We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Orange County, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay”
Reviewed January 5, 2010

We were treated to a wonderful two night stay at this hotel. Our travel to Arenal included a boat ride across the lake to La Fortuna which offered us spectacular views of the area. We also we greeted with clear skies and picture perfect view of the entire volcano. The views from the room were amazing. The rooms are very large, well appointed and perfectly arranged to allow you to view the volcano from the chairs, bed or in-room hot tub. The grounds of the hotel property are lovely. We really enjoyed the hot springs.

Service by all the staff was exceptional. We enjoyed spending a couple of hours by the pool one morning. We could not locate any towels, but a gardener saw us sitting on the lounge chairs and brought us towels. We had an early morning departure and the front desk manager opened the gift shop for our group which was much appreciated by all.

The restaurant was our only negative due to the noise level. It offered beautiful views, but because of the design it was extremely noisy. You had to shout to talk to others at the table. For the high prices on the food and wine we would have enjoyed a more pleasing experience and food could have been better.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewportBeacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    812
    296
    89
    27
    8
See reviews for
398
566
13
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Markham, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
264 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 305 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2009

Our next stop was La Fortuna and the Arenal Volcano. (This was a November Anniversary trip for my wife and I and included stays in San Jose, Tortuguero, La Fortuna (Arenal), Monteverde and Manual Antonio, before returning back to San Jose and our flight back to reality. You can find reviews of all of our stays by clicking on my profile and searching these out.) (what a trip!)

I used a local Tour company for all arrangements (hotels and excursions) in advance and for all transportation throughout Costa Rica. “CostaNica Tours” – We were very pleased with their service and drivers. The entire trip went like clockwork – no surprises or disappointments. Highly recommended.

Our driver transported us to La Fortuna, and aside from some scary roads, a bridge with a couple of holes in it (!) and a very cloudy day, the trip was smooth and enjoyable.

Unfortunately upon arrival in La Fortuna, we were greeted with a very overcast day – you could not even see the volcano. But not to worry, we were there for 3 nights and were optimistic we would be treated to great sights.

We were greeted by the Kioro staff and offered a cold drink of our choice while watching a flock of Toucans light about a large tree on the property. The day of our arrival happened to coincide with the date of our anniversary, and I had made some arrangements through our travel co’ for a private chef-inspired dinner that night in the restaurant. We were treated to a beautiful 7 course meal with all the right touches, including roses and chocolates for my wife – it was a great start to our stay here.

The first reaction to the room at the Kioro is to catch your breath – it was huge – with floor to ceiling windows to view the volcano that is literally at your doorstep. There is a separate sitting room with desk, and a hot tub in the room over-looking the Volcano as well. There is a separate bathroom and room with shower.

On our first night I awoke around 5 am and took a peek out our windows and as hoped the clouds had cleared and the early morning light gave way to the Volcano right before us. It was quite a sight – certainly gave you a perspective on the power of the mountain, the majesty, etc. We were treated to a full glorious cloudless day and enjoyed the property with the volcano always as our backdrop.

One important consideration for this hotel/property is the grounds and amenities available to you. Given the proximity to the volcano, the resort takes advantage of the natural hot springs and has designed a beautiful array of pools, hot springs, and waterfalls all surrounded by some of the most colourful and lush gardens we experienced in all of Costa Rica. There is a full serve bar close by so a Margarita or cold beer is within reach to enjoy while watching the occasional puff of steam/smoke and rumbling from the volcano. There was also a great fitness/games room and my wife even took advantage of the on-site spa for a treatment.

Breakfast was included and we enjoyed both menu service and a buffet. The selection was good as was the quality.

We also completed a couple of excursions while at the resort – a guided tour to the volcano and most recent lava field is a must. We completed ours in late afternoon and walked out just as darkness was setting – we were treated to a couple of eruptions while there, so this experience was particularly powerful. We were dropped at the Tabacon Hot Springs for dinner and use of the spa on our way out. This is an excursion we probably wouldn’t repeat – especially given the Arenal Kioro on site hot springs. The next day we also went Waterfall Rapelling with Pure Trek Canyoning and couldn’t recommend it highly enough. There was certainly a moment of intense fear or two when stepping off the platform and dropping down into the canyon below, but the tour group was excellent and we felt safe at all times.

We also managed to get into La Fortuna and enjoy a meal at a local restaurant and do a bit of shopping, etc. We felt safe at all times and our only challenge was narrowing down the many excellent looking local restaurants.

If I were to ‘knock’ the hotel on anything, I would have to comment on the internet being down and one of 2 PC’s was ‘dead’. It also would be great if they ran a shuttle into La Fortuna a couple of times a day – but small concerns in the big picture to be sure.

I believe the Arenal Kioro is one of the more expensive hotels in the area, but they clearly have a lock on ‘location’ as it seems to be the closest hotel to the volcano and the views and gardens, hot springs, etc are all worth the price of staying there. We stayed for 3 nights, and would have enjoyed more.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank harvman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west orange nj
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2009

beautiful rooms and gorgeous view of volcano. restaurant & food was not up to par.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vivianWestOrangeNj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2009

We stayed here for three nights in Nov 2009. The views from our room were simply amazing. The volcano fills up the entire wall of windows! Food at the restaurant was okay but service was outstanding. By day 2, they knew that our kids wanted chocolate milkshakes for every meal and greeted them by name. The grounds are beautifully maintained.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VKI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed December 1, 2009

Our family (myself, husband, and 12 and 9 year old daughters) enjoyed our stay at the Kioro. The grounds and view are just gorgeous! We were greeted with drinks of our choice and given a brief overview of the hotel. We were then escorted to our room and were given explanations on the Jacuzzi, safe, etc. The rooms were nice, nothing fancy. But the view of the volcano is unbelievable (when not shrouded in clouds.) We went to their hot springs - so nice after the long drive from Vara Blanca, and used their pool. We also used the jacuzzi in the room after our long days of touring. So nice to not have to go anywhere! And you can enjoy the view of the volcano while relaxing! Priceless!

We also took them up on their offer to watch videos of the excursions in their area. We found this so helpful! An employee sat down with us and went through all the details of the various tours we were interested in, and gave us suggestions as to what our daughters would really enjoy. After we had made our choices he reserved our spots and gave us driving directions, if necessary. We had a rental car so we were able to save the transportation $$ on the Sky Trek/Tram and Arenal Hanging Bridges. We also went on the Cano Negro River tour, which he arranged for us. He told us where to go to watch the lava flows at night. He was very helpful!

Our rate included a breakfast buffet, which was good. We ate one dinner there which we thought was pretty pricey, and not much for children to choose from. We ate our other dinners in La Fortuna. Our dinner at Las Brasitas was delicious, as was our dinner of terrific pizza and dessert at Anchio.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay at the Kioro Hotel and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aggiemomof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 24, 2009

Our overall 2 night stay was average/good. When we first arrived, we were greeted with complimentary drinks are were told to sit down and relax (the drinks were a nice touch as we just traveled from Manuel Antonio -Si Como No). The staff member (Rob) was welcoming and he showed us our room and then returned with a complimentary bottle of wine, for our honeymoon. The room was spacious, clean, had a jacuzzi, and had a good view of Arenal Volcano even though it is not the lava side of the volcano. After settling into our room we had dinner at Arenal Kioro's restaurant. The food was not that good and was approx. $100 (no alcohol). The next morning we went on the skytram/skytrek tour offered by the hotel and had a great time. We attempted to get additional information of other tours in the area and the staff was not helpful at all. The staff showed us an outdated video with a 30 second to 1 minute description of the excursions offered and were not able to provide additional information. The times the trips were offered were not consistent with the brochure provided. We asked about going to Tabcon Hot Springs and staff replied "why would you go there, we have our own Hot Springs." We also inquired about going to the Arenal Observatory Lodge for dinner with the hope of seeing an eruption so we asked how far it was and how much a cab would cost and staff replied "its just like any other hotel and restaurant....why go there" The response from the staff about the cost of the cab ride was $30 each way. This was the rate for the hotels driver.... not a local cab. At this point we felt trapped at the Kioro. Prior to going to Costa Rica we did a lot of research but did not book excursions in advance thinking the hotels would offer a variety of tours and vendors. The tours offered by the Kioro were limited and the staff was not helpful with using other vendors or transportation. We recommend booking tours in advance for this area of Costa Rica. If you are looking to relax and stay on the resort this could be the place for you. The rooms were nice, the Hot Springs on the resort were nice, and the grounds and view of the volcano were great.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank illkickyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Level 6 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2009

I was there with family and kids, but I definitely recommend this gorgeous property for honeymooners, couples and those who want to splurge it. The Spa is great, as are the open areas, pools and gardens. They even have their own private hot springs site, "Titoku" which as the rest of the resort is finely appointed.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crpuravida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
2.1 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,290 reviews
1.8 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,276 reviews
2.1 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,885 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 63 in Arenal Volcano National Park
2,404 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#4 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa

Property: Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa
Address: San Carlos, 10 km NE of La Fortuna, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica (Formerly Arenal Kioro)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#11 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#14 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Kioro offers a fabulous place with a natural viewpoint to the Arenal Volcano. The hotel has 27 acres of undulating land, surrounded by two streams (La Palma and Kioro) with crystalline waters that begin to flow in the Arenal Volcano National Park. It has two paths where plant species are identified. Besides, private thermal springs for our customer's delight. All our suites have:Two terraces with the best panoramic volcano and mountain view, hydro-massage, air conditioning, safe deposit box, minibar, coffee maker, hot water, direct dialing telephone, satellite television, hair dryer, key card, safety locks, internet connections. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Kioro Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing