We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$106
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Arenal Manoa Hotel(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $115/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Lomas del Volcan(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Arenal Lodge(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$220
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$332
$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$332
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Volcano Lodge & Springs(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$169
$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$170
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nayara Springs(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$563
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (218)
Filter reviews
218 results
Traveler rating
58
45
62
34
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
58
45
62
34
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsarenal volcanolavashhot wateractive volcanogrounds are beautifuleftubwildlife
Filter
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 218 reviews
Reviewed December 11, 2009

i visited the lavas tacotal for 4 nights in early december. the whole stay was good, though there were a few problems, none though were the hotel's fault. there was a lull in tourism at the time, so the hotel was empty, and as a result there was not much to do with other people. otherwise, the room was great with a beautiful view of the volcano. the whole hotel was cleaned daily, even with few tourists, and the breakfast guy was simply amazing. one day we were in a rush in the morning and he went out of his way to make us a packed breakfast ... one night we came back at 4am and the guard and i were teaching each other spanish/english while having a cup of coffee by the pool. the location was a bit out of town, but didnt cost too much to get to town and the nightclub nearby. overall a great experience, the staff were very welcoming and flexible to our needs. would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paplahozy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2009

surprisingly high quality for being "in the middle of nowhere". good food, great staff, amazing view of the volcano day and night. two good pools, nice bar, free internet (weak at times), close to volcano, hiking, hot springs, downtown shopping. highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpanishTeacherHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2009

Funny, considering the sparsity of reviews, that we seem to have been the other guests referred to in the earlier postings. We too noted how empty the property was. We were only there two nights but seldom shared the dining room with more than one other table of guests. We stayed in a bungalow and paid $89 a night which I thought to be reasonable. There are tons of other hotels in the area so maybe you could do better on the Value-Price ratio but I was happy with the hotel.

The rooms were adequate although we had trouble with hot water but I would recommend Lavas to a friend because of the friendliness of the staff. Janette at the front desk tolerated my bad Spanish with a smile and helped us with all of our plans, going out of her way to make sure we were set. The restaurant staff was also very friendly and offered suggestions when asked down to calling friends to ask about local Tico attractions.

Not the most luxurious hotel in town but we found it to be possibly the friendliest.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SciGuyMrD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2009

If you like mildly kitchy hotels with a great view, at fair price, this place is for you! For the sizable operation that it is, the place was nearly empty when I stayed there for two nights. We ate dinner in their lovely large open air cafe on both nights. We were the only customers on the first night and one of two customers on the second night. The food was just okay. The rooms, unless you stay in a cabin, oddly, are oriented in a way that doesn't face the volcano, but the other adjacent hotel building. Yet, our room was large, clean had a nice porch and a huge jacuzzi type tub in the bathroom. But, what left the greatest impression on me, was how very empty the place was. It was high season, maybe this was an odd off week?? Was it the economy taking it's toll? I'm not really sure, but the end effect felt something like finding yourself with only a couple other people in a theater watching a play. It sadly, felt sad.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tshowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2009

We stayed at Hotel Lavas Tacotal in Jan 2009 for 4 days. The check-in was great after a long shuttle ride from SJO airport; it was great getting the strawberry juice drink and wet towels! Then, the hotel clerk walked us all the way to our room with an umbrella to keep us from getting wet.

They had remembered I had requested a room with a safe but the cabin room I selected did not have a safe. So, they moved us to the main building room on the 2nd floor up closest to the base of the volcano. That was very nice as when you open up the curtains in front of the bed, you get an enormous view of the volcano (non-active side) and lots of horses and cows in the field. The room was huge and great...a superb upgrade for such a cheap price compared to the other places in Arenal area. It wasn't that busy during the week we visited so I'm guessing that's why they were able to put us in the room...but one should ask for it if booking Lavas Tacotal.

Free breakfast cooked for you on weekday mornings and free buffet on weekends was good just before our daily activities. There was free internet also available in the lobby which we made use of.

The one annoying problem though was that the toilet didn't flush well (I'm guessing the prior guests did not make use of the wastebasket as one is supposed to in costa rica). It took until the 3rd day for them to get that fixed which was a bit of a nuisance...(we had to ask twice before it was fixed). Thus, the 4 star rating instead of 5 stars.

Overall, we enjoyed the stay there and we think that it was a great value for our stay.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank worldtravellerUSA071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews