We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Just enjoy the view!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arenal Kioro

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arenal Kioro
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Just enjoy the view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

After Tortuguero, the Kioro was a luxurious contrast. We loved our room with splendid views of the Volcano. It is quite something to enjoy your morning coffee sitting watching the cloud clear from the volcano, which actually showed its entire self to us. The gardens are lovely to walk around - complete with hummingbirds, toucans and many other wonderfully coloured and bright birds. Give the hot springs a go. Naturally hot water to relax in! Get up early and enjoy the springs all to yourselves!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 186478Claire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,019 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    668
    249
    72
    23
    7
See reviews for
317
481
8
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Kioro - our room was plenty big for 2 adults, 3 kids - they even brought in another cot bed so our kids would not have to share. The grounds are v nice, hot springs with amazing views of the volcano. The restaurant was v good but pricey - however the restaurants in La Fortuna are not that much cheaper. The volcano is worth the trip just be prepared for it to be there one minute and gone the next - the clouds cover it up very quickly!

Room Tip: All the rooms have excellent views of the volcano.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PMPhilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katy,Texas
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

My family of four stayed here Aug 2-5 2013.I really liked this resort and would tell my friends
to stay here for sure.The hot spring on site are great.I think i count 9-10 different pools and even my kids loved them.There isnt much of a pool but who needs one when you have the springs.I do want to address the most common complaint the food at night.we ate there once and though it was
good.The thing I think most people dont realize is all food in Arenal and Costa Rica is expensive.Lastly I want to thank the front desk for getting my son who was sick a Dr at night.That saved the trip

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rmyoung281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

My husband and I honeymooned in Costa Rica. We arrived at Alrenal Kioro after a 3 hour drive, 2 hour flight, 5 hour layover, 5 hour flight, and 2 hour drive. Needles to say, we were exhausted! We received welcome drinks, and a ride to our room. The room was amazing. It was very spacious and clean. Free Wi-Fi is a great perk. We loved having a hot tub in the room but it seemed to be so full that it overflowed every time we got in it. I wish it had come with operating instructions!

The view from our room was unbeatable. Every room on the property has an unobstructed view of the volcano. The grounds are beautifully maintained. We explored the trails between our room, the pool area and the main restaurant. We had a bit of trouble figuring out the meal schedule. One brochure said the pool area restaurant was open, but when we got there we were sent to the main restaurant. It took us several days to realize breakfast was included.

We felt like we had the entire resort to ourselves. We had the entire pool area to ourselves several times, and always had plenty of privacy in the hot springs.

The food was good, we had some fantastic drinks as well.

We booked 1 excursion through the hotel- the Hanging Bridges tour. I highly recommend it. Their contracted company was very professional and put on a good tour.

We were in Costa Rica for 2 weeks and planned to do a bit of laundry while we were there. We hand't realized there are no public laundromats around. We checked the prices at Arenal Kioro and they seemed a bit high to us. Our next hotel was double the price! Same goes for mailing post cards, Arenal Kioro would mail postcards for you for $1 each, our next hotel was $2! (Luckily we declined, and later learned the mail service is so unreliable it was unlikely our mail would have reached its destination).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank singandstuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuckintx
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Our family stayed at the Arenal Kioro for 3 nights recently. It was amazing. The greeting and check-in process was not only easy, but so warm and friendly. The rooms are spacious, well-appointed and very clean. Ask for a 2nd floor room if they have one available because the view of the volcano is spectacular. The grounds are a wonder of their own. The plants, trees and flowers are just lovely. You can walk around the entire property and enjoy the flora and fauna. The pool and hot springs are great and weren't crowded when we were there. We ate at both restaurants while we were there. The food was excellent and the service was absolutely top notch.

They gave us a complimentary mud mask at the spa which I went and enjoyed. The spa is beautiful and the treatment was more than just a mud application - it was a mini-facial. If you have time, do this!

We would definitely return and stay here. The service in all areas was so wonderful and the location and views are breathtaking. This is a really wonderful place!

Room Tip: ask for second floor so you can have the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tweedybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Our family of four stayed here in June 2013 and really enjoyed it. It's very quiet but the rooms are spacious and nicely appointed. The restaurant was respectable but I'd recommend you ask the price of the special before you order it -- we had a nice dinner but the special was priced a LOT higher than other entrees. Breakfast buffet was excellent. Wifi in the rooms wasn't the best but not terrible.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lissa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stayed at Arenal Kioro Resort last week. We really enjoyed our trip and the hotel did a great job of welcoming us and getting us set up in our new room. Tip #1, insist on an upstairs room in a building on a higher elevation so that the views are better. Also, because the floors are tile, you will hear everything above you. We stayed in both rooms because we extended our vacation.
The room was very nice and spacious, comfortable beds, etc. The shower pressure is inconsistent so you might notice it changing while you are showering, no big deal.
One of the great things about the resort is the "free" breakfast. They have an awesome buffet with a large variety of different breakfast items..highly recommended. The coffee was also excellent! We found the servers, while friendly, to be a little on the slower side so make sure you are proactive about being served in a timely fashion.
The overall service was good, nothing worth writing home about--but the individuals were pleasant and helpful enough. The service by the pool/hot springs area was slow and the servers were generally not enthusiastic about providing service.
The restaurant is decent for dinner (we didn't eat lunch there) but the variety of the menu is lacking, a bit expensive and does not feature any traditional Costa Rican food which is a bit bizarre. If you can, go into town and eat at one of the many fantastic restaurants there for lunch and dinner.
Overall we really enjoyed our visit to Arenal Kioro. The view from the hotel room is incredible and almost a little surreal--to be so close to a volcano. We recommend the resort in general--however if we did return would likely try someplace different just for variety. For activities, we highly recommend the hanging bridge tour--not recommended for those very afraid of heights--, the hotel uses Green Tours or Vacations (I forget the specific name)..we were with guides Luis and Huberth, they were both fun and knowledgeable. You sign up at the front desk.

Room Tip: Higher elevation buildings and second floor rooms are recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jandr022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
1.7 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 2,273 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,827 reviews
2.1 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
#2 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 2,866 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 67 in Arenal Volcano National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 2,045 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#6 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 1,653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Kioro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Kioro

Property: Arenal Kioro
Address: San Carlos, 10 km NE of La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#11 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#14 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Arenal Kioro 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Kioro offers a fabulous place with a natural viewpoint to the Arenal Volcano. The hotel has 27 acres of undulating land, surrounded by two streams (La Palma and Kioro) with crystalline waters that begin to flow in the Arenal Volcano National Park. It has two paths where plant species are identified. Besides, private thermal springs for our customer's delight. All our suites have:Two terraces with the best panoramic volcano and mountain view, hydro-massage, air conditioning, safe deposit box, minibar, coffee maker, hot water, direct dialing telephone, satellite television, hair dryer, key card, safety locks, internet connections. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Arenal Kioro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Kioro Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Arenal Kioro Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing