We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$183
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$474
$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$289
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arenal Lodge(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$81
$71
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$178
$173
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Volcano Lodge & Springs(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$69
$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Lomas del Volcan(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$107
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Arenal Manoa Hotel(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$124
$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nayara Springs(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$563
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,005)
Filter reviews
1,005 results
Traveler rating
825
144
20
12
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
825
144
20
12
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnight hikehowler monkeysmark lucyunique experienceeach morningcoffee deliveredjuan carlossloth housesanta claracosta ricahonor systemla fortunagreat hostswrap around porchfree nightplantainsproyecto asis
Filter
Updating list...
719 - 724 of 1,005 reviews
Reviewed June 20, 2011

The Tree Houses Hotel is AWESOME! We stayed in the Toucan House the last few days of May. While I knew it was going to be sweet (partially planned the vacation around a vacancy there!), they did not disappoint, and certainly surpassed our expectations. Mark and Lucy are truly the best! So pleasant and very accommodating if needbe - hardly knew others were around otherwise. Everyone who works to help make the Tree Houses what it is, does an excellent job. The continental breakfasts were seriously the best we've ever had - fabulous, and great way to start the day! We checked out some of the night creatures on the property with Rolando - so nice and knowledgable as well. Being our first time to anywhere in Costa Rica, we were pleasantly surprised with the temps (cooler than anticipated), and hardly any bugs - in this area. The coast was another story... We rarely needed to use it, but the A/C in the tree house definately did the trick if it got a bit warm. It was so great to come back after a day of adventure and relax on the attached deck area. We will happily return to the Tree Houses Hotel shall a return trip to CR be in the cards. It was literally perfect for what we wanted, and I would recommend to most anyone. And, thanks to some helpful info over breakfast one morning from Mark and Lucy, we even came back happier and +1 by adopting a former street dog! You will definately enjoy your stay if you choose to make the Tree Houses Hotel your lodging choice while on vacation in CR!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 28chickens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2011

It is true that this is a somewhat remote location and you really need a car if you are going to stay here, although there is a "soda" with decent food and a view of the volcano just a short walk away. So if you want to just relax and enjoy the surroundings, you will see as much wildlife here as anywhere in Costa Rica. The drive to La Fortuna was pleasant and took 20-30 minutes through several small towns and farmland. We stayed in the Congo tree house, one of the newer and larger ones,which was very comfortable. We saw a wide variety of wildlife in our 3 day stay here, howler monkeys, sloth, keel billed toucans, black headed trogan, crested caracara, black guan, to name just a few, and many of them were right outside our treehouse. They have hummingbird feeders and fruit out in the breakfast area to attract hummingbirds and butterflies, which provided much entertainment in the morning. Breakfast was plentiful and creative. We went on the Cano Negro excursion and were thrilled to see howler (including a rare "blond" one), white faced and spider monkeys, along with caimans and many birds species. Ditto on everything that others say about Mark and Judy the managers, very friendly and helpful. We also liked the remote control they gave us for the front gate, so you don't have to fumble with keys or a code in the rain or dark or buzz the office to get in. We strongly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clrwtrjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2011

My husband and I stayed here earlier this month for 2 nights. It is located outside of La Fortuna, we didn't have transport so it was around a $30 taxi ride though we found out after the local bus from Fortuna does stop very close by. Not having transport didn't bother us as our aim was to relax in a quiet location and we weren't disappointed.

We stayed in the Sloth tree house which was beautiful, floor to ceiling glass along 3 walls so we could lie in bed watching and listening to the sounds of the jungle. The hotel is set in some amazing grounds which we expored and came across all sorts of wildlife, including monkeys, toucans and sloths. Taking a dip in the waterfall pools at the end of the trail was a welcome treat! The owners were very helpful and served a delicious breakfast along with organising an excellent trip and transport for us. Would highly recommed this hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KAD1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2011

The tree houses are a great experience! We went at the end of the dry season so there were not as many animals or flowers too see but it was still a great get away. I highly suggesting renting a car for this portion of the trip because it is not in walking distance of very many places. Definitely take the night tour of the property with the night guard he knows his stuff! Breakfast is also great here, Mark and Lucy were great sources of information.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank summrgrl51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2011

Returning just days ago, I had to write my review of our stay at the Tree Houses. My now-husband, Kevin and I stayed for just under a week for our honeymoon and it was the most amazing time we could have asked for to start our lives together. First of all, Mark and Lucy are over and above gracious hosts. From the beginning of planning, Mark was reachable by email and phone, helped us book and decide on tours and schedules, and was very helpful when it came to my tedious questions about flying in, what to pack, ect. Second of all, our stay can literally be compared to a stay in paradise. We knew what we were in for from the beginning- a tree house. But with running water, a beautiful shower, a full wrap around porch, comfy beds, A/C and fan, maid service, falling asleep to peaceful rain and birds each night and waking up to a stunning home cooked breakfast each night... it never felt like we were "roughing it". And the price too was outstanding compared to the other places in La Fortuna. It was a bit of a drive to the main town, La Fortuna, so our rental car served us well. The 30 minute drive was always beautiful and we were always looking for a new little soda (family restaurant) or store to stop in to.

We did lots of excursions (Venado Caves, Cayoning, ATV tours, Arenal Volcano/Waterfall hike, Hanging bridges, Botanical Gardens and a trip to the Baldi Hot Springs) which kept us busy but always so entertained. Mark and Lucy were always around at breakfast to help us sort out any questions we had about the day or offer some advice for the tours.

Our week in Costa Rica was amazing and could not have been the same if we had stayed anywhere else. This is such an amazing place, good for couples, college kids, families... there's something for everyone.

We wanted our honeymoon to be that once-in-a-lifetime experience, and that's definitely what we got. :)

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank auber22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews