We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arenal Kioro

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Arenal Kioro
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Our stay in Kioro was brilliant and the room was absolutely spotless and very large. I took advantage of the volcanic mud facial and it was very relaxing and lovely. The breakfast was brilliant, with a lot of choice and the option to have a typical Costa Rican style breakfast should you choose. The dinner was good however the choice on the menu was very small and not very good if you did not like meat. The pool and spa area were lovely and we took advantage of the table tennis. We really enjoyed our stay, thank you.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amyp1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,057 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    697
    255
    73
    25
    7
See reviews for
334
494
8
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Apex, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Terrific views, beautiful grounds, We saw Toucans! Coatis, Hummingbirds on site . Room was spacious and comfortable. Breakfast was great. Had nice dinner here. Even in the rainy season, this is a good place to stay. nice hot springs

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014 via mobile

This resort was definitely 5 stars because of the great service and great food. We booked a package that included free breakfast and free dinner. Some of my friends had steaks so that was great! The front desk staff were very nice and the bartender makes great drinks! The jacuzzi in the room was great and definitely added points. I recommend going to the spa! The massages are wonderful! The Hot springs are also very good because there are not a lot of people so it isn't crowded like other places. The view of the volcano is magnificent! Cannot wait to come back to this place in the future.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Crystal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay here. The rooms were really nice and clean. We had an excellent view of the volcano and the Hot Springs were to die for! You could easily spend hours in there. The complimentary breakfast was also awesome with a lot of variety to choose from. I wrote about this place on my blog and included quite a few pictures if you'd like to check it out:

http://notjustabroad.com/arenal-kioro-suites-and-spa-arenal-costa-rica/

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank notjustabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Had 2 separate rooms for family of 4 vacation. Biggest negative was they did not put both rooms in same building and were unable to accommodate this request during 3 nights we were there. The only other negative was quality of work out gym and pool tables. While gym was not expected to be large, I did expect the equipment to be functional. One of the 2 tread mills was unusable and the small universal weight machine broken. The pool tables were badly warped. Ping pong tables in decent shape. Hot springs enjoyable but hottest was cooler than typical temperature of a Jacuzzi.

Staff was the friendliest and most helpful we had during our stay in Costa Rica. They were always helpful in recommending and coordinating excursions.

In the one onsite restaurant, dinner food was good. Breakfast buffet was decent.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

The hotel was great! Everything about it was perfect except for the horseback ride they recommended. The massage was amazing, the food was great ( I have become addicted to casados and find myself frying plantains), and the proximity was awesome. We were close to the national park and the hanging bridges. The people there were great and very helpful. The only bad thing was the horseback ride.

Let me point out that there are two. The one ran by ALBERTO IS THE GOOD ONE. However, if you end up being picked up in a van with no AC and driven to a shed off the main road, welcome to hell. The horses are not fed, the guide was a clown who tied all the horses mouths shut for trying to eat since all their ribs were showing, he started an hour late, he made A LITTLE GIRL CRY, and we didn't ride through pasture. We rode between two electric fences and down a paved road. Mud everywhere and miserable horses.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BHandsomeface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

We were a family of 5 that stayed 3 nights. This was the first leg of our vacation and we couldn't have been happier. The rooms are huge. The in room jacuzzi is fantastic. The view of the volcano is incredible from each room. Unfortunately we only saw the volcano once during our stay. It was truly impressive how close you are to it. The grounds are beautifully maintained and the restaurant provided delicious food, although dinner was a bit pricey. The complementary breakfast buffet offered a wide range of options including a made to order egg station. Service was outstanding throughout Kioro!!! We were provided with complementary facials at the spa which was a nice surprise. The on site hot springs are also an added bonus!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kandis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
2.1 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,880 reviews
1.7 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 2,387 reviews
1.8 mi away
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
#2 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 2,941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 2,048 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#6 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 1,699 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#7 of 67 in Arenal Volcano National Park
5.0 of 5 stars 2,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Kioro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Kioro

Property: Arenal Kioro
Address: San Carlos, 10 km NE of La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#11 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#14 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Arenal Kioro 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Kioro offers a fabulous place with a natural viewpoint to the Arenal Volcano. The hotel has 27 acres of undulating land, surrounded by two streams (La Palma and Kioro) with crystalline waters that begin to flow in the Arenal Volcano National Park. It has two paths where plant species are identified. Besides, private thermal springs for our customer's delight. All our suites have:Two terraces with the best panoramic volcano and mountain view, hydro-massage, air conditioning, safe deposit box, minibar, coffee maker, hot water, direct dialing telephone, satellite television, hair dryer, key card, safety locks, internet connections. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Arenal Kioro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Kioro Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Arenal Kioro Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing