We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a fun sleeping in a tree house!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What a fun sleeping in a tree house!”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

We were looking forward to sleeping in a tree house and seeing monkeys on our trip to Costa Rica. We were so excited when the howler monkeys greeted us upon arrival. One night there was a thunderstorm. How fun to lie in bed and listen to the rain and thunder. Mornings start early here at 6am with fresh Costa Rican coffee delivered to your porch plus a banana placed on the feeder to attract the birds. Then, a beautiful and delicious breakfast is served at 8am. The grounds are great for short or long hikes. Don't miss the night tour with Rolando. He found our group 2 frogs, a slot and a forest full of birds nesting for the night.

Please note: this hotel is about a 30 minute drive to Volcano Arenal and the sights there. Best if you have your own car. Only a few restaurants in town, but don't miss Happy Land and its iguana.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paula P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

914 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    739
    139
    20
    12
    4
See reviews for
346
389
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Smith, Arkansas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014

This place was exactly what I had expected and hoped for. For us spoiled Americans, this was roughing it in some ways. But we kayak and camp a lot, so this was great to us. We stayed here for 5 nights and I highly recommend it. We came to CR to get away from reality for 10 days, so I allowed no cell phones and no computers on this trip. And no "THE WORLD DIDN'T STOP TURNING"!!! Mark does an excellent job of booking all of your daily adventures and transportation if you don't rent a car. The coffee at your door every morning was very nice. The breakfast each morning was fantastic. Especially the coconut french toast "WOW". And the night walk with Rolondo was cool and recommended as well. This really is a tree house. So if your after total luxury, this is not your stop. But if your looking for great family fun and adventure, then it's time to make your reservation.

Room Tip: It's a tree house. Just pick one and enjoy the great outdoors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

We stayed for six nights in Yiguirro house. It is well away from the road, so we had no traffic noise. It was clean, well-stocked, and very comfortable. Mark asked us every day if there was anything we needed. We were given plenty of information about places to eat, gas stations, shops, etc. And Mark is really good at drawing maps!

We enjoyed the hammocks, the rocking chairs on the deck, and watching the birds come to eat fruit on the side of the deck. Yes, there were a few bugs, but it is in the middle of the jungle. It could not have been cleaner in those surroundings.

The breakfast was amazing every day, and we were always asked if we wanted seconds, more coffee, etc. And our daughter loved the hot chocolate with whipped cream made for the kids. We took advantage of the games at the breakfast area, and had fun sitting on our deck playing Pass the Pig when it was raining too hard to hike.

The night hike was very fun, and Rolando made sure our daughter learned a lot and enjoyed it. We also enjoyed the hike to the waterfall, especially because we conversed with the howler monkeys most of the way.

We were very glad to have a car while staying here. It is 30 minutes from La Fortuna, and there are only two lunch or dinner options within walking distance (one being delivered pizza).

Something that made our trip easy to plan is receiving nearly immediate responses to e-mails. All our questions were answered, tours booked, and directions sent well ahead of time, so all we had to do was get there and enjoy it.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jennhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
86 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

This is not a 5-star resort. And you're not paying the rates of a 5-star resort. The draw is the uniqueness of the tree houses. It's a great place to stay but be aware of what you're getting.

Mark was incredibly helpful in planning tours and transfers prior to our arrival and all of the tour operators he used were great. The humming birds are incredible. I've never seen so many and such a variety. The breakfasts were amazing. We had early tours both morning we were there and they had breakfast ready early for us with no problem. Our daughter has celiac disease and they were very accommodating and provided alternatives to the regular offerings for her. Thank you for that! Rolando, who is the night guard and does a night tour, is very informative. He provided us all with flashlights and was able to find a sloth and nesting birds for us within the first few minutes or our hike. Unfortunately it started to pour and we were tired from traveling and arriving that afternoon so we wimped out on the rest of the tour. The waterfall hike is scenic (the kids loved feeding the cows mangos along the way and we saw a blue jean frog) but the hike back is pretty strenuous, which Mark had warned us about. I loved sitting in the Adirondack chairs on the wrap around porch and listening the the sounds of the jungle.

Be aware: these are tree houses. We were in the Sloth, which actually has a tree growing through the middle of it. There are bugs. Everywhere. The upstairs and bathroom are screened only (no glass windows at all) so the bugs find their way in. There were roaches in the bathroom at night, but they run into hiding as soon as you turn the lights on. Just don't leave your toothbrush sitting out! The shower has an instant heater. The higher the pressure, the lower the temperature. You won't get a nice, American-type shower here but I loved the outdoor feel of the shower so it was an ok trade-off for me. In the Sloth, the space is small. There's not much room for your suitcases, even though our kids (12,15) took their things up in the loft. Also, we were there in June (rainy season) and there was nowhere to hang wet clothing to dry out. The air conditioning is a plus and minus. It helps take some of the dampness out of the air but it's noisy; good to drown out the road noise but it also drowned out the jungle noises, which I did want to hear! Comfort won out over atmosphere so the air stayed on. It's about a 30-45 min drive to the activities in Arenal. We didn't mind the drive because we enjoyed looking at the beautiful scenery and talking with our drivers about the area. I wouldn't recommend the restaurant that Mark recommended that's within walking distance. Most of the food we had was good but the walk is on a busy road with no sidewalk. I wish we had just taken a cab to Happyland, which I've heard good things about.

Don't stay here if you are looking for luxury. Do stay here if you are looking for a unique, affordable experience and friendly service. We stayed for 2 nights and loved it but were ready to move on. I wouldn't recommend it for more than a couple of nights unless you prefer more rugged accommodations.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank FItraveler2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

The Tree House Hotel was great!! Mark, Lucy and the whole staff were great! Our tree house was small but definitely enough room for us, it was cozy, clean and comfortable. I absolutely loved sitting on the porch having my morning coffe...which was delivered to our tree house each morning. The grounds were gorgeous and well kept. we visited the private waterfall and swimming pool. We saw a three toed sloth, monkeys, Egrits, beautiful frogs (and other critters) on the property. The breakfast was typical food and delicious.
I would definitely come back for a stay at the Tree House Hotel. thank you for a wonderful time.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Frog Tree House, it was beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maegan Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

I am very late to review this hotel as I thought it was published earlier, but, better late than never. We stayed in Tree Houses as a family of four, two summers ago. Could not have asked for a better trip. The room was large enough and the kids stayed in the loft area above us. Air conditioner worked great and the morning coffee was a little present my husband and I looked forward to each day.

Breakfasts were wonderful. Service was great. Grounds were fun to walk. Not sure I would do the hike to the "waterfall again as it was really hot, and the water did not look appealing to get into, but it was fine to have a destination walk from our hotel.

The hotel is pretty secluded but we did a couple day trips from there and had loads of fun. The owners were easy to talk to and helped us with any questions. Ordered Pizza one night just because we did not have a car and the hotel is not close touch. We did walk to the one restaurant close by. Had to walk on the road but it was fine. The night critter hike was fun too. The morning we left we watched a sloth climb from one tree to the next. Spent an hour watching him and it was such a highlight of the hotel.

Previously reviewers commented on the noise. I am a really light sleeper and was I never bothered but any road noise. Highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babriatis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014

My family (2 kids 13 and 15 and my husband) stayed here last week and it was fantastic!! The tree houses are wonderful, very clean and the setting is fantastic. We had a blast sitting our our porch watching the birds, bats and monkeys. We stayed in the Sloth unit which my sons loved because they climbed a steep ladder to a loft where they slept :)! Mark was fantastic helping us to arrange our outings and transportation. Breakfast was delicious and the entire staff was friendly and helpful. Rolando's night hike is not to be missed. He was sweet enough to bring some tree frogs to our tree house one night for my boys to hold! The grounds are gorgeous and we hiked to the river. On the way we enjoyed all the vegetation, birds (including tucans!), sloths, frogs and had a great encounter with a family of howler monkeys (they even had babies!!). Cannot recommend this place enough!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
14.0 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,204 reviews
13.9 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,793 reviews
13.0 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#4 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,208 reviews
4.1 mi away
Heliconias Nature Lodge
Heliconias Nature Lodge
#8 of 65 in Arenal Volcano National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
14.0 mi away
Nayara Springs
Nayara Springs
#1 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica

Property: Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica
Address: 300 Meters Norte de Cementerio | Santa Clara, San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tree Houses Hotel is a bed and breakfast hotel conveniently located off the main road that runs through La Fortuna and around the Arenal Volcano. We are a short 25 minute drive to the high tourist area. People seek us out with that in mind, to be away from it all but close enough to enjoy all the fun adventure the La Fortuna, Arenal Volcano area has to offer.We have just 5 tree houses (each very private) on 8 acres and we are surrounded by a 70 acre wildlife refuge with a waterfall, pools to swim and a beautiful river. Each tree house features A/C, warm water showers, refrigerators and safes.There are few hotels like this in the world and none other in Costa Rica. There is something so very exciting about spending the night high in the forest canopy, wildlife all around you, safe and cozy in a tree house hotel in Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tree Hotel In Costa Rica
Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing