We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Couldn't get much better than this!"”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica
Certificate of Excellence
New Berlin, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"Couldn't get much better than this!"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

Spent first half of our vacation at Tree Houses and loved it! What could be better than spending nights in a tree house in the rain forest of Costa Rica with howler monkeys waking you up every morning; sloth sitings right on the property; night hikes finding tree frogs; and hiking on acres of private paths. We did not have a car and this was not a problem (despite what travel agents will tell you). Mark & Lucy set up all of our transportation and also called cabs for us if we needed to travel just a few miles to a shop or restaurant. Santa Clara is a wonderful little town and is within walking distance of Tree Houses. The Tree Houses were spotless - delivered fresh coffee up to our Tree House deck every morning. The breakfasts were outstanding - traditional yet with a gourmet touch. I cannot say enough about this hotel….from the location... to the accommodations... to the adventures close by... to the breakfasts... and most importantly, the work that Mark & Lucy put into making sure your stay with them is everything you want it to be
and more. Thank you so much for starting our vacation off in such a positive way!

Room Tip: We stayed in the "Monkey" Tree House - very nice - set back from the main house a bit whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary Kay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    729
    137
    20
    12
    4
See reviews for
343
384
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

First time to Costa Rica and we stayed in the Ygirrou (spelled wrong) treehouse and it was wonderful. Home-made breakfast every morning which was delicious! The town of Fortuna is only a 25 minute ride plus you get to see the country side along the way. The treehouse was very clean and peaceful. I loved hiking through the property and hiking to the river which is a trail you can hike to get to the river.

All in all, this place is a must!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Honey5183M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
291 reviews
172 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

First off you can only book this hotel via e-mail or by calling them over the phone and paying for your stay in advance, so don't be worried when you make the reservation, that's just how it is.

The next thing is finding the place. Now a lot of people say you need a 4 x 4 to get here. Well unless you're the worst driver in the world, that's not the case. We made it here really easily and yes the roads there are through the mountains and have steep inclines, but the road is fully paved all the way to the tree house hotel.

When pulling off the main road you stop at an electronic gate and need to buzz for access to the resort.

Once you arrive at reception you are greeted by Mark & Lucy who manage the property and take care of all the visitors. Mark gave us a run down on how the property works and checked us in. We were staying in the hummingbird tree house and he informed us how to get there. He also asked how we liked our coffee in the mornings before we left and showed us the honor system for the drinks.

We drove up the gravel track to our tree house and arrived at the hummingbird

The tree houses were very cosy and had everything you would expect for a hotel room, but with a twist, remember you are in a tree house, in the jungle.

Our room had two double beds and a single bunk also, it also had a fridge, shower and places to store your bags.

The shower system was great and provided enough hot water for at least 10 minutes, just remember that you are in a tree house and this really is a luxury item. It was great showering outside with just the net and having total privacy.

It was great to be away from the internet for a few days and having no TV also made this a nice getaway.

Each morning coffee would be placed on your picnic bench and a plantain placed on your balcony which would attract birds. It was a great way to start the morning being able to wake up and watch nature.

On our first day at the property we did the waterfall trek, which was about 5 miles round trip and it was great to venture out into the grounds. We did not see anyone else the entire time we were on our hike and it was really peaceful.

The next morning we went to see mark about some tours we go on and he sorted our zip lining tour and a trip to Arenal volcano with a local guide, which was really good.
Mark & Lucy were very helpful and really made our stay wonderful, they helped us with any questions we had, mark even ordered dinner for us one night and had it delivered to our tree house.

Just from being the grounds we saw lots of wildlife including a pack of howler monkeys who took a liking to our tree house in particular.

We would definitely return for a stay at the tree houses hotels.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jayda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

Our family of four stayed in the Monkey tree house back in July 2013. By far, it was our favorite part of our Costa Rican adventure. We used the air conditioner the first night, then realized shutting it off and opening the windows all night was the way to go... the most peaceful and beautiful sleep you'll ever get.

Was there occasional traffic noise? Sure, but it was by no means a distraction to the beautiful jungle you'll be surrounded by at the Tree Houses. Were there some bugs roaming about the tree house, in particular around the mini-fridge? Sure. But if you've ever truly "camped" in the US, this is luxury by comparison. The tree house was impeccably maintained. The breakfast was awesome, and they always asked us if we wished for seconds. Considering the breakfast, the Tree Houses were a bargain. The La Fortuna region was our favorite and I'd highly recommend renting a car to explore this authentic region.

If you're looking for a uniquely Costa Rican experience, then the Tree Houses can't be beat. The shower's water was heated at the shower head so hot water was not a problem. Sure, there are fancy properties in town, among other coastal regions in which we visited, but at the end of the day it's the memories of this place that'll stick with you. We look forward to visiting again someday.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
157 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

It is easy to put this place up on a pedestal and eagerly await your arrival. We booked four months in advance. This exclusiveness is because there are only six units.
The hosts are fabulous and on top of everything, and remember details, so that is great. The grounds are gorgeous.
The place is ridden with street noise, all day long. Do not get the impression you’re staying in some quiet tranquil campground. You will hear cars, trucks, diesel and motorcycles all day, and all night. Yes there are nice birds chirping, and it’s great.
The location is HORRIBLE! From the beach, it will take over four hours to get there. I thought our GPS messed us up, but when we drove back, I realized we took the right way, and it’s a very long, steep scary drive. You for sure need GPS, and 4 x 4 skills, and you need to leave earlier in the morning because we were stuck in the dark fog and it was scary. The roads up the hill are extremely steep and at one point our vehicle was unable to make it, and we were rolling backwards. The worst inclines ever. It is foggy, winding, and thrilling. I hope you have an adventurous spirit.
Then, the place is 30 minutes each way from La Fortuna, which is where all the activities originate from. So if you want to see the Swinging Bridges or Volcano, those are even further, 45 minutes each way. This place is in the middle of nowhere, in farm land, with not much to do around the town.
The mattresses are horrible, like a cheap Motel 6 quality. Worst mattresses on our trip! The shower is camping conditions. First night only three gallons of hot water, then they fixed it, and we got 15 gallons. Just barely enough to bathe; cold water showers…

They need to put mats on the slick floors it is easy to hydroplane.
We liked the windows, those sealed shut and no bugs got in.
The food taste great, but the portions were very small and so you will need to beg for seconds or go hungry.
The place is fun, but we will not be back. They have gorgeous quiet lush resorts near the volcano and that will be close to hot springs and stuff like that.

Room Tip: Just stay two nights because you may or may not like staying here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dolldetails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

I am so happy that my husband and I booked this awesome and unique hotel for the start of our honeymoon in Costa Rica. We stayed in the Frog house, which is very small, but adequate. If they other larger houses were available, we would have booked one. Even though the Frog house is small, it has a pretty good size porch and 360 views of the forest. The accommodations are not fancy, but comfortable and clean. We didn't book this place to stay in bed all day so we weren't looking for luxury. It was so fun to wake up every morning to gorgeous birds sitting on the porch and delicious CR coffee on the table. Breakfasts here are AMAZING. All CR food. They serve fresh juice, fruit, gallo pinto, eggs, empanadas, and my fav, the CR version of French toast. YUM! We rented a car, so the trip into La Fortuna was no biggie. Mark gives great directions and be sure you get a GPS if you aren't familiar with the area. Sometimes the GPS will lie to you, so always follow Mark's directions, it will save you an hour some trips. We drove to the Rio Celeste waterfall trailhead ourselves (about 2.5 hrs) and hiked on our own. This is totally do-able without a guide, just be smart hikers. Bring water, boots (the trail is MUDDY!), food, and a first-aid kit. Oh yes, and DO NOT forget your camera. We did book the waterfall rappell through the hotel, and it was incredible. Pure Trek is a fantastic group. You will have the time of your life!

The property is gorgeous and expansive. We hiked the trails to the waterfall and river after we checked out. It was great. We spotted a Howler monkey, a basilisk, and other creatures. The staff is top-notch here. Mark and Lucy are great and very helpful. I must say that the highlight of this hotel is the night watchman/night hike guide Rolando. What a wonderful guy! We so looked forward to his night walks. He knows all about the forest, the animals, and is eager to share. He helped us find tons of frogs, sloths, armadillos, lizards, etc. We were so bummed our last hike! This hotel is AWESOME and we are for sure coming back for stellar experience and most of all, our new friend Rolando! Kudos to an EXCELLENT HOTEL!

Room Tip: The Frog house is adequate for 2 people. It also has a loft with 2 twin beds for others or kids. A l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonsie88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful property managed by Mark and Lucy, who will really make you feel at home. While you probably cannot trust Google maps or your GPS in this part of Costa Rica, you will definitely have to trust Mark's guidance: the guy knows every corner of his adoptive province, and everyone around knows him! We stayed in the Frog tree house, which is the closest to the main road (not a big issue since there is close to no traffic at night, but you may spot more animals from deeper in the jungle - the place sells out very fast, so book ahead!). The rooms were very clean and functional, with hot water and electricity the whole day. A nice plus: the staff would discreetly bring coffee or tea to your private deck every morning before breakfast, placing a plantain on a bird feeder so that you would be able to drink your first cup of coffee of the day surrounded by tens of different bird species (and naughty squirrels trying to steal the plantain, as the case may be). The only negative point is that it is quite far from La Fortuna (about half an hour away) but, at the same time, it is very close to must-see attractions such as ASIS (the wildlife rescue center) and to the best-ever frozen margarita served at the nearby Malpeche restaurant!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank StephaneRey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
14.0 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,175 reviews
13.9 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,742 reviews
13.0 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#4 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,177 reviews
4.1 mi away
Heliconias Nature Lodge
Heliconias Nature Lodge
#7 of 65 in Arenal Volcano National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
14.0 mi away
Nayara Springs
Nayara Springs
#1 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica

Property: Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica
Address: 300 Meters Norte de Cementerio | Santa Clara, San Carlos, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tree Houses Hotel is a bed and breakfast hotel conveniently located off the main road that runs through La Fortuna and around the Arenal Volcano. We are a short 25 minute drive to the high tourist area. People seek us out with that in mind, to be away from it all but close enough to enjoy all the fun adventure the La Fortuna, Arenal Volcano area has to offer.We have just 5 tree houses (each very private) on 8 acres and we are surrounded by a 70 acre wildlife refuge with a waterfall, pools to swim and a beautiful river. Each tree house features A/C, warm water showers, refrigerators and safes.There are few hotels like this in the world and none other in Costa Rica. There is something so very exciting about spending the night high in the forest canopy, wildlife all around you, safe and cozy in a tree house hotel in Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tree Hotel In Costa Rica
Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing