We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good option for a budget”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
105 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good option for a budget”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

This was the 3rd hotel we stayed in on our recent CR trip. It was also the lowest priced and I recommend it for anyone on a budget. If you aren't The Springs nearby is a higher end option. The grounds and landscaping are truly fantastic at the Kioro though. The pool doesn't compare to the higher end places but the tiered hot springs and hot tubs are great. We also had a 4 person hot tub in our room which I used after dinner every night. It is also the closest hotel to the volcano since it is actually on the volcano. Overall I liked the hotel and would go back especially when my kids get older and I want to put them in separate rooms since the rooms are reasonably priced.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank sj1234567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    756
    285
    86
    27
    8
See reviews for
366
543
10
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

One of my favorite hotels and I can't wait to go back!

Likes:
Large and well decorated rooms with AC. This was an upside surprise. Bathroom and shower are separated which is nice when there are several family members in a room.

Hot springs are on location and are next to the pool.

Beautiful landscaping and views.

Peaceful!

Restaurant is great with nice breakfast buffet. Lunch is served by the pool area. Dinner menu is nice but prices are like the U.S. Service is great. Coffee is awesome.

No riff raff whatsoever.

Dislikes
None, really, but I recommend you do nearby activities like hanging bridges, zipline, and kayaking.

Room Tip: Choose 2nd Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Owl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

Great experience at Arenal Kioro! Was recommended by our wedding party so we decided to give it a shot!

PROs:
* friendly and professional staff
* welcome drink at checkin - you can choose anything off their menu and the drinks are quite good. We had sangrias, the piña colada and beer!
* large spacious rooms with great views or Arenal as well as your own jacuzzi tub in the room
* the grounds are beautiful to walk through! the food delicious
* complimentary breakfast included a rather large spread of hot and cold items
* 8 hot springs on site that were open until 10pm. You also receive entrance to Titoku hot springs by staying here. The springs there are a lot hotter, but complimentary shuttle service is provided to get you here! Titoku only has a bar, but no food options so eat before you go
* complimentary mini volcano mud mask
* free shuttle into the city

CONs:
* a very long journey with windy dark roads to get to Arenal
* was told titoku was pen at 11 and when we went to take the shuttle, they informed us that the attendant forgot to do some thing and that the springs would open at 12. Then they called us and said 11:30. We waited for the driver in the shuttle for 15min and we were in a rush so that was a bit inconvenient.
* hot springs on site were rather cold at night and hot in the morning. I'm not sure if they pump more cold water into the pools at night to discourage people from using them

Overall, a fantastic stay. Would definitely recommend and return in the future!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goonttravel10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, Mexico
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

The best view of the Arenal Volcano, without exception. The suites were large, and all had indoor hot tubs and stunning views of the mountain. The pool and many hot springs were nestled in a botanical garden, filled with exotic birds and other critters.

But this is a resort that may be passing its prime. The buildings are a bit dated, and some of the facilities clearly need maintenance. The foot path lighting wasn't working, which made it challenging to get around after dark.

Room Tip: Upstairs suites have a better mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timjcollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, VA USA
Level Contributor
118 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

We spent two nights at this resort in the Arenal volcano area of Costa Rica. Our guest room was huge. The beds were wonderfully comfortable and the sheets were luxuriously soft.

The bathroom was divided into a sink/toilet section and then a shower section. There was no bath tub, only a hot tub in the guest room! I must say that it made the room so humid it was uncomfortable and it was difficult to get hand laundry to dry. I would have been happier in a room without a hot tub.

Our room had a view of the volcano and beautifully landscaped grounds. We were so far from town we ate all meals at the resort. I thought the food at breakfast and dinner was mediocre and would recommend eating elsewhere. Our two lunches by the pool were quite good (burgers and nachos), however.

I had a massage in the spa, which I highly recommend. The facility is well decorated and the personnel are first rate.

Room Tip: The resort has guest rooms in separate buildings on a hillside. If you have mobility issues, ask fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynnzie513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

My daughters (12 & 17) and I stayed here for three nights and absolutely loved it. Gorgeously landscaped grounds, huge luxurious rooms, stunning views and warm, helpful staff. Breakfast was excellent, but would recommend eating dinner in La Fortuna if possible, as food was overpriced and bland.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xinabess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

My family stayed at this hotel on a family trip to Costa Rica. We all thought it was a great place, and very comfortable. The hot springs were not very hot, but great anyway. The pool was warm and had a great view right next to it, as like he rest of the hotel. Overall, it was a nice place and my second favorite of all the hotels we stayed at.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grace C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
2.1 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,177 reviews
1.6 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,742 reviews
2.1 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,175 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#4 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,799 reviews
2.4 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa

Property: Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa
Address: San Carlos, 10 km NE of La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica (Formerly Arenal Kioro)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#11 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#14 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Kioro offers a fabulous place with a natural viewpoint to the Arenal Volcano. The hotel has 27 acres of undulating land, surrounded by two streams (La Palma and Kioro) with crystalline waters that begin to flow in the Arenal Volcano National Park. It has two paths where plant species are identified. Besides, private thermal springs for our customer's delight. All our suites have:Two terraces with the best panoramic volcano and mountain view, hydro-massage, air conditioning, safe deposit box, minibar, coffee maker, hot water, direct dialing telephone, satellite television, hair dryer, key card, safety locks, internet connections. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Kioro Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing