We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$200
$183
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$474
$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$289
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arenal Lodge(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$109
$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Lomas del Volcan(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$162
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$178
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arenal Manoa Hotel(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$124
$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Volcano Lodge & Springs(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$169
$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $74/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$86
$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Nayara Springs(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$563
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (218)
Filter reviews
218 results
Traveler rating
58
45
62
34
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
58
45
62
34
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsarenal volcanolavashhot wateractive volcanogrounds are beautifuleftubwildlife
Filter
Updating list...
67 - 72 of 218 reviews
Reviewed November 6, 2010

This hotel has become our "happy place". When we talk about where we want to be, or where we would like to settle down, we always end up describing Lavas Tacotal. From the absolutely incredible views of the volcano to the little towel animals left on our beds each day, and everything in between, this place was beautiful, peaceful, and memorable. The bar/dining area is open and clean and serves great Costa Rican food. The pools are clean and the landscaping is lush. And the service was helpful, friendly, and attentive. We will be back.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Need2TravelGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2010

The staff at this hotel were all extremely generous and hospitable. When they weren't busy, they gave us a ride here and there so that my friend and I didn't have to take a cab. I also mentioned, in spanish, to a staff member that I love avocado, and within 5 minutes he brought me one! Very friendly and outgoing staff, but the food was not amazing. The view of the volcano was incredible and the landscaping was really nice too. The room was clean enough, but our hot water didn't work for the first two nights, although it was remedied after we told the hotel manager. Overall, a clean and friendly hotel with a great view and incredible animal sounds at night!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rls113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2010

The hotel was beautiful.. The view was just breathtaking, as you walk to either your cabin or room you walk through beautiful paths of flowers and trees with lots of wildlife and right in front of you is the beautiful arenal volcano. This hotel has 2 pools that were so nice to take a dip in. The bartender Ruth was the best server with great customer service skills. The Owner Frederico always made sure that everything was to our likings. We loved it here and definitely recommend it to anyone wanting a peaceful retreat.
Thanks Tacotal
Annette

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jannettebug81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2010

Decent hotel, rooms were clean and breakfast was good. It is located right under the volcano and when its clear out you can see it to the top. The computer in the lobby doesn´t work because it was so overloaded with viruses and the wifi signal was very weak and only worked inside reception. There isn´t much in walking distance so if you don´t have a car you may want to stay closer to the main town or you´ll have to take a taxi anytime you wish to come or go.
The mattress wasn´t very good at all but I´ve come to the conclusion that 99% of beds in Costa Rica are awful anyways. Other than that there wasn´t much to complain about and Tabacon springs was only a short distance.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DejaDoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2010

Stayed here three nights. Nice hotel, beautiful landscaping. Floors were very slippery, be careful especially if its rainy out. There was a coffee maker in room -- but no mugs or coffee!! Went to desk to inquire about coffee for it, was told they did not provide it -- ugh, so tacky. Take them out of the rooms, then! I did not appreciate being teased with the promise of coffee first thing in the morning. Front desk staff were minimally helpful and indifferent. Restaurant, bar, and housekeeping staff were quite helpful and friendly. Food was decent, prices a bit higher than I thought they should be. Nice view of the volcano, was lucky to see the whole thing. Upper pool was nice, clean, not heated. Weather was not warm, pool really should have been heated. Spacious grounds, interesting plants. Comfortable, clean, spacious rooms. Good A/C. They do need to put screens on the patio doors. Do not let your guard down, even for a minute -- while I was away from the room for 3 hours at Baldi hot springs, someone gained entry to our room and stole my departure tax money out of my backpack. Not a lot of money, but a pain in the butt nevertheless. Costa Rica will remain a third world country if people continue to steal from the tourists that visit. I will never stay at this hotel again, and cannot recommend it. Stay at Arenal Springs Resort instead.

  • Stayed: February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrodieKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews