We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great views and quiet.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great views and quiet.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was great for our family. It was quiet and the gardens very pretty especially with the Volcano ever present in the background. My son enjoyed the ping-pong table. We all enjoyed their hot springs.
This beautiful location however sacrifices the proximity to la fortuna which was a hassle having to pay a taxi 8000 colones each way the equivalent to $16 one way into town! Thus when we would try to get dinner or lunch in la fortuna you had to factor in $32 on top of your meal or every time you went into town.
The hotel has a shuttle service that runs 2-5pm. This was not convenient enough for those looking to lunch or dinner in LA fortuna.
Having said that the hotel restaurant provides great meals. We just couldnt have casual-fine dining every night and wanted to try 'el typico'. Breakfast was included and is full buffet.
Stay here if you appreciate peace and quiet;the view;hot springs; want to stay and eat on the resort.. With minimal excursions to LA fortuna. Stay in La fortuna hotels if you feel you'll be going into town a lot.
The service is very good here.
A big Thanks to Felix at the front who checked us in AND found and returned my camera! Mucho Gracias!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank rey_reina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    747
    277
    84
    26
    8
See reviews for
357
539
9
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

I didn’t like this hotel. It is very well appointed (rather over-appointed), with very polite professional (too slick?) staff.
We were told when we arrived that it was advisable to book a table for dinner, so we did; but the dining room was about 25% occupied. The main courses were basically good ingredients covered with over-complicated and over-sweet sauces. The following evening we ate in the pool-bar which was simpler but still a bit much.
There was a large plastic/electric Jacuzzi plonked in the corner of our enormous room,which had more light switches than most houses.
I am sure that most of their clients just love it but for me it was soulless, dull and uninspiring; lacking in any sense of fun.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank p47rick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

From beging to end a wonderful experience, our room had two double beds, Jacuzze, couch, table armchairs, Walkin shower and a seperate Toilet, It was huge. Very clean throughout and attentention to detail was fantastic the Maid created different towel decoractions every day. Very green with option to change all linen every day if you wanted. We were lucky the volcano was clear on the first day, with plumes of smoke, we just sat facing the glass wall in awe of the view thrioiugh the glass wall. Dont expect this every day you are high up and it is a rain forrest. One of the guides explained Costa Rica moments one minute sun next torential rain the next cloud all in half an hour. One afternoon a storm blew in that lasted from 5pm till 6pm the next morning, again we watched it unfold. Dont forget the Binocs we spotted 7 species of Bird from the window and a further 5 in the grounds not counting the Armadilos, Pickories (pigs) Howler monkies all in the grounds, good tip walk the grounds at 6 am thats when the wild life begins, and take a camera walking to the restaurant. Food was not badly priced and of good quality, Happy hour from 6-7 helped, one noght we ordered room food great quality and lots of iot we thought it was a sandwich we had ordered but it came with fries and a club size. Positioned well for the Arenal forest walk, and did the boat tour down the Cano Negro a good day out if you are interested in wild life and can be booked with the Hotel. Although the whole of our tour was booked through Anywhere Costa Rica. You can have drinks and Meals by the swiming pool or in the multi pool spas pools going down the hill and watch the hunmming birds dart about your head. We did not use the spare of the Gym or games areas. Only down side is the Dehumidifier is noisy and remember to turn off teh Jacuzze after use as that can also be noisey. You can have drinks by the pool or in the multipole pool spas and watch the hunmming birds dart about your head.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kenshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, AZ
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

We recently stayed at this gorgeous hotel for one night in January. The rooms were very spacious with amazing views of Arenal. Keep in mind that the lava is not flowing right now but you have an unobstructed view of the volcano from each room. The food was great & the service was spot on. We thoroughly enjoyed the hotsprings on site. I am not sure that all hotels have them onsite but it is certainly convenient. Loved that there was a jacuzzi in the room. The bathroom was nice with a seperate large shower. I would stay there again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: All rooms have floor to ceiling views. We stayed in building 11 which was far from the front desk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zonabeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Kioro for three nights while traveling in Costa Rico for three weeks. Our room had one of the best views as it was one of the few at then end and on the third floor.....our window had nothing but jungle and volcano. The rooms were clean and very large. Big bathroom and more than enough room in our suite. The towel animals by the maid were fun to come home to each day. Breakfast was really good with eggs and omelet to special order. The staff was attentive but in the restaurant staff could be more friendly.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

Service was spectacular. Food was great. Room was nice and big. Beds were ok, not great comfort wise but worth it to see the volcano up close. The property was beautiful, immaculately curated. The natural hot spring pools were the bet. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladyrn360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

Our recent 2 night stay at Kioro was fantastic. The staff there was among the best I've ever seen, and seem very glad to help. They were always there when needed, even bringing us towels to the hot springs without being asked. Rudy, who helped with the checkin, called me by name throughout the stay, which I appreciated.

The grounds were beautiful, and the view of the volcano is outstanding, though the top was usually in the clouds. We really enjoyed the hot springs, much more than the commercial one at Eco-Termales, because there are a number of separate pools, maybe 8-10, so you can find one you don't have to share.

Our building only had 4 rooms, and each may be that way. The buildings are numbered 100 through 1200, which each farther from the reception and restaurants. One restaurant serves a buffet breakfast and a nice sit down dinner menu. The other, beside the pool, serves lunch. It is a pretty good walk from 1200 to reception, but it's on a beautiful path through tropical plants. All the meals were good, but not exceptional. The breakfast had rice and beans, meat, breads, cereals, fruits, etc., and a cook to prepare omelets or eggs. Lunch was hamburgers, fajitas, quesadillas, and some or dishes. Dinner menu included fish, steaks, chicken, pasta, etc., and was probably the best of the three meals. All were pretty expensive, but you are staying at a nice resort, and expect those prices.

Kioro is not within walking a distance of anything, and the main road is very busy, so plan on a taxi or a company to pick you up if you don't have a car. The grounds are very secure, with a manned guard gate at the beginning of a long drive up to the hotel. As a private, relaxing, full service resort, I strongly recommend Kioro. If you want to be in the middle of the action, this isn't the place.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
2.1 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,115 reviews
1.6 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,686 reviews
1.8 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#10 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,260 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#3 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,781 reviews
2.4 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa

Property: Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa
Address: San Carlos, 10 km NE of La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica (Formerly Arenal Kioro)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#11 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#14 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Kioro offers a fabulous place with a natural viewpoint to the Arenal Volcano. The hotel has 27 acres of undulating land, surrounded by two streams (La Palma and Kioro) with crystalline waters that begin to flow in the Arenal Volcano National Park. It has two paths where plant species are identified. Besides, private thermal springs for our customer's delight. All our suites have:Two terraces with the best panoramic volcano and mountain view, hydro-massage, air conditioning, safe deposit box, minibar, coffee maker, hot water, direct dialing telephone, satellite television, hair dryer, key card, safety locks, internet connections. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Kioro Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing