We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$115
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$264
$183
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$332
$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$332
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$170
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Volcano Lodge & Springs(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$169
$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Lomas del Volcan(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$108
$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Arenal Manoa Hotel(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$99
$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of $115/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Arenal Lodge(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$113
$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Nayara Springs(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$563
$523
Relais & Châteaux
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,003)
Filter reviews
1,003 results
Traveler rating
823
144
20
12
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
823
144
20
12
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnight hikehowler monkeysmark lucyunique experienceeach morningcoffee deliveredjuan carlossloth housesanta claracosta ricahonor systemla fortunagreat hostswrap around porchfree nightplantainsproyecto asis
Filter
Updating list...
602 - 607 of 1,003 reviews
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We went to Costa Rica for the first time this past August. Our stay at Tree Houses was exactly what we'd hoped it would be. We did the volcano hike and the early morning birding tour-both were arranged for us through Tree Houses. We also hiked around the Tree Houses property. During our 3 day stay, we lucked out and saw lots of birds, sloths, lizards, monkeys, and frogs. The daily morning tea and coffee that was delivered to our tree house was a perfect compliment to the sounds of the forest early in the morning. Breakfasts were delicious, and they even packed us breakfast to go on the morning of our early morning hike. The hotel is rather easy to reach considering how remote it feels while there. We look forward to returning some day soon!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christen625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Tree House for one week and enjoyed our time there. The Houses were just as advertised and all the reviews were spot on. Mark and Lisa were excellent hosts and prepare breakfast early whenever it was needed something that we really liked since a few days our trips were early pick ups. I wish there were seat cushions for our deck benches but other than that we were very happy with out stay. I would suggest to bring a change of clothes and a towel to the rafting, hiking, cave tours. The neaest town is La Fortuna which most of the tous go through so we had our tour bus drop us off in town a couple of times and you can take a $30 cab ride back or we just took the bus for a meer $2 and it dropped us off next to the Tree Houses but they are not that frequent.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank George P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

we spent a couple nights at the treehouses when visiting the Arenal area. It was a really unique and fun place for the family and the actual houses, beds, and room were much nicer than I had expected. Mark and Lucy are very nice and helpful. I had mentioned that it was our oldest daughter's 13th birthday and we were greeted in our room with birthday cake, candles and napkins. how sweet was that!

The breakfasts were great and we really did not notice the traffic noise. We enjoyed an evening hike explanations of the the grounds, vegitation, and animals and enjoyed finding frogs.

The houses are much further outside of La Fortuna than I had realized. That is both good and bad as you can feel as though you are away from things but it does add travel time to activities (and added transport cost if you don't have a car).

The option for pizza delivery to the houses on the night of our arrival was wonderful - and tasted great for a reasonable price. Dinner our second night was a nice place within walking distance. Just beware that they do not take credit cards at the close restaurant. We enjoyed some local excursions and found that managing the local busses was pretty easy and got us from la fortuna to the treehouses without much issue and way cheaper than a taxi.

We would definately stay here again or recommend to others.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Drdibo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

The Tree Houses hotel is located on an immaculate property near the Arenal Volcano. Our tree house was uniquely constructed and enjoyable. Mark and Lucy do a wonderful job managing the place and are genuinely good people. The breakfasts each morning were tasty and fun. We gave a 4/5 rating because staying here really is a unique experience, but there is one downside: noise.

Tree Houses hotel is located next to a very busy road. A couple of kilometers up this road is a quarry. All day semi-trucks and huge dump trucks drive past the hotel to/from the quarry. They often use their engine brakes which only adds to the noise. The sound from the road often become so loud that it covers up the sounds from the jungle. We walked the entire property trying to judge if there were some tree houses more susceptible to the noise than others. The tree houses in the back of the property experienced noise loud enough to cover the sounds of the jungle; the tree houses near the front of the property experience overwhelming noise that would've spoiled our trip had we stayed there. Luckily our house was near the back, so the noise here was somewhat more limited.

Overall, our stay was nice. But if you are from a big city trying to get away from all the normal noises you hear every day, Tree Houses Hotel might not be for you.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank stockman20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Treehouseshotel, Owner at Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

We always appreciate feedback and the opinions of our guests. Unfortunately, we cannot control the traffic flow past the Tree Houses. We do get traffic, but it is not constant or overwhelmingly loud.

We have instituted a new reservation system where guests can now choose the tree house they would like to stay in. There are descriptions and pictures of all of the tree houses on our Rates and Reservations page.

Additionally, we have discounted the Frog tree house, which is at the front of our property, so guests can now choose their price range as well.

Pura vida,

Raeann, Mark and Lucy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

My husband and I stayed in the Monkey (congo) tree house in July. Mark and Lucy were very welcoming and willing to help us out any way that they could during our stay. We took the Day trip with Juan to the volcano, hanging bridges, La Fortuna waterfall (around 500 steps!!!) and to the hot springs. Juan's sons Eduardo and Pablo joined us and they were a delight! In addition - he took us to lunch at his sister's place where we got to eat true Costa Rican food on her veranda! It was a great day that was arranged by Mark for us. We also went on the Ecoglide zipline - a blast - especially the Tarzan swing and I am in my late 50's...feeling quite proud - I must admit.
The breakfasts that we were provided at the treehouses were delicious and varied each day. I especially like the plantain chips (forget the real name) with the mashed black bean dip) - EXCELLENT as were all the meals. The night tour of the grounds with Renaldo was excellent. The man can find small critters 10ft up in a tree in the pitch black - amazing!
Our tree house was great! Loved the massage on the balcony and watching for toucans from there. Also loved the hot coffee every morning that magically appeared. I think that this is a perfect place to begin a Costa Rican vacation and highly recommend! Thanks Mark and Lucy for your hospitality!

Room Tip: Some people have complained about road noise. We did hear some occasional road noise but it is not bothersome in the least. I think all rooms would be fine.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank qtpi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews