We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved the flora and fauna of the jungle, as well as the exquisite, comfortable tree house!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 15, 2011

This is a place where you go for the jungle surroundings, the kindness of the folks who run it, and a very luxurious "camp out" in a comfortable tree house. You walk up steep steps to the platform among the tree tops and enter a small, beautiful room with a very comfortable bed. There is a tiny bathroom on one side and a tiny shower with luke warm water on the other, and a small loft above with an extra bed. Sometimes you can feel a slight sway as you listen to the numerous birds or a howling monkey. The office and the breakfast place (where you'll see awesome colorful birds as well as 6 different species of hummingbirds :-) is just a short walk on the jungle path. The folks at the office are very helpful in signing you up for adventures from La Fortuna. We went white water rafting, hiked the swinging bridges and the Arenol volcano, visited a wonderful hot springs, went river boating where we saw most of the monkeys, and had several fascinating guided tours. I wrote an entire diary of flora and fauna, but a few of my favorites were the monkeys, sloths, Montezuma & Mot-Mot birds, hummingbirds, and the poison dart "blue jean" frogs, along with the trees (and their entire ecosystems of vines and Bromiliads) and flowers. Be sure to spend at least a week there so you have time between adventures to wander the 70 acres of private jungle paths. It's about a 20 minute walk through life living jungle to reach a "secret" natural waterfall with 3 sizes of tiered, smooth stone lined "baths".... just magical! Our week at the Tree Houses Hotel was 100% wonderful!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank st-john-pamela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (945)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

676 - 682 of 945 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2011

The Tree houses hotel is the neatest little cabins, built literally around, or supported by trees! Each is far enough from the others that you don't see or hear other guests. You feel a great sense of privacy. The bathroom and shower are, not luxury, but certainly clean and functional. Beds are comfy, the deck outside is perfect for sitting and enjoying the night sounds, watching fireflys, just plain relaxing and enjoying the place! Best of all are Mark and Lucy, and their staff! They go out of their way to make your stay memorable!

Room Tip: Ask to be away from the road (some traffic noise)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeNKathy502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2011

We stayed with Mark and Lucy at the tree houses for two nites. Much too short of a stay. They are the most wonderful, friendly, kind and helpful people we have ever met on our travels!!

Mark talked to me on the phone and got back to me on every email I sent. No question went unanswered. He set up our transportation with Jody and Wilson,a local couple that he works with They were with us on our entire trip. Not just at the treehouses, and Mark helped with all of that, which worked out super. I would suggest anyone needing transportation in Costa Rica to use them. They treated us like friends and even took us to dinner one nite. Mark even managed to add another couple and two children to our original reservation. He just helped with whatever was needed. Dont be afraid to ask.

We booked all our trips in the area with him He arranged the rest and not one glitch with anything.

The tree houses is a small motel and they are around and about at all hours of the day. Always looking to see if they can be of help. They are more like friends then the people running the motel. We were even encouraged to sit and visit right outside their front doorstep. Marks parents were there and we enjoyed a lot of conversation with them. Added to the hospitality. Then again if you want to be alone you will not be bothered.

The treehouses were clean and very nice. A truely once in a lifetime experience. They are spred far apart so whether full or not you never really see anyone else. The showers are unique and really a fun little added addition. Like showering outside but you really arent. A safe, a coffee maker and a little fridge are included. Breakfast is included also. Also included is all the wonderful jungle sounds to wake you up in the morning. True Costa Rica!

A security guard walks the grounds at nite and will show you wildlife if you wish. The grounds are also gated. Why I dont know as I never felt we were unsafe at anytime and the area is quite secluded. Not so secluded that you cant walk to a bar or restaurant. You just dont see our hear them from the treehouses.

The breakfasts were really good and when you had a trip or other plans they would even make you breakfast before the stated hours it was served. Very generous with the portions and giving extras if you wanted them.

There is a wonderful path to a river and a waterfall that you can swim in. It was a nice walk. We saw howler monkeys on the walk. The path is all trimmed and parts of it are paved. A little hilly on the way back but a nice easy climb. There are benches to rest along the way.

It is always tough to book a trip out of the country and Mark helped with every leg of it even when it didnt involve staying with them. They are truely special people that you can trust wtihout a doubt.

We will go back to Costa Rica and we will look up Mark and Lucy and Wilson and Jody again in the near future. They are truely our new friends.

There is no other choice you need to experience it for yourselves. Tree Houses Hotel is definately the place to stay. Give it a try you will love it too!!

Room Tip: They are all wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lynWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Tree Houses for four days with our two 2 teenage sons. Breakfast was excellent, wildlife abundant, the staff went above and beyond our expectations and tree houses are amazing. Mark and Lucy were able to help us schedule activities that the whole family enjoyed and ensured we had great guides at very reasonable prices. We spent time watching the sloths and monkeys and drank our coffee in the morning with the wild birds. If you are looking for beutiful surroundings , great rooms and an excape from the hustle and bustle this place is for you.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gosselinfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2011

The people running the tree house are awesome. Mark an Lucy are very helpful and very friendly. Helped us setup our adventures and tours we wanted to do and transportation to the next destination. Breakfast was amazing every morning and they always asked about your plans or how your previous day went. Monkey and sloths were visible everyday from our room and it was incredible. We had a wonderful experience there and would def recommend them if you are planning to stay in th area and willing to spend the extra money.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grl26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2011

The pictures tell the story. Lying in bed with floor-to-ceiling glass at the foot of the bed and beside...watching the howler monkeys foraging in the canopy..taking a shower with toucans just outside the open screened window...sleeping fruit bats above the entrance (very cute!). A balcony surrounds the entire treehouse. AC if you need it. Fell asleep to the sound of rain on the metal roof every night (and the occasional thump of tree fruit thanks to the monkeys!). Excellent hospitality. Mark is incredibly nice and helpful. The groundskeeper, Rolando, took us out for nocturnal sightseeing...saw a sloth, armadillo, tree frogs. A 30 minute drive to La Fortuna. You MUST do the caving tour (just make sure to bring a change of clothes!). Baldi hot springs was a blast. Forget the resort hotels and immerse yourself in the Costa Rican rainforest. I can't think of a better place to do it than the Tree Houses Hotel!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChiTownBound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2011

only stayed one nite, wished we could have stayed at least 2 nites. The sounds of the jungle was exilerating to say the least. The nite watchman came up to our tree house and we had a very good conversation. he took us out to the jungle at nite with flashlights. My husband and I actually had tree frogs in our hands. But the best was the red eyed tree frog, and the pictures were awsome to share with my family and friends.
The only thing that I have a complaint about is that once we got there, we had to travel a bit to go out for dinner. Where I wished we could have just stayed at our surroundings for dinner. The manager and his wife, are very very nice and accomodating. Best breakfast, the coconut french toast was delicious, along with all the fruit.
All the questions below ask about the night life etc. Well the nightlife is the jungle, you wouldn't go out looking for a disco while you are here, you want to experience living in the jungle. WHAT AN ADVENTURE ... Just try it and you will talk about it for the rest of your life.

Thanks

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BonnieandDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
13.0 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#4 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,896 reviews
14.1 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,362 reviews
14.0 mi away
Nayara Springs
Nayara Springs
#1 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,334 reviews
11.6 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,573 reviews
14.8 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 64 in Arenal Volcano National Park
2,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica

Address: 300 Meters Norte de Cementerio De La Florencia | Santa Clara, San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: $95 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tree Houses Hotel is a bed and breakfast hotel conveniently located off the main road that runs through La Fortuna and around the Arenal Volcano. We are a short 25 minute drive to the high tourist area. People seek us out with that in mind, to be away from it all but close enough to enjoy all the fun adventure the La Fortuna, Arenal Volcano area has to offer.We have just 5 tree houses (each very private) on 8 acres and we are surrounded by a 70 acre wildlife refuge with a waterfall, pools to swim and a beautiful river. Each tree house features A/C, warm water showers, refrigerators and safes.There are few hotels like this in the world and none other in Costa Rica. There is something so very exciting about spending the night high in the forest canopy, wildlife all around you, safe and cozy in a tree house hotel in Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tree Hotel In Costa Rica
Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing