We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Resort and Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Dunedin, Florida
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Resort and Location”
Reviewed July 29, 2008

We stayed at Arenal Kioro for 3 nights as part of an Adventures by Disney trip to Costa Rica. The hotel was beautiful, all the rooms faced the volcano. We went to the other side of the volcano for zip lining, and saw the volcano erupt. The next night we went back and saw the volcano erupt again. Fantastic sight!

The grounds at the hotel are very tropical, lush and well maintained. The staff was very accommodating. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ktkmeeko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    783
    289
    87
    27
    8
See reviews for
376
558
12
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Catalonia
1 review
Reviewed July 18, 2008

We stayed for 4 days in Arenal Kioro. The hotel is very nice and the gardens and volcano view are impressive. The best of all is the staff who are very professional and friendly. They helped a lot to find our lost baggage.

Outdoor jacuzzis are very nice and our children loved them

Location is about 10 minutes taxi drive from La Fortuna, but we do not consider this as an incovenient as the site is excellent.

The only inconvenient is that it is a bit overpriced

  • Liked — Friendly staff. Hotel enviroment
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Piulin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
1 review
Reviewed June 28, 2008

The Arenal Kioro was really good. You have a hot tub in your room and a big shower. You get 3 beds, 2 queen and 1 single. The pool is warm. The food is great. The view is the best. The maid is good. There are cats walking around. In the game room there is ping pong and pool. There is some bad stuff. Our air vent didn't work. The smell in the bathroom. The hot springs didn't work when I went. Some adventures you should go on are the zip line, hike with the butter flies, and to the hot springs not in the hotel.

  • Liked — every thing
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank youngsco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY, NY
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2008

We had 2 rooms side by side. The smell is musky, rooms dirty and dark.There was a snake in our bathroom. It's not worth the extra money, you won't be able to see a volcano anyway, clouds. Over prised, not a 5 star hotel. We had bugs in both rooms. Jacuzzi dirty. Bed sheets were damp from humidity, no central air, small unit in the wall. Planned to stay for 3 nights but lasted only one. No refund was offered by the hotel.The grounds are pretty but far from all the action.
Rooms are far from the lobby, the hotel personal drives you to your room all uphill (that's if they have a car available). Disappointing to say the least.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — snake and bugs in the room
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Kykla100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2008

This hotel is luxurious, you can't deny that. We travelled there slightly off peak towards the end of May and the place was virtually empty, which gave it a quite spacious feeling but it was a bit strange being the only people in the hot springs on an evening.

The rooms are well appointed as you would expect for the price, and have stunning views of the volcano (non active side!) when the cloud cover breaks, which it does occasionally. The staff are friendly, as is nearly always the case in Costa Rica and as you would expect waste no time in getting you to sign up to the trips, which are expensive but were worth the money.

There are really only a couple of things to point out to you by way of advice if you are thinking of staying here: firstly, don't eat at the restaurant in the hotel. It's a complete rip off and you will get better food for a third of the price at Don Rufino's or elsewhere in La Fortuna town centre. Secondly, this hotel, by virtue of being close to the volcano, is quite far out (10km) from La Fortuna itself so you will need to get a taxi into town each evening, which we thoroughly recommend doing.

We would probably not stay there again as it was a one-off luxury trip but if you do fancy seeing fireworks from the volcano at night, the arenal observatory lodge is the only property on the right side of the volcano to see this.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank davyjcrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, FL
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2008

Just left the hotel and felt it necessary to review it as soon as possible. To give you reference on my travel experience: My wife, brother and I have traveled the world, staying in 4- and 5-star hotels.

The hotel is cleary very nice. There's not much out toward the volcano, so if you are like me, it is a decision between Kioro and Tabacon. We briefly visited Tabacon, but I cannot offer any review about it. I can, however, give you these important points:

1. Every other hotel in Costa Rica provides some type of refreshment as a courtesy upon arriving a the hotel. It's just a wonderful bit of hospitality to greet you after traveling through the jungle. Kioro will also offer you something, but it is going on your tab. Be aware.

2. This staff (like most other CR hotels) is pleasant but definitely will push their own agenda. We wanted an outside telephone line so we could arrage a tour. The operator basically wouldn't tell me how to do it without knowing who I was calling and why. Too intrusive. Too pushy.

3. STAY AWAY FROM THEIR $45/PP NIGHT TOUR OF THE VOLCANO. A total and utter rip off. The three of us hired a guide and car for the ENTIRE DAY (including the evening viewing of the volcano) for $100. There is no reason whatsoever you should pay $45/pp for a 10 min car ride up the street. Don't let them draw you in with their video of it either (another added cost push they hit you with at check in). It seems like a time-share strategy for selling excursions.

4. The room is nice and SPACIOUS. The woman making my reservation (hotel employee) was not clear on the telephone just how much room there is. Each suite can hold 5 people easy. We ended up getting 2 rooms (a 10 person capacity) for just the three of us. I'm not sure how calculated that was on the hotel's part.

5. Kioro has the worst restaurant food of any place we've been to in Costa Rica hands down. This includes the nothing "airports" in the middle of nowhere. I had a chicken sandwich in which the sticky, disgusting cheese had somehow permanently bonded with the upper layer. Terrible. Each lunch and dinner was an atrocious experience. Burned arepas, burned sweet plaintains, burned cheese, the worst arroz con pollo we've ever had. The list goes on. Stay away.

6. Kioro does have "hot springs", but they are not true thermals. This fact is disguised. Personally I couldn't tell the difference between true thermals (we went to Eco Thermales which was awesome) and the Kioro layered jaccuzzi. You will need to decide for yourself, but you should know that their "thermals" are not true volcano thermals. Tabacon does, however, have true thermals.

7. This hotel is not on the active side of the volcano. Only the Arenal Observatory Lodge is on the active side.

8. Finally, this hotel does not know how to handle issues. We made 8 telephone calls (after finally getting the dial out code), however we were under the impression calls were free. There was no notice on the phone and the staff did not mention anything. Come bill time they hit us for $20 for literally 5 minutes of calls. We expressed to them that it is unfair to take advantage of tourists for $1/min without being clear that calls are charged. Despite the fact we plunked down $1500.00 at this place the management refused to give us any courtesy on this issue. Because of this, I told the hotel staff I was writing this review.

I so rarely give long, biting reviews but this hotel really had it coming. Yes, it is nice. Yes, the volcano is right there. But it is too expensive and there are too many other hang ups. If we ever come back to Arenal we would stay at Tabacon.

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
13 Thank SearchforExcellence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2008

We and another couple stayed here for 4 nights. The road from San Jose is not as bad as we thought, but make sure to start driving as early as possible, since the fog creeps in starting early afternoon on the roads. The hotel is located literally on the slopes of Arenal, a few miles up from town. The room was very large and clean, with beautiful large windows that looked out onto the hotel's garden and up to the volcano. The rooms have AC, and there is a large hot tub in the room. The whole property is pretty new and everything is maintained beautifully. The property is very quiet and relaxing, and since there are only 50 or so guestrooms, none of the facilities are ever crowded. Great breakfast spread, and free internet in the lobby. Concierge was helpful in showing what tours we could take but we opted to generally drive down into town to the Desafio office and book tours directly with them. It's very helpful to have a car while there, since the town is not within walking distance. To do musts in this area are white water rafting and the horseback ride (or zipline) to La Fortuna waterfalls. Only con was the hot springs, which seemed more like hot tubs than mineral springs. We didn't go to Tabacon so don't know what we missed out on, but overall thought the hot springs were overrated.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank istriche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
2.1 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,235 reviews
1.6 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,822 reviews
2.1 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,222 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#5 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,821 reviews
2.4 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa

Property: Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa
Address: San Carlos, 10 km NE of La Fortuna, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica (Formerly Arenal Kioro)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#11 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#14 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Kioro offers a fabulous place with a natural viewpoint to the Arenal Volcano. The hotel has 27 acres of undulating land, surrounded by two streams (La Palma and Kioro) with crystalline waters that begin to flow in the Arenal Volcano National Park. It has two paths where plant species are identified. Besides, private thermal springs for our customer's delight. All our suites have:Two terraces with the best panoramic volcano and mountain view, hydro-massage, air conditioning, safe deposit box, minibar, coffee maker, hot water, direct dialing telephone, satellite television, hair dryer, key card, safety locks, internet connections. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Kioro Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing