We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cabins ten minutes away from the town center”
Review of Arenal Country Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Arenal Country Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 6, 2013

This is a quiet bungalow-style accommodation with beautiful grounds and a pool. Our room was spacious with two double beds, a table, fridge and a TV. The service was excellent, the room was very clean and the provided 7am breakfast of eggs and fruit was perfect to start the day. Our only complaint was the shower: the water would go from scolding hot to cold at random times so taking a shower was a bit of an adventure.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
Thank 219MaryS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (234)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 234 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2013

We were drawn to this place because of availability and being away from the main "tourist" hub.
Our plan was to stay for two nights but an emergency changed this situation. We had to leave the next morning and in haste, left behind a camera lens. A phone call to the inn and Vanessa took care of the rest. She packaged and mailed my lens back to Canada. The manager also reimbursed our money for the 2nd night.
The morning complimentary breakfast was not spectacular but it got us on our way.
We would stay again knowing that it is a quieter place with the basic needs met for us.
THANKS Vanessa and staff.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gnortsmra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

I stayed at this modest but very pleasant hotel (bungalow accommodation) for 2 nights on a discover Costa Rica tour. The grounds and pool were lovely and both beautifully kept, the location good (only around a 10 minute walk into town), the breakfast and the room were both fine. The reception staff were efficient and one in particular was extremely helpful when I came to her with a problem on my second day. Overall, it was a pleasant stay and I would be happy to recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Salsalover22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

If you wish to visit the genuine Costa Rica, this is the place to go. Close enough to town, amazing gardens and a really nice pool with great view to the volcano.
The service at the hotel is great; you can feel they are happy to have you there...at the same time, there is no way to feel they are pretending to be nice...genuine costarican people is my best description.
What you pay is what you get...they are honest and hard working people offering good and very clean rooms. In Costa Rica people eat a lot for breakfast and this hotel is no exception to this.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CMaeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We were visiting with a group of students, so we stayed here two nights and ate three meals a day here. I was very flexible while traveling in Costa Rica and did not expect a Hampton Inn experience! My two main complaints were the lack of any fresh fruit or vegetables over the course of six meals and zero, absolutely zero hot water. Rice, beans, and cooked meat just doesn't work for me for two days! And after asking several times and being told that the hot water issued had been resolved, there was never any hot water. Another odd thing is that the front desk closed and the lobby was locked at 7:00 p.m. I found that a little disconcerting if there had been an emergency or if you just had a question. The pros are the beautiful grounds and a very nice swimming pool; the rooms are a good size and the bathrooms were nice and clean. I am sure that the view of Arenal is great here, too, but it was shrouded in clouds the entire time we visited! I absolutely do not expect perfection, but in a country known for their fruit production, there should have been fresh fruit .... and hot water is a must, too!

Room Tip: Request a room as far away from the road as possible .... continuous traffic all night long!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bestofthewest58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArenalCountryInn, Owner at Arenal Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Dear customer:
As you yourself mentioned, you visited our hotel with a group of students. Such groups are handled with special packages which are entirely arranged by the travel agency. They are the ones who determnine the meal options, which always include a appetizer, main dish with 3 components, and fresh natural fruit juice. We try very hard to offer the highest possible quality on these tight packages.
As for the fact that our reception closes at 7 pm, is important to mention that this is a small family hotel where the owner lives onsite. Upon entering the hotel you get a map and information to call 24 hours a day to an internal line and to two cell phones. While the guide also received the same indications orally. And finally we have four areas outside of the reception with telephones available for your use.
It was unfortunate that the day your group bufffet breakfast was served your students ate all of the fruit before you made had a chance to get some. However, our staff gave you a personalized service with a smile. It was a pleasure to have served you and your group and a learning experience for us. Thank you for your comments, which help us to grow everyday. Have a nice day

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights and did enjoy our stay although the facilities are fairly basic and it is a 20 minute walk to the town centre and restaurants. The accommodation consists of separate cabins in a well maintained park. Ours contained twin beds, fridge, air conditioner, a cafetiere (coffee extra) and a safe (key extra) with an attached bathroom. Breakfast served on the covered patio by the pool but was rather skimpy - fruit followed by scrambled egg and gallo pinto. The staff were very helpful in giving information and arranging taxis.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pete P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArenalCountryInn, Owner at Arenal Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Thank you very much for your feedback and we are very pleased that your stay at our inn has been pleasant. Despite being a small local hotel we always strive to give our customers friendly and courteous service.
For other tousits, we would like to clarify that all of our rooms have 2 double beds, not twin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

The big plus about this hotel is the grounds. I was woken at about 5.30 by a stunning dawn chorus and, bumping into others from my group, saw some magnificent bird life (plus the odd squirrel). We were there for the wildlife so this was ideal.
Our room was good and spacious with a TV and fridge. The hot water was hit and miss and can go from really warm to freezing with no notice. The open-air breakfast by the swimming pool was fine, not a great choice but nice fresh fruit and a couple of cooked items and cereals.
I walked into town, La Fortuna, and this took about 10 minutes along footpaths by the road side. The hotel reception closes at 7 p.m. and the bar was never open during our stay. However, there are several good stores in La Fortuna where you can stock up on supplies for your room.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Vista del Cerro
Hotel Vista del Cerro
#36 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
244 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel La Fortuna
Hotel La Fortuna
#32 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
521 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Monte Real
Hotel Monte Real
#22 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Arenal Rabfer Hotel
Arenal Rabfer Hotel
#41 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
86 reviews
1.6 mi away
Eco Arenal Hotel
Eco Arenal Hotel
#35 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
150 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Villas Vilma
Hotel Villas Vilma
#34 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Country Inn

Address: 1 km south of the Catholic Church | 1km Sur de la Iglesia Católica, sobre la ruta 702, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 59 Hotels in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: $72 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Arenal Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Country Inn offers the possibility of enjoying nature while being in a lovely and cozy country site. Surrounded by amazing gardens, our guest will be able to relax while being in a safe, private and comfortable environment. We strive to offer you a unique hospitality experience, based on individual attention. Arenal Country Inn`s wide property, located less than a mile from La Fortuna Catholic Church, allows our guests to enjoy nature and also experience Costa Rican´s life style. While having breakfast every morning, the bird watching experience is a gift from nature. Each one of our rooms is equipped with: TV with cable, air conditioning, mini fridge, telephone, safe deposit box, fine wood furniture, private bathroom and terrace. This hotel also offers a large swimming pool area, tour desk service, Wi-Fi access, entertainment area and parking lot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Arenal Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Country Hotel
Country Inn La Fortuna De San Carlos
La Fortuna De San Carlos Country Inn
Arenal Country Inn Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing