We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I can't think of a better way to spend a first night in Costa Rica”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“I can't think of a better way to spend a first night in Costa Rica”
Reviewed February 1, 2008

The Tree Houses Hotel is awesome!

We spent our first night in Costa Rica here and loved it. There are 3 individual tree houses. We stayed in #3, but #s 1 and 2 looked a little bigger, are set back further from the road and don't have the super steep driveway that 3 does. The room was small, but a wrap around deck was a great spot to hang out, drink Imperials and listen to jungle noises.

The best part of staying there was waking up in the jungle. Breakfast was delicious and they put out plantains next to the tables to attract all sorts of birds. After breakfast, we took a very nice walk on the trails behind the tree houses (about 1.5 hours total) where there is plenty of wildlife, a river and a small waterfall.

Once you're here, you'll probably want to stay more than one night. We only left to be closer to La Fortuna/Arenal activities (tree houses are about a 25 minute drive away). But will definitely plan on staying there on my next visit to CR.

  • Liked — Breakfast with the birds!
  • Disliked — If it were a little closer to La Fortuna / Arenal I would've stayed there the whole time
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

927 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    752
    139
    20
    12
    4
See reviews for
350
396
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2007

I saw the Tree House Hotel online when I was searching for places to stay in Costa Rica. We were very happy with it, as it was our splurge for the trip. The restaurant was good, and the view was beautiful.
Staff was friendly and helpful, setting us up with our tour and transportation for the next day. I wish I had spent more time there.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mem0403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
Reviewed December 6, 2007

When I found the Tree House Hotel on the web I began a campaign to get my very skeptical husband to go. We spent 4 nights at the hotel and loved every minute of it. The new owners are so wonderful and really try to make your stay everything you want it to be.
The accommodations are clean and very private. You walk up into the tree house and feel like you're the only people in the world.
The bird watching at breakfast was such a treat you never knew what you would see. We even saw toucans vying for bananas one morning.
The tours arranges for us were very good and you cannot beat the scenery on the drive to La Fortuna.
All in all we both agreed we loved it and would definitely stay there again

  • Liked — I loved being on the deck and just looking into the trees
  • Disliked — The only thing I would have liked is a screen door to leave open at night
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bookreader451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2007

We Just got back from a week at the tree house hotel. Great place to stay. You feel like you are alone in the rain forest. The people were great. The tree houses were beautiful. Exactly what you would picture as a tree house. The only problem we experienced was the size of the bed. I'm 6' 4 so the bed was a little tight. But I will tell you that it did not effect our stay. The people were friendly and set up whatever we needed. I can not wait to go back and stay again. It is a little piece of paradise that everyone should experience. Some suggestions.
1. Eat at Happyland great food for cheap with great service.
2. Use the Ecoglide zip lines. Extra safe and great views. Watch out for the Tarzan swing.
3. Go white water rafting.
4. The Hot Springs are nice but way overpriced for what you get. If your not wearing a speedo your out of place.
5. You dont need to pay a tour guide if you have a car you can get to everyplace they drive you to.
6. Try not to drive at night.(Scary drive from La Fortuna)
7. Ask the tree house for advice all there thought turned out to be great.

  • Stayed November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sdfdteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STUART
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2007

Tree House Hotel, Santa Clara, Costa Rica
When we decided to visit Costa Rica I told my husband I wanted to stay in a tree house, so we went on line to trip advisor and looked up tree houses, saw a few and fell in love with the Tree House Hotel. It met all of our expectations and more. We spent our first two nights there and wish we had more time. Renee, Raeann, Kelly, Samantha and Emily are the most wonderful people we have ever met. They welcomed us like family. Turn off the airconditioning and you will hear the birds and howler monkey's early in the morning. We weren't there more than ten minutes and Emily pointed out a sloth. Wake up with the sun and hike down to the waterfall and see all the sights, birds, mountains, flowers, hummingbirds. Every morning a wonderful breakfast is served while you watch the feeding of the birds, so many speices. The Tree House itself is adorable, somewhat rustic and very clean and saw no bugs. We loved it. Your high in the trees and can fall asleep to the sounds of the outdoors. We told them we wanted to zip line and Samantha recommended Ecoglide. We are so glad she did, what a wonderful, safe experience that was. Renee also recommended some wonderful local restaurants, including Happy Land and the Lava Lounge. Everyone helped make our stay in Costa Rica such a wonderful experience and we can't wait to go back and would definately stay in the Tree House again for a longer amount of time.

  • Liked — being up in the trees and one with nature
  • Disliked — We loved everything
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank FloridaFlatlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
14.0 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,255 reviews
13.0 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#5 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,849 reviews
13.9 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,269 reviews
13.5 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,822 reviews
14.8 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 62 in Arenal Volcano National Park
2,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica

Property: Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica
Address: 300 Meters Norte de Cementerio De La Florencia | Santa Clara, San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tree Houses Hotel is a bed and breakfast hotel conveniently located off the main road that runs through La Fortuna and around the Arenal Volcano. We are a short 25 minute drive to the high tourist area. People seek us out with that in mind, to be away from it all but close enough to enjoy all the fun adventure the La Fortuna, Arenal Volcano area has to offer.We have just 5 tree houses (each very private) on 8 acres and we are surrounded by a 70 acre wildlife refuge with a waterfall, pools to swim and a beautiful river. Each tree house features A/C, warm water showers, refrigerators and safes.There are few hotels like this in the world and none other in Costa Rica. There is something so very exciting about spending the night high in the forest canopy, wildlife all around you, safe and cozy in a tree house hotel in Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tree Hotel In Costa Rica
Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing