We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views of the volcano mountain”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Positive: The rooms provide a nice view of the cloudy but exciting mountain and the spa pools are nice and warm with a beautiful landscape .
Negative: Rooms have a moldy smell and although big are not cosy.
The same can be said about the hotel itself, except pool area.
Service and food are only acceptable. We were there on New Year's Eve .
That could be an excuse for not great service but not for the food.

Room Tip: Facing the volcano mountain and hope for a not cloudy day!!!
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isabela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,250)
There are newer reviews for Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

593 - 599 of 1,250 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2014

We never saw the upper part of the volcano although our room had a great view of it, it was cloud covered the whole time we were here. Our room was lovely with a hot tub right in the room! Beds were comfortable, the shower had abundant hot water out of an overhead shower head. The air conditioning was not powerful enough and we were a little warm; it couldn't maintain a completely comfortable temperature. The multiple hot spring pools were a plus.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vpoleshuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Stayed for two days in early December. Lush grounds, amazing views and huge rooms are the first things I remember about Kioro. Understand a couple other nearby places are equally nice but really couldn't complain about much there. Probably the closest facility to the volcano and great views from every room a big plus. Complimentary breakfast was excellent, dinner was decent also. With the suite situated in the direction of the volcano and the huge sliding balcony doors open, early morning listening to the birds with a passing torrential shower while being tucked in bed, was surreal. Had a great massage at the spa, soaked in the thermal pools and just walking on the winding paths checking out the foliage was a treat. Workout room could use a little attention, but really everything else was great. If you are looking for a place near the volcano you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: A third floor room close to the lobby and restaurant would be my choice. The walk from other buildin...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robear1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Hotel is the 3rd nicest in Arenal (behind The Springs & Tabacon). Great view of Volvano, large comfortable rooms. Hotel is a bit dated and has no activities beyond pool. Needs to upgrade fitness room.

Room Tip: Get a room near reception (Bldg 1-4) and confirm that Hot Springs are working.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

This is by far the most beautiful hotel I have ever stayed in. Whoever designed this hotel left nothing to chance.
Every room has an incredible view of arenal volcano.
The greeting you receive on check-in makes you feel like you're royalty. The actual Roos are beyond what I expected.
This was the ultimate arenal location experience.
Had a massage in the spa. Amazing!!!!!!

Room Tip: Every room is great
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ew321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed for 3 days in Arenal Kioro and loved every minute of it. The full view of the volcano from our room was spectacular. The grounds of the hotel with its varied flowering plants, the hot water springs and relaxing lounges had us wishing we could stay longer. The service was good and staff is very friendly though the dining choices could be better. The breakfast spread made up for the other meals though:-).

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sreeram N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We had a quick but awesome visit to this hotel. Kids loved the jacuzzi in the rooms! The rooms are huge. Easily could sleep a family of 4. The staff was wonderful, rooms and views were beautiful. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: All the rooms have great views...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank atltravelgirl35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
2.1 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,311 reviews
2.1 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,473 reviews
1.8 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 63 in Arenal Volcano National Park
2,421 reviews
1.6 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,934 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#3 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa

Address: San Carlos, 10 km NE of La Fortuna, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica (Formerly Arenal Kioro)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#11 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#14 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: $186 - $348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Kioro offers a fabulous place with a natural viewpoint to the Arenal Volcano. The hotel has 27 acres of undulating land, surrounded by two streams (La Palma and Kioro) with crystalline waters that begin to flow in the Arenal Volcano National Park. It has two paths where plant species are identified. Besides, private thermal springs for our customer's delight. All our suites have:Two terraces with the best panoramic volcano and mountain view, hydro-massage, air conditioning, safe deposit box, minibar, coffee maker, hot water, direct dialing telephone, satellite television, hair dryer, key card, safety locks, internet connections. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Kioro Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing