We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica
Nearby Hotels
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$299
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$234
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arenal Lodge(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$114
$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$230
$138
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Arenal Manoa Hotel(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$251
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$217
$201
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Volcano Lodge & Springs(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$183
$134
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$429
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nayara Springs(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$750
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (989)
Filter reviews
989 results
Traveler rating
809
144
20
12
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
809
144
20
12
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnight hikehowler monkeysmark lucyunique experienceeach morningcoffee deliveredjuan carlosnight watchmanhappy landsloth housesanta claracosta ricahonor systemla fortunagreat hostswrap around porchfree night
Filter
Updating list...
431 - 436 of 989 reviews
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Just got back from a 7 night stay at the treehouse hotel and it was perfect. We wanted to experience the natural beauty of Costa Rica and this hotel provided all the opportunities to do so while waking up to a fresh cup of coffee and delicious breakfast surrounded by birds, monkeys, sloths and lush greenery. Mark and Lucy went above and beyond our expectations and made our trip one to remember for a life time. Thanks so much!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katherine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

This should definitely be on your list if you're in the arenal area. We stayed in 2 different treehouses; the toucan and the frog. Both were very clean and cozy. The toucan actually sways a little bit with the wind which really makes it a great experience. In the morning you wake up to the sound of howler monkeys and make your way to the best authentic breakfast you will have in Costa Rica.
Mark and Lucy are great hosts and really make you feel at home in the jungle. Mark helped us book our transportation and it was a fun ride down to Manuel Antonio.
We went on the day adventure with Juan and his wife and kissie his little dog. It was an amazing day ending in relaxing hot springs.
All in all a great place, friendly hosts and fun excursions.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Pierre M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

I took my daughter to Costa Rica for her 13th birthday for a special father-daughter trip and this place does not disappoint1 We stayed in Casa de Toucan which had a big, comfortable bed for me, and right above was a loft/attic space with two beds for my daughter (and her suitcase). Breakfast is included and as the tree houses are located within a nature reserve the views from the room and just walking around the grounds (there is a short walk to a river and a waterfall) is spectacular. There were insect-eating bats hanging out on the roof of our porch, howler monkeys could be heard and occasionally seen, lots of birds and butterflies, frogs, and even a sloth outside of your window if you're lucky. The caretakers were extremely helpful in pointing us to great places to eat and shop and in making recommendations for the activities that my daughter was interested in having (animals, animals, and more animals)

Though this place has everything an adventurous kid (or kid at heart) would want in a hotel, there are a few things to keep in mind: 1) Bug repellent - this shouldn't come as a shock to anyone considering going to a rain forest: there are thousands of different insects and they all want a piece of you, so apply liberally. 2) Travel - distance-wise, this is not too far from San Jose, but for those who get car-sick easily, the roads to get there has many twists and turns and there are points you WILL get stuck behind a big truck with a leaky exhaust that is driving too slow AND in front of locals with four-wheel drive that think you are driving too slow (no matter how fast you are going). 3) Staying with the theme of motion sickness, keep in mind that you REALLY will be sleeping in a tree house 20 ft. off of the ground (I'm a big guy, so I stress-tested it for you: it's perfectly safe), so anyone walks, sits up, or rolls over, the room sways for a moment. We found it to be fun and part of the adventure, but it may not be everyone's cup of tea. 4) Hot water (or the lack thereof) - apparently, getting it in consistent quantities to three house is impossible, so there is none in the sink. There is some sort of contraption attached to the showerhead that is supposed to warm the water, but I never could figure it out and I have an engineering degree in robotics. Good luck with that, but again, consider it part of the adventure. 5) Did I mention bug repellent?

Look, are you going to Costa Rica to stay in a chain hotel where everything is just like it would be anywhere else in the world, or are you going for an adventure? Staying at the Tree Houses Hotel helped make this trip a truly memorable one for my daughter and I and that was the whole point of going.

Room Tip: Not all tree houses have the attic/loft, so if you're interested make sure you note this when making your reservation.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We spent 3 nights of our 9 day trip to Costa Rica in the Sloth treehouse. First off, the property is gated and only guests are allowed in. They also have a night watchman who walks the property all night, so there's no question of safety. You're greeted by Mark and Lucy, Americans who accepted the once in a lifetime opportunity to manage a resort in Costa Rica. They were very friendly and very helpful! For the nitty gritty:

HIGHLIGHTS:
-Hot, fresh breakfast each morning in the Rancho
-Hot coffee delivered to your porch each morning, ready when you wake up!
-Clean living quarters with hot water showers
-So many birds
-Beverages in a cooler on site, pay when you check out
-A few quiet trails to enjoy the forest (spotted Howler monkeys and Tucans)
-When I came down with food poisoning, Mark and Lucy were so helpful--provided food on request to help settle the stomach, and helped my husband with a couple trips to the Pharmacia for meds
-The ladies who clean the rooms and serve breakfast are so nice and do a great job!
-Only 25 minutes from the center of La Fortuna, and 20 minutes more to the Arenal National Park
-Night tours at 9pm every night by the night watchman...we didn't take advantage of this as we had trouble staying awake that late!

LOWLIGHTS:
Only one! A few of the treehouses are located on the property closest to the road, so during the day you hear more traffic than wildlife. The Sloth was one of them.

We'll DEFINITELY return if we find ourselves in Costa Rica again! But we'll book the largest of the houses just to get farthest away from the road :)

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brianna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Spent first half of our vacation at Tree Houses and loved it! What could be better than spending nights in a tree house in the rain forest of Costa Rica with howler monkeys waking you up every morning; sloth sitings right on the property; night hikes finding tree frogs; and hiking on acres of private paths. We did not have a car and this was not a problem (despite what travel agents will tell you). Mark & Lucy set up all of our transportation and also called cabs for us if we needed to travel just a few miles to a shop or restaurant. Santa Clara is a wonderful little town and is within walking distance of Tree Houses. The Tree Houses were spotless - delivered fresh coffee up to our Tree House deck every morning. The breakfasts were outstanding - traditional yet with a gourmet touch. I cannot say enough about this hotel….from the location... to the accommodations... to the adventures close by... to the breakfasts... and most importantly, the work that Mark & Lucy put into making sure your stay with them is everything you want it to be
and more. Thank you so much for starting our vacation off in such a positive way!

Room Tip: We stayed in the "Monkey" Tree House - very nice - set back from the main house a bit which was very nice. No road noise.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary Kay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews