tree house away from the road if possible. Otherwise, just be prepared for some truck nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TravlrFromMass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

829 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    667
    128
    20
    12
    2
See reviews for
321
345
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Our amazing experience to the tree house began when we got picked up from the airport by Jo whom Mark and Lucy so kindly arranged for us. Jo was great, stopping along the way and explaining as much as she could I would highly recommend using their transportation company as it was most importantly safe and a great drive! Once we got their we were taken aback by not only the grounds and cute main house but of of the warmth and hospitality that just radiated from both Mark and Lucy. We stayed four magical days in the frog tree house and our grandparents stayed in the sloth. First off the grounds are massive and stunning! If you are a hiker, nature, plant, animal lover this place is for you. We did the hike down to the waterfall and river all the while listening to the sounds of birds and the occasional monkey (which we never saw but boy was he loud). The waterfall and river was just delightful. The breakfasts every morning were out of this world five star gourmet treats. Everyday it it something different and intricate, hands down the best breakfast in all of Costa Rica if not the world. The night hikes with Ronaldo are not to be missed...I was fortunate enough to go out with him by myself (my jet lagged travel companions chose the comfy beds instead). We hiked for 3 hours primarily in search of sloth which we finally found but along the way I was just amazed at the creatures he could discover. Frogs were his passion and he even spotted a green tree frog (my favorite!!) which I got to handle and a poison dart frog which I did not touch, among many other things. The accommodations are authentic and cozy, beautifully constructed charming tree houses especially the porch where every morning I enjoyed my freshly delivered amazing coffee and the sights and sounds of birds. AC blew cool, the water was fresh and the beds were comfy. The best part of our trip though would be Mark and Lucy, not only will they provide you with most hospitality and bend over backwards to plan everything for you but they were like seeing old friends. Not only is their customer service and personalized service unparalleled but just talking to them and learning about them was a pleasure! You really felt like a part of the tree house family. They coordinated all of our activities which were the best we did in our whole 2 weeks in CR. The trip to the waterfall and the volcano with a stop at the hot springs is a must! The tour itself was amazing but our guide was even better, a walking encyclopedia of Costa Rica with a great heart. Our favorite excursion was the all day private ATV tour and all I can say is WOW!! We left around and 10am and think got back everyone then 10pm. The tour is completely tailored to you and we are adventurist so we took full advantage. Going through rivers, steeps hills, cattle crossings, lush sugar cane fields and finally ending at Eco-Termales the best hot spring I have ever been. A paradise tucked into the jungle that mostly only locals know about. The tour company was amazing but the guide even better, Danny Vega really showed us a good time. Another night I got a massage in the jungle booked by Mark and Lucy of course and it was the most amazing massage after a day of 8 mile hiking. Bottom line the Tree House Hotel is simply a magical place made better by the wonderful hosts, Mark & Lucy! If you want not only a beautiful place but to be surrounded by beautiful people do not miss this place, they truly made our visit one of a kind! We can not wait to return!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank meghan g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Park, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights at Tree Houses Hotel in July 2014. It was a fantastic experience! We are a family of 5 and have 3 kids, 9,7, and 3. We stayed in Colibri and it fit us perfectly! The tree house was awesome! We LOVED hanging out on the porch and watching for birds and animals. We stopped at a local fruit stand the first day and got tons of fruit to eat at our tree house for snacks and also put some out on the little pedestal for the jungle animals. We ended up with a nightly "friend". The first night a Kinkajou came and ate the mango we set out and wanted more so we gave him all we had. He returned every nigh. He was so much fun to interact with! We also loved the BEAUTIFUL hike to the waterfall and the night hike with Rolando. Rolando is soooo nice and very knowledgeable and friendly. He showed us sloths and red-eyed tree frogs and other poison dart frogs and all kinds of birds and lots of other things. We saw tons of leaf-cutter ants and other jungle wildlife as well. The breakfast every morning was absolutely outstanding. I seriously couldn't say better things about it. The owners are fantastic. They are very friendly and had great customer service. My son had a minor health issue while we were there and the wife went out of her way late at night to help us with a cheerful attitude to make sure all was well. We felt very well taken care of. I would definitely recommend this place to someone looking for an authentic, clean jungle experience.

Room Tip: We stayed in Colibri and thought it was great! Put out Mango slices on the pedastal and you may see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea Sherman T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

What a great setting in the heart of a rain forest. Mark and Lucy are wonderful hosts and it really feels like you're staying in one of their bungalows. The concierge Yolandra was delightful at checkin and very helpful with local customs and favourite restaurants. (Try out Happy Land - seriously. Marlon was very good at helping pick out a fabulous dinner.)

Rolando is gifted at finding wild creatures (for photos) during the night hike.
Oh. And these bungalows are 30+ feet up! We had torrential rain at night that was surprisingly soothing at interesting. (Dry but humid during the day; but not oppressively so.)

Great value and wonderful staff. (Have Mark book your local excursions... You'll be happy you did.)

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Tyson N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
132 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

We stayed her for 4 nights with an 8 year old boy. I can't emphasize enough how awesome this place was! Only 7 treehouses, so not tons of people. AWESOME staff. Mark and Lucy the owners were super helpful and friendly, as was Yolanda who checked us in. Rolando does night tours... Don't miss this! The rooms have AC. Loads of animals on the property including parrots, sloths, and howler monkeys... Even blue jeans dart frogs! Best breakfasts ever... Super friendly cook. Some things to note:
- these are actual treehouses. They are very high up. If you have very young children you would need to be careful of them on and around the stairs and porch.
- no drawers for storage. We were in the monkey house and there was a bench for luggage. If you are a heavy packer, it could be a problem (there is room for luggage under the beds). We did not have an issue with ours, but we only take carry on.
- the river and waterfall are neat to see, but if you are not physically fit, it can be a bit tiring as there are several hills. We had a young child with us and had no issues. This is where we saw the monkeys
- Happyland was great for dinner and lunch. Name sounds weird but it was good food, and is frequented by locals!
- the private ATV tour Mark arranged was fabulous! I would recommend it over a group tour.


Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Disneygroupie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
165 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We were treated to sights of incredible birds, Tucan, Collared aracari, red headed woodpecker, kite, many many kinds of small birds, yellow finch, blue tanager, red tanager. Please excuse this writer who do not know names of birds, yet adore watching them. Also untold hummingbirds.

Mark and Lucy are the best hoteliers. They place hot tea or coffee at 5:30 a.m. On porches of each of the seven tree houses, plus a cut plantain on a small feeder platform, to enable us to watch the early morning birds feed. Then at 8 a.m. We all go to the open, but roofed, dining area to watch even more birds on several feeders, and hummingbird feeders.
Every day, the breakfast menu changes, we were treated to real Ticos food. Delicious!

The night walk led by their own guide was fantastic. He was very knowledgeable, pointed out frogs, and let the kids touch them, and even placed the frogs on heads and shoulders.

Two sloths were on the property. We had best view of a mother and baby, by night, and by day, the mother put on a big show scratching herself...all for us...and they say sloths don't move fast, well, they do, with the hand, scratching her chin, her arm, her leg. We also saw a brown one, hanging on all fours, on the electrical overhead wire in the highway.

The rain was something else, as we were there, 3 days ago, on the rainy season, the tropical rain just poured. It was a great experience to feel the heavy rain, the thunder and lightening, etc. none of us, slept through the night, but we are on holiday! So we are not complaining.

I put down sleep quality was excellent, the bed. The weather is not Mark's responsibility.
It is for the children we came and we, and they were not disappointed. Hope to return some day.
Thanks to the team who made our holiday so memorable .

Room Tip: The noise level was loud because the birds chirp all the time, these were music to our ears, also at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mimi g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

The tree house was our favorite place we stayed. The accomodations are very comfortable. The screened in shower was super cool. The grounds are lovely and we enjoyed a nice hike down to the waterfall. The night tour on the grounds was a lot fun too. The best part of the stay was the delicious breakfast we were served every morning. Amazing food! Definitely worth the drive to La Fortuna to experience the tree houses.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tessammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
13.8 mi away
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
#2 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 2,912 reviews
9.8 mi away
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
#5 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 453 reviews
13.9 mi away
Nayara Springs
Nayara Springs
#1 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 2,341 reviews
12.7 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,867 reviews
12.7 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#6 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 1,689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica

Property: Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica
Address: 300 Meters Norte de Cementerio | Santa Clara, San Carlos, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tree Houses Hotel is a bed and breakfast hotel conveniently located off the main road that runs through La Fortuna and around the Arenal Volcano. We are a short 25 minute drive to the high tourist area. People seek us out with that in mind, to be away from it all but close enough to enjoy all the fun adventure the La Fortuna, Arenal Volcano area has to offer.We have just 5 tree houses (each very private) on 8 acres and we are surrounded by a 70 acre wildlife refuge with a waterfall, pools to swim and a beautiful river. Each tree house features A/C, warm water showers, refrigerators and safes.There are few hotels like this in the world and none other in Costa Rica. There is something so very exciting about spending the night high in the forest canopy, wildlife all around you, safe and cozy in a tree house hotel in Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tree Hotel In Costa Rica
Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing