We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room with a view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Lavas Tacotal
Reviewed January 29, 2012

We stayed here for one night to give us an opportunity to explore the area around the Arenal Volcano. The cabins were comfortable with a great view of the volcano. The beds were adequate. The property has lots of open space with various plants and trees making it a very green setting. If you are there expecting luxury, keep looking. This is a great place to sleep and from which to serve as a base for exploring the area. The evenings are quiet and relaxing. It is not a "pool and sun" type of place. The breakfast in the restaurant was pretty basic but again, adequate. The wifi is only available around the restaurant. This would probably not be a place for kids but adults seeking some quality quiet time in a beautiful setting should enjoy this property.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denverflier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (192)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Lavas Tacotal
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 192 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2012

We ended up here on our package tour only because the original hotel booking fell through. We were originally placed in one of the "chalets" which may have been nice except that it was dusty with something gross on top of the bedcovers (possibly dead insects or *shudder* rodent feces?!) and the sink and toilet both backed up & started to overflow following the first usage. We were transfered to a cleaner standard room, but it was still not up to par - musty blankets, etc. The food was mediocre, at best. The service was awful. On our first night, the bar only had two beers & less than two bottles of wine behind the bar, & when they ran out (we were a group of 13, having dinner), they said there was nothing they could do. One of our group members suggested they run down the block to purchase more (& suggested they would be well-compensated for their efforts), but the "bartender" shrugged and did nothing. Tables were sticky & lacking salt & pepper. The pools looked dirty & we never saw a soul using them. The Wi-Fi was difficult to use. The front desk staff was unhelpful. The view of the volcano was lovely, though it was dormant. Overall, not a winning "resort". There should be plenty of better options available in the area.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteffiLovesTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2012

If you are here to watch TV or spend time on the Internet, you're in the wrong place. But if you want an inexpensive, comfortable, clean, quiet place to stay in a lovely setting close to the volcano (which is, alas, currently dormant), this is it. There are chalets and motel-style rooms, two small pools, a charming open bar/dining area (where the WiFi works fine), a large friendly lobby, and a surprisingly big souvenir/clothing store (which for some reason was never open during out stay). The staff are extremely helpful and speak good English, and the food (which was part of our group package) was nothing fancy, but just fine. A very good place to locate yourself while you explore the area.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Georgie_A_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2012

This hotel, when the volcano is visible, has a great view of the volcano and has a very aesthetically pleasing walkway to the rooms, with palm trees, flowers, a pond with fish along the way. I didn't make the booking so didn't know the cost, so cost excluded it was a nice place for those looking to get away from everyday life. They need to extend the WiFi range, have both bars working at the pools.

Pros: Two pools, each with great view of the volcano. Spacious 'chalet' cabins, three beds each (family of 5 could fit in one). Great breakfast food, nice bar. Didn't try the spa but it's supposedly good.

Cons: Weak WiFi connection from room (need to be by restaurant/lobby to get any strength). Weak shower head. unattended/non-functioning bars at either pool. No glass cups/ice machines available. Staff was alright, could have been friendlier. No computers to access. There were light switches outside, so technically a stranger could walk to your cabin and turn on the main light from outside..weird

Room Tip: The cabins are nice, something different than just having one of the regular rooms.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pmm3744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Even though hotel offered very competitive prices (US$100 for a 5 persons "chalet") it did not provide most of the offered amenities (free wifi @ room), no working phone, room light would only work along with ventilator, water on shower made you stick real close to wall, both pools did not have a working pool bar, no kids pool). And to make things work, volcano is no longer active so no real reason to stay there (they do not offer thermal waters), Only remarkble item is their massage/beauty spa.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cabaez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2011

We were booked into this hotel last minute on a change from a previous booking though our tour package. The hotel was dated. The TV was an older model & only got one USA Channel. Our room was clean but others in our group were not pleased with how clean their room was & they were distressed with mold in a couple of the rooms. The grounds were better maintained than the rooms. The meals were bland at best. The serving staff for meals could care less about serving us, the tables were lacking basics like salt & pepper, they were needed because the food was tasteless & the breakfasts lacked any meat. If you have a chance research the hotels/resorts in the area & stay here only if everything else is sold out!!! .

Room Tip: Rooms offer a great view of the volcano. If you can get an upper level room facing the volcan that...
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dakappa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2011

Rooms had plumbing & mold issues (in multiple rooms). View of volcano is great. Food was poor to mediocre at best. Staff wasn't friendly or very accommodating. I would definitely try another hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2txgirlsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
4.2 mi away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#23 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
830 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Vista del Cerro
Hotel Vista del Cerro
#35 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
244 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Villas Vilma
Hotel Villas Vilma
#33 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Hotel Arenal Montechiari
Hotel Arenal Montechiari
#26 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
291 reviews
5.1 mi away
Eco Arenal Hotel
Eco Arenal Hotel
#34 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
150 reviews
16.3 mi away
Tilajari Hotel Resort
Tilajari Hotel Resort
#27 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lavas Tacotal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lavas Tacotal

Address: 10 Km West from downtown La Fortuna, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 2772-1000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: $69 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lavas Tacotal 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Hotel Lavas Tacotal you can enjoy the natural greatness of the Arenal Volcano. Its amazing conic shape and constant volcanic activity, the Arenal Volcano is one of the most important attractions in Costa Rica. Walk through trails of solidified lava, ride across exhuberant forests, the activity of the Arenal Volcano during the day or by night. The amazing spectacle of incandescent lava flowing from the crater is truly breathtaking. The hotel amenities includes air conditioning, maid service, pool, restaurant, tennis, bar, laundry, spa, 24 hour security, souvenir shop, and private parking. handicap facilities, and non smoking rooms are also available. The room amenities includes cable TVs, balcony, safe deposit boxes, telephones, mini bars, and Internet connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Lavas Tacotal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lavas Tacotal Hotel
Hotel Lavas Tacotal Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing