We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing View!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing View!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2011

I am so glad we started our first trip to Costa Rica at this hotel. After driving from San Jose in the middle of a thunderstorm, we needed the beauty and sanctity of this hotel. The grounds are so beautiful and lush, and the VIEW of the volcano is spectacular! The rooms are very private- not like typical hotels where there's hundreds of other guests and rooms. You are set apart from others, yet you don't have to walk too far to get to the main house. Breakfast each morning was delicious. The staff was very attentive to all of our questions and needs. We enjoyed the hot springs and pool (as well as the pool bar!). I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nmignogna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    758
    285
    86
    27
    8
See reviews for
367
544
10
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

Our room was unbelievable! We had a hot tub (not a big bath tub, an actual backyard-type hot tub) IN the room, and the view from the big windows of our room was right out at the volcano (when low clouds didn't cover it, of course...). We also had a great rain shower in its own room separate from the toilet and sink, and the room itself in all details was top of the line and beautiful.
The grounds were nice, although the pathways are so meandering that it takes more time to get from place to place, and it is a bit spread out. The on-site hot springs were a nice plus, and they cascade from pool to pool - very cool and relaxing! The regular swimming pools were a bit small.
The only real negative about this place was the food. The dining room where breakfast and dinner is served felt too much like a cafeteria, and the food there was just okay. The lunch spot by the pool, however, was plain bad. Easy food like burgers and nachos didn't even taste right, and - in terms of food quality - it was really pretty terrible to eat there in general.
I'd definitely stay here again, I just wouldn't eat at their lunch spot.
We also booked two tours through the hotel. The horseback ride to the waterfall was unbelievable and one of the highlights of our trip - highly recommended! Just be aware that after you get off your horse, it's a serious walk up and down stairs - at least 10 mins worth each direction - to actually get to the fall, so we only wound up with maybe 10 mins to hang out by the fall and get in the water, but well worth it! The horseback ride itself was awesome.
We also did the "hike to the volcano" - what a ripoff! This was something like $55 a person, and it was more of a nature stroll at the foot of the volcano - we didn't get much closer to it than at the hotel! We did see some cool wildlife, but there was only maybe half an hour of actual walking (it seemed like our guide kept stopping and stalling - beyond the regular "guide talk" - to make it take longer), the only "lava beds" we saw looked pretty much like any other igneous rocks on a hike, and the price seemed completely disproportionate to what we got. If I went again I'd take a cab over to the nature preserve and stroll around without the guide.
Arenal is a beautiful volcano, but you see it in the background when here and in the neighboring town of Fortuna, you never really get up close and personal. To actually get to a crater and check out a volcano up close you need to go to the Poas Volcano outside of San Jose (wish we'd known this when planning!).

Room Tip: It seems like every room here is beautiful and looks right out at the volcano.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DanielSan1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2011

The Arenal Kioro was a wonderful place to stay. The grounds were beautiful and the pools and natural hot springs was spectacular. Our hotel room was spacious with grand views of the volcano which was amazing to wake up to in the morning. The only complaint would be to axe the in-suite hot tub. It was totally unnecessary and it looked bad. In july during the "green season" there resort was not packed and we felt like we had the place to ourselves. I would not hesitate staying here again. Absolutely loved it!

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott29556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2011

I was traveling with family that included two couples in their thirties, one with 9 year old son, and my parents, both in their 60s. We all enjoyed Kioro!

After a long drive from the Liberia airport, we were ready to relax. When we arrived at Kioro, the check-in process for the 7 of us was fantastic. We were given complimentary drinks (the piña coladas were the best I've had), sat down in a lovely open-air seating area of the reception, and allowed to just enjoy the view, breeze, and our drinks while they checked us in. We even got vouchers for a free 15 minute facial for one person in each room, but we unfortunately didn't make time to use them.

When we finished our drinks we were shown to our rooms and all of us had a major wow moment when we opened the curtains to the balcony and saw Arenal SO close. It was an amazing view. Unfortunately Arenal has been fairly dormant for a few months, so we didn't see any action, but it was still amazing.

The rooms were nice - VERY spacious, bubbling hot tub in the corner, king size bed, little sitting area, balcony, great walk-in shower in the bathroom, and even a little daybed and desk area divided from the rest of the room by a half-wall.

We walked the little paths from our rooms through the beautiful tropical gardens to the pool area, and then tried out the thermal pools (very fun!). We ate in the restaurant for dinner and breakfast and we all were pleased. I didn't have my socks knocked off by the food, but it certainly wasn't bad, as some reviews have mentioned, and my sister thought this was the best breakfast she had throughout our trip.

It was a great start to our vacation and so fun to be so close to the volcano.

Room Tip: The upper level rooms in buildings 4 and 5 have the best views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CandiceAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hollywood, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2011

I consider myself a well rounded traveler. Over 14 years (and on my companies expense account) I have stayed at several 4 Seasons and Ritz Carltons. These are not properties I stay at when I pay myself. I consider myself a budget traveler who likes to get the best value for <$150.00 per night. This place far exceeded my expectations. The rooms were huge! I don't know about the ground floors but the top floors have vaulted ceilings which must be 20 feet high. The view of the volcano or beauty of their grounds is not done justice by their website. The staff was very helpful and friendly. If I had a criticism it would be that the prices in the restaurant were higher than I expected but the talapia I had was very good. The WiFi wasn't working upon arrival but they had it fixed within 2 days and it was VERY fast! On your drive to the resort you will pass many places with large beautiful entrances. Don't be fooled by Arenal Kioro's modest guard house and entrance. It's literally all "up hill" from there.

Room Tip: Any 2nd flr room in building 100, 200, 300, or 400
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pageiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2011

Room was great, front and centre view of the volcano. We were patient enough to wait out the morning clouds and decided against going to the observatory because the guides said that our hotel was just as good.

Didn't get to use our private hot tub because we were so busy enjoying the hotsprings and pool. Was a great time to relax and enjoy the pressure of the hotspring falls melting the tension away. I also tried a mud mask at the spa -really great too.

We were four adults in the same room, really comfortable and spacious. Huge stand up shower and seperate bathrooms with 2 sinks.

The gounds were extremely well kept. I would go back to this hotel again.

Room Tip: Go to Christian Super Market to buy groceries
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelgalAug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
119 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2011

I was a bit disappointed by three nights in Arenal Kiori. Part of that was beyond the hotel's control -- the volcano was obscurred by clouds. But there were also problems that shouldn't happen in an expensive resort. Despite a number of requests, the hotel never did fix the hot tub in our room. We couldn't get it above 90 degrees. Since the hot tubs in the room are a key attraction, they should have fixed it or gotten us another room. The food in the dining room was decent but not exceptional. The wait staff was sometimes inattentive and a tad bit surly, especially for Costa Rica where everyone is generally mellow and happy. The maid shut off the AC as a matter of policy when she did the room, so that we returned to a swelter. Small stuff, but not what one should expect when paying that price.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldruggedx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KioroCostaRica, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa, responded to this review, June 30, 2011
Thanks for your comment. All the staff at the hotel apologize for the inconvenient. We see this as an opportunity to improve our services and provide a better customer service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
2.1 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,180 reviews
1.6 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,751 reviews
2.1 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,179 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#5 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,802 reviews
2.4 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa

Property: Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa
Address: San Carlos, 10 km NE of La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica (Formerly Arenal Kioro)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#11 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#14 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Kioro offers a fabulous place with a natural viewpoint to the Arenal Volcano. The hotel has 27 acres of undulating land, surrounded by two streams (La Palma and Kioro) with crystalline waters that begin to flow in the Arenal Volcano National Park. It has two paths where plant species are identified. Besides, private thermal springs for our customer's delight. All our suites have:Two terraces with the best panoramic volcano and mountain view, hydro-massage, air conditioning, safe deposit box, minibar, coffee maker, hot water, direct dialing telephone, satellite television, hair dryer, key card, safety locks, internet connections. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Kioro Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing