We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica
Nearby Hotels
$201
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$101
$85
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$465
$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Lavas del Arenal(La Fortuna de San Carlos)(Great Value!)
$200
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$146
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Volcano Lodge & Springs(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$172
$92
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$137
$110
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel El Silencio del Campo(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$156
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$468
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$103
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (980)
Filter reviews
980 results
Traveler rating
801
143
20
12
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
801
143
20
12
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnight hikehowler monkeysmark lucyunique experienceeach morningcoffee deliverednight watchmanjuan carloshappy landsloth housecosta ricahonor systemgreat hostsla fortunawrap around porchfree nightplantains
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
930 - 935 of 980 reviews
Reviewed March 24, 2008

We LOVED our stay at the tree house. We were in tree house #3. The staff was wonderful. They helped us plan our trips and rented a car for us. We did our tours through Pura Vida Tours. We did the Cano Negro Refuge Tour, Rio Celeste Waterfall and River Hike, and the Arenal One Day Tour. Honestly, we loved them all.

The tree houses are very clean. We had hot water, a coffee maker with coffee and a fridge to store food. The free breakfast served from 8:00 a.m. - 9:00 a.m at the main house was excellent. It was our best breakfast while in Costa Rica.

We did the trail on the property and while we checked out the waterfall, we had some Howler monkeys call to us. It was so cool yelling back and forth with them.

I would recommend renting a car. It is off a little drive from the towns (which we liked.)

It was just such a fun and neat experience. I would definitely recommend it. I can't say enough good things about the tree houses or the surrounding areas. If you have any questions, please let me know.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajmorin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2008

This was our first trip to Costa Rica...and to top it off I was celebrating my 40th birthday! I had done much research on different places to stay and then I ran across the Tree houses and got very excited when we were able to book 4 nights there. Correspondese with the owners was not only enthusiastic but very helpful on things to do and places to see. After taking the ol' red eye we arrived about 10:00 am only to get our bus stuck under the sign and entrance to the Tree houses....we laughed and said this is our "first" adventure in Costa Rica. Kellie one of the owners came to the entrance to pick us up and welcomed us with a warm hola.

This place was awesome!!! We went on hikes everyday around the property, the rooms were clean with no bugs!...we were expecting mosquitos but found very few..probably due to the dry warm weather, Kellie was a terrific host and greeted us every morning for breakfast and sat with us and other guests as we talked about the previous days excursions and planned our next ones. Kellie, asked what excursions we wanted to go on and she booked them all for us.....awesome!!! The breakfasts were fantastic and different every day, the grounds beautiful and lots of wildlife.

Although, I packed my loincloth I decided to keep it in the luggage and pull that out at a later date. If you do go on walks through the jungle make sure to say hello to the resident horse out in the fields...just call it over and it WILL come to you for a good scratch under the chin.

Seriously folks, if you want a fun place to stay that is definately different than the norm...this is the place...all our friends were jelouse of the tree house and we had a great time....

Kellie....THANK YOU!!!!!! you were awesome...we enjoyed our conversations with you and had some good laughs....tell sweetie hellp and Rene...missed ya but are thinking of you!

Any questions on this place feel free to email me at sjn1@aol.com

oh yeah....pura vida!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank CaliCupl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2008

Our trip began on Feb 13th with 20 friends and family members who joined us for our wedding in Montezuma. 1/2 of the group continued on to Arenal until the 18th. Our honeymoon officially started on the 18th and I wanted a place that would be quite, remote, cool, romantic and beautiful for the beginning of our trip as husband and wife (solo!) We wanted a place to wind down and relax before heading on to Peace Lodge for the remainder of our trip.

The Tree Houses were just what we were looking for and to top it off it was in between our previous destination and our final destination. Perfect!

The structures themselves were pretty cool. We had Tree House #1 which had a porch but it did not wrap around like #3's porch. The tree house is small, but everything somehow fit! The house was about 25 feet off the ground and it also had a second story loft. The house swayed as you walked around it, and more so if you went into the loft. The tree house is not really IN the trees but on long metal posts up WITH the trees (and affixed to one with bolts) The height offers a fabulous view of the tress that are visited by many colorful and exotic tropical birds. I saw my first toucan here :)

The main level offers and enclosed bedroom area that strategically holds one queen size bed (sort of... it seemed a little short), 2 night tables and shelves with a refrigerator and coffee maker. Three glass panels allow viewing of the outside and the small room is cooled with an efficient air conditioner. The door to the toilet and sink is located on one side of the bed and the door to the shower is located on the other. Both rooms are screened in. The water for the shower is somehow heated in the shower head. We will use the term "heated" loosely here. The water is pleasantly warm but never reached a level of hot. If you absolutely must have hot water, or your trip will be ruined... these tree houses are not for you. If you can settle for comfortable - then you will enjoy the tree houses. We fall in the last category. :)

The trees are alive with singing birds and locust that are only drowned out by the passing cars (you can hear the cars on the main road from the tree house) We spent a lot of time on the porch enjoying the nature; playing tic tac toe and hang man! Bring a deck of cards or a travel game!

A ladder is at the foot of the bed that takes you to the second floor loft. Movement in the loft causes noticeable swaying of the structure (Kids will LOVE this!). Although kids would love the loft, I don't think it is appropriate for very young children. The entrance and exit is a hole in the ceiling that very young children would have trouble with and could possible fall down through. Children over the age of 8 would be fine in the loft; any younger, you would need to use your discretion. We would have been uncomfortable with our (just turned) 6 year old up there (although he would have loved it!).

If you are looking for a busting town with lots of night life, Santa Clara is not for you. If you want peace and quite, or if you have a car, you will enjoy this place immensely. The town is pretty quite and boasts a few restaurants, some sodas, a grocery store and a few shops. Not a tourist area at all - we thought this was AWESOME!

We took a cab to Happy Land twice during our 4 night stay. One cab charged us $5 dollars and the other charged us $6 dollars. Happy Land is right next to the grocery store which is also very convenient. Happy Land had great food and the people were so friendly! The restaurant is a local spot, and the Ticos were down to earth and loved to chat and try out their English (and help with our Spanish!).Daniel and Marlon "Brando" were hospitable and very welcoming. It seemed that when we showed up the music was put on an American radio station. The 1/4 Kilo Lomo was excellent and the Pechuga Rellena was quickly my husband's new favorite Tico dish! When the server found out I wanted yucca fries he went next door and bought some and had the cook make them for me! What more could you ask for!

The second restaurant we visited twice during our 4 night stay was a local Tico restaurant with a spectacular view called Mapache. ! It was located an easy 5 minute walk from the tree houses. You could see Arenal from the open air restaurant and lots of wildlife. The server brought over binoculars when he saw me straining to see a pair of toucans in the distant tree. The food was excellent and HUGE portions! The view out over the land below was breathtaking. At dusk we noticed bats flying in the high ceiling.... they didn't bother us, in fact, it was pretty cool! Only in Costa Rica!

The hike to the waterfall was pleasant. The waterfalls are 3 separate small pools made out of rock with stairs in each pool. We were disappointed that the pools were filled with debris and the water was not clear because the overflow was blocked with leaves and branches. We ended up not getting in the pools as we were unsure as to what lurked below the rocks and leaves.... yes we were chicken! We did not see any monkeys but we did enjoy playing briefly with the horse! The walk back was uphill (why we didn't notice that on the way down I will never know!) so we were a bit winded, sweaty and tired.

There are no touristy things to do in Santa Clara (other then the waterfall walk from what we could tell). Since we did not have a car we chose the river rafting trip (class 2 and 3 rapids) because the tour van picks guests up at the tree houses. Alex, the guide, was fabulous. We had a wonderful time on the river and saw sloths! Finally! The river trip was a half day excursion and we were both happy we chose the trip! The water was beautiful, the rapids were cool, and Alex was very informative. I highly recommend this trip, especially if you are without a rental car!

Renee and Kelly were wonderful hosts! We enjoyed talking to them and envied their new laid back life! You couldn't meet sweeter people! I am sure we bored them with conversation, but if we did, it did not show on their faces. Fabulously beautiful women! Well done ladies! :)

If you are looking for a cool place to stay without a resorty feel, this is place for you. Peaceful and Beautiful. They may not be luxury accommodations, but they sure are unique, private and comfortable. It was EXACTLY what we wanted!

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank NcMysteryShopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2008

I have to agree with the negative reviews of this place. It's too expensive for what they offer, and compared to other options in the area.

This is not a unique rainforest hideaway, but three small, rather uncomfortable cabins well within hearing distance from the main road. There was a strong smell of humidity inside both houses (#2 & 3).

Also, if you plan to stay at the Tree Houses be aware that it's more than 30 min away from La Fortuna by car, so if you plan to visit attractions there, you'd probably be better off staying in La Fortuna. If you don't have a car, it's not a good idea to stay here, as there's nothing to do nearby.

Bottom line is that the Tree Houses charge twice as much as similar or even better places because the houses are built half way up a tree. Not much happens up in the trees, though; no birds, but a lot of bugs.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Zorblat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed at The treehouse - it was 20 minutes out of town. We were very impressed with the all the help Renne and Kelly gave us before we even arrived. The treehouse was so fun - in the middle of the forest - very quiet and a large room. And a large patio outside!
You feel like you are the only ones there.
Tasty Costa Rican breakfast (free) in the morning surrounded by tropical birds and butterflies.
Great value and relaxing special hotel for the money and close enough to do all the activities.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linlinb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews