We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experience of a Lifetime”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Experience of a Lifetime”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Words cannot express how happy I was to find out about this hotel on Trip Advisor. If you want a memory you will never forget, stay here, even if for just a few nights.

Mark and Lucy are incredible, and are great hosts. They will help you with whatever you need, including day trips, and shuttle services. My husband and I stayed in the Toucan in March for a "honeymoon" before traveling to Manuel Antonio for our wedding later in the week.

Food was excellent, and if you want to get to La Fortuna, you can either take a taxi for $35 or the public bus for $2. The bus didn't take long and was very clean, so do not be discouraged from taking it!

The only downside to the tree house was that there wasn't any place to unpack, so we had to put our clothes on the floor. But seriously, who cares?!?

Another thing is that I get motion sick, and Toucan is the house that rocks the most with the wind. However, I barely even felt it, so do not let that discourage you.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Toucan, and honestly I don't know why people make such a big deal about the roa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KMarshall7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

926 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    751
    139
    20
    12
    4
See reviews for
350
396
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2014

We (family of 4, kids 6 and 8 years old) stayed in the Sloth treehouse for two nights in March and loved our experience. This was the first stop on our trip and a wonderful welcome to the country. The Sloth treehouse is close to the road, and you do hear some traffic noise, but I honestly don't think it would be that much different in most of the other treehouses - and the traffic noise was not sufficient to keep us awake or spoil our stay. The kids loved having their own loft area and had no trouble with the ladder. We did not have a car and did not miss it - we walked to the restaurant next door once, which has a spectacular view of Arenal, and we also had pizza delivered to us, which we ate in the Rancho while playing some of the on site board games. The fridge in the room allowed us to keep our leftovers. The on site drink fridge was convenient. On our first day here we had planned to hike to the waterfall/swimming hole, but were told the waterfall was dry and the swimming hole was under construction. Instead we were directed a few km away, down the hill to a river on the property that was great for wading/swimming in. It was a lovely way to spend a hot afternoon and we heard howler monkeys in the trees along the way. My husband and son went on the night hike with Rolando, which they very much enjoyed. On our checkout day, we did a river safari float trip that Mark arranged for us. The tour company picked us up at Treehouses and dropped us off at our next hotel (Los Lagos) which saved us the cost of a transfer. My only complaint about Treehouses, and it's minor!, is that we are not coffee drinkers and because the staff didn't bring a thermos up to our tree house each morning - we also did not have the fruit set out to attract birds to our porch.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 15Carrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Logan, Utah
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

We stayed in the "Frog" tree house March 16-19. Mark and Lucy were terrific hosts, graciously showcasing a property that really has a lot to offer. The night walks with Rolando were really a lot of fun--he shared powerful flashlights with us, helping us to see sloths, tree frogs, bats, poison dart frogs, tarantulas, armadillos...and more. We spent a full day hiking with Juan Carlos--he's a terrific guide and a good and kind man--and we absolutely would recommend his tours! Having never been to Costa Rica, we appreciated his expertise and advice at Volcan Arenal, Hanging Bridges, La Fortuna Waterfall, and Baldi Hot Springs. Breakfast every morning at theTree Houses pavillion was delicious, however, we do have a sweet spot for the scrumptious mango-filled French toast. We feel blessed to have been in the company of such good people.

Room Tip: The "Frog" is closer the road than are the other treehouses, and some have complained abou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurieJanean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pecatonica, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Our family of six, with children ages 9 to 17 years just returned from Costa Rica. We spent three days at the Tree House Hotel. Mark and Raeann could not have provided my family with anything that will remain in their memories forever, that could top this unusual experience. We booked the monkey and hummingbird months in advance. (three in each).

It was something right out of an old Johnny Weissmuller 1930's 'Tarzan' movie. But with some modern amenities like lights and running water. An absolutely once in a lifetime experience.

The likes: The kids saw monkeys, a toucan, a couple slouths and plenty of beautiful birds right on the property.
A great breakfast is included, which saves for a family of six.
Very friendly, likeable, helpful and hardworking staff.
One call does it all! Mark took care to cater the tour and side trips to the ages and
requests of all the family. Thus we had professional and friendly guides on every tour.
The pick ups for the tours and to/from the airport made no need to rent a car. (We
never wished we had one). We felt appreciated and like V.I.P.'s everywhere we went.
Never had a bug problem at all.
No need to repeat other reviews, but we loved the Farm tour Rolando gave us. He not
not only gives night tours, but we paid for a trip by him to his small farm. He is a
ambassador of a traditional Costa Rican farmer. "What a wonderful guy". With
everything Mark arranged, I told my kids they all deserved three college credit hours
for learning the history, culture, plants and animal recognition of Costa
Rica.
We will never forget it! Perfect all around..... on everything!

Room Tip: Hummingbird and Monkey were perfect for us. Located near the back of the property. Very private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank biknrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

How often do you get to walk out your bedroom door in the morning and be eye level with a Toucan? That's what you can experience at Tree Houses. The rooms are very comfortable and the whole experience of sitting on your deck a tree top level listening to the birds and feeling the breeze is extremely relaxing. The staff is very friendly and extremely helpful. Only tip is if you don't have your own car there is only one restaurant within walking distance for lunch and dinner. The food is good the view of the volcano is outstanding but the service is very slow. So just relax have another drink and enjoy the view and company you're with. Highly recommend staying at Tree Houses for an experience unlike anywhere you've probably ever stayed before.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark123_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Fantastic property and wonderful people!

Mark and Lucy made us feel super-welcome and well cared for at every turn. Beautiful accommodation, nice breakfasts, wildlife... Just all around excellent. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: You definitely want to be in one of the tree houses further back from the road (as we were). I imagi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Our 3 nights at the tree houses were fantastic! The Tree house had everything we needed to be comfortable (shower, AC, loft with two bunks, even a small desk). Was even better than the website promised. Mark gave us great directions for where to eat (Happy Land was fantastic) and where to play (ATV Tour, hot springs, hike, Rafting and Chocolate plantation). Each time we followed his advice it was even better than promised. Breakfasts were fantastic incredible experience and value at the Tree Houses!
Night time nature tours were super too!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
14.0 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,246 reviews
13.0 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#5 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,845 reviews
13.9 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,264 reviews
13.5 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,821 reviews
4.1 mi away
Heliconias Nature Lodge
Heliconias Nature Lodge
#9 of 62 in Arenal Volcano National Park
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica

Property: Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica
Address: 300 Meters Norte de Cementerio De La Florencia | Santa Clara, San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tree Houses Hotel is a bed and breakfast hotel conveniently located off the main road that runs through La Fortuna and around the Arenal Volcano. We are a short 25 minute drive to the high tourist area. People seek us out with that in mind, to be away from it all but close enough to enjoy all the fun adventure the La Fortuna, Arenal Volcano area has to offer.We have just 5 tree houses (each very private) on 8 acres and we are surrounded by a 70 acre wildlife refuge with a waterfall, pools to swim and a beautiful river. Each tree house features A/C, warm water showers, refrigerators and safes.There are few hotels like this in the world and none other in Costa Rica. There is something so very exciting about spending the night high in the forest canopy, wildlife all around you, safe and cozy in a tree house hotel in Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tree Hotel In Costa Rica
Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing