We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a very unique and private hotel”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 14, 2011

The Tree Houses Hotel was everything we expected it to be and more from the reviews we had read. The tree house itself (we stayed in the Hummingbird) was very private, set back in the trees, and more spacious than we had anticipated. It was very clean and the a/c was a nice treat. The grounds were nice to walk around and look for animals. It has a private waterfall (cold, but refreshing) and trails to follow. We did not see any monkeys on our visit, but we did see a sloth and a poison dart frog. The complimentary breakfast was delicious. Mark and Lucy could not have been any nicer or more helpful. They booked trips for us that were outstanding, and told us about local sodas (open-air restaurants) to try. They also offer laundry services, which had we known how expensive the resort we stayed in later was going to be, we would have had it done here. The Tree Houses Hotel is about a 45-minute drive from LaFortuna. Since there are only five tree houses, they fill up fast. We could only stay one night because of availability, but we are very glad we had that opportunity. Our kids, 10 & 12, loved it!

Room Tip: Contact Mark as soon as you know you are traveling there as they fill the tree houses fast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FloridaTravelGirl4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (941)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

654 - 660 of 941 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2011

If you are looking for a very unique place to stay in a forest environment, this is a great place. The beautiful cabins are built up in the canopy, giving a much different perspective. The hotel has trails leading to a small waterfall with pools and to the river. Breakfast was very good and our hosts were appropriately attentive.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2011

We stayed here on a family trip to Costa Rica--my husband and I and our 2 boys--ages 8 and 11. We had a great time! Mark and his wife (sorry for the memory lapse) are so gracious and the setting is really lovely. I read some of the less than steller (sp?) reviews and it may be that this place is not for everyone. It is not a Marriott on stilts. It actually exceeded my expectations, though. I loved the experience. Yes, it is a little far from Fortuna, but we still took day trips to Fortuna and then took the opportunity at night to discover less touristy places to eat for dinner--which ended up being a real treat. The Italian restaurant nearby is exceptional.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelbug33423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2011

What a lovely experience! We landed in San Jose, spent the night, and then drove ourselves out to the Treehouses. It was a beautiful drive. When we arrived we were so impressed by our treehouse (Hummingbird). It was immaculate (no bugs). The entire treehouse is screened in, and while it has an A/C unit, we never used it (there is a ceiling fan and often a nice breeze). We loved the wrap around porch, high up in the trees. The shower is screened in and provided warm water--most of the time we were happy with the cooler showers. As soon as we arrived we hiked down to the waterfall on their property and within an hour had seen an oropendula, a toucan (aracari), leaf cutter ants, and two poison dart frogs (blue jeans--red and blue). The waterfall itself was cool and refreshing. Breakfasts were nice, eating outside with an incredible number of hummingbirds. Mark and Lucy are great hosts as well. Mellow and informative. During our stay we also got to see a two-toed sloth, a three-toed sloth, blue morpho butterflies, tanagers, and howler monkeys ON the property. If Mark or Lucy spot wildlife, they spread the word so that all the guests can see as well. LOVED Mini Bee and Bejuca, the "guard" dogs (sweet doggies that delighted our son). Enjoyed dinner at the restaurant just down the street (Mapache?). Big thumbs up for the treehouses! Thanks, Mark and Lucy! p.s. We took two wonderful tours organized through Treehouses (All Day Arenal and Botanical Garden and the Rio Celeste Tour) but TripAdvisor wouldn't allow us to include the details. Feel free to email with questions.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mindynate1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2011

We came to Costa Rica to be closer to nature and wildlife, and Tree Houses gets you right in there with the monkeys and birds. This is like the tree houses we had as a kid, but it's the grown up version with a nice bed and full bathroom. The wrap around porch was great for staying up in the tree house and still being able to have a 360 degree view of the property.
We only stayed 2 nights and didnt get a chance to take advantage of the place as much as we'd have liked to, but the owners Mark and Lucy were super nice, and Mark was an amazing help in planning our Rio Celeste and Venado cave tour.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YanyiMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2011

The Tree Houses Hotel is AWESOME! We stayed in the Toucan House the last few days of May. While I knew it was going to be sweet (partially planned the vacation around a vacancy there!), they did not disappoint, and certainly surpassed our expectations. Mark and Lucy are truly the best! So pleasant and very accommodating if needbe - hardly knew others were around otherwise. Everyone who works to help make the Tree Houses what it is, does an excellent job. The continental breakfasts were seriously the best we've ever had - fabulous, and great way to start the day! We checked out some of the night creatures on the property with Rolando - so nice and knowledgable as well. Being our first time to anywhere in Costa Rica, we were pleasantly surprised with the temps (cooler than anticipated), and hardly any bugs - in this area. The coast was another story... We rarely needed to use it, but the A/C in the tree house definately did the trick if it got a bit warm. It was so great to come back after a day of adventure and relax on the attached deck area. We will happily return to the Tree Houses Hotel shall a return trip to CR be in the cards. It was literally perfect for what we wanted, and I would recommend to most anyone. And, thanks to some helpful info over breakfast one morning from Mark and Lucy, we even came back happier and +1 by adopting a former street dog! You will definately enjoy your stay if you choose to make the Tree Houses Hotel your lodging choice while on vacation in CR!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 28chickens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2011

It is true that this is a somewhat remote location and you really need a car if you are going to stay here, although there is a "soda" with decent food and a view of the volcano just a short walk away. So if you want to just relax and enjoy the surroundings, you will see as much wildlife here as anywhere in Costa Rica. The drive to La Fortuna was pleasant and took 20-30 minutes through several small towns and farmland. We stayed in the Congo tree house, one of the newer and larger ones,which was very comfortable. We saw a wide variety of wildlife in our 3 day stay here, howler monkeys, sloth, keel billed toucans, black headed trogan, crested caracara, black guan, to name just a few, and many of them were right outside our treehouse. They have hummingbird feeders and fruit out in the breakfast area to attract hummingbirds and butterflies, which provided much entertainment in the morning. Breakfast was plentiful and creative. We went on the Cano Negro excursion and were thrilled to see howler (including a rare "blond" one), white faced and spider monkeys, along with caimans and many birds species. Ditto on everything that others say about Mark and Judy the managers, very friendly and helpful. We also liked the remote control they gave us for the front gate, so you don't have to fumble with keys or a code in the rain or dark or buzz the office to get in. We strongly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clrwtrjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
14.1 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,337 reviews
13.0 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#3 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,887 reviews
14.0 mi away
Nayara Springs
Nayara Springs
#1 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,486 reviews
12.9 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,323 reviews
14.8 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 64 in Arenal Volcano National Park
2,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica

Address: 300 Meters Norte de Cementerio De La Florencia | Santa Clara, San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: $95 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tree Houses Hotel is a bed and breakfast hotel conveniently located off the main road that runs through La Fortuna and around the Arenal Volcano. We are a short 25 minute drive to the high tourist area. People seek us out with that in mind, to be away from it all but close enough to enjoy all the fun adventure the La Fortuna, Arenal Volcano area has to offer.We have just 5 tree houses (each very private) on 8 acres and we are surrounded by a 70 acre wildlife refuge with a waterfall, pools to swim and a beautiful river. Each tree house features A/C, warm water showers, refrigerators and safes.There are few hotels like this in the world and none other in Costa Rica. There is something so very exciting about spending the night high in the forest canopy, wildlife all around you, safe and cozy in a tree house hotel in Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tree Hotel In Costa Rica
Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing