We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Spacious Rooms”
Review of Hotel La Pradera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel La Pradera
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 11, 2011

From the main road, this hotel seems a little more like a cheap motel and the "lobby" is very old and outdated overall, it's a great place for a great place.

Our room was big, spacious with two double-sized bed, tv, dresser, side tables and lamp. Our room had with a view on the Arenal volcano (although the 3 days we were there, we never saw an inch of the volcano... too much fog... very disapointing for us). Bathroom was also spacious and the shower had good pressure and hot water. There is also a pool with waterfalls, a baby-pool, outside showers and a very big hot-tub outside. All was kept very clean.

Wireless Internet is available for free in the lobby and in the restaurant. There is also an internet station (with a computer) for free in the lobby.

The hotel is located at about 25-30 minute walk from La Fortuna downtown. We walked to the down one day and it's doable but there isn't any side walk, so I wouldn't do it at night and it's fairly far and not much to see in between other than a few hotels and restaurants.

The hotel offers a free basic breakfast buffet which contained enough to please almost anyone. We haven't tried any other meals there but have looked at the menu and found that some of the items were very overpriced. There are other restaurants at a few minute walk that have "normal" Costa Rican prices.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel - but next time, I would go to San Bosco simply because it also has awesome reviews and is located directly in La Fortuna (which is easier to meet other travellers and locals when sleeping right downtown). I'd recommand La Pradera to families, groups, couples or anyone on a low budget that don't mind being a little further away from the "action" at night.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anikabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (392)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 392 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2011

We stayed two night at this hotel and it was good. No frills... just a clean huge room that needs to be updated BUT the view of the volcano is amazing!

The pool was great after a huge day of activities and I have to say that the breakfast buffet was really good and I appreciated it immensly!

The hotel is about a $3 cab ride to Fortuna where you have a lot of restaurants to choose from! I would probably stay elsewhere next time just to try something new.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CelinaOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2011

We stayed at La Pradera back in January of 2007. We loved it there! The service was wonderful and the price is just right! The hotel is set in beautiful gardens. We also LOVED the restaurant! It had great food and service. We are amost every meal here. Breakfast was included and super yummy and filling. The location of the hotel is good, just a short walk from La Fortuna town.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rusty4005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2010

This was a great place to stay. Great value - we could see the volcano from our porch. We had a really nice meal at the restaurant, and breakfast was good. They set us up with a Cano Negro tour, volcano hike, and ATV adventure, and we really enjoyed all. Landscaping was beautiful at this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WenKayRK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2010

We stayed 2 nights in La Fortuna at the Hotel La Pradera. What a pleasant place to stay. The food at the restaurant was great and the entire staff was very pleasant. This hotel is located directly across from Arenal volcano. Great location for the volcano, La fortuna and the hot springs.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelmom053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2010

My recent two night stay at La Pradera was comfortable,enjoyable and relaxing. Located on the far edge of town about a 20 minute walk from the center La Pradera is beautifully situated with a great view of the volcano smoldering right before your eyes. The well kept grounds include a smallish tho thoroughly enjoyable pool and the choice of rooms or cabanas. I opted for the cabana which was satisfying on every level.. Clean and well appointed w excellent beds and great showers La Pradera provides the mid range traveler with comfort and an excellent vantage point to view the volcano and surrounding area. They offer tours and a great breakfast with many choices. prices begin at around $70 per night in the low season. While not cheap it is good value for what you get. Id stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alan k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2010

The place was very nice and very clean. I would definitely stay here again. Approx 30 min walk into La fortuna town if you wanted to walk there. Taxi will only be 3-5 dollars each way. Good restaurants in La Fortuna. I would not eat at the hotel -- very westernized food. The staff overall was helpful - but didn't volunteer any extra information and gave basic information. I traveled here in september, so the mornings were great weather and the afternoons had heavy rain. We did not use the pool or other facilities. Great view of the volcano! Had free internet in the lobby, and air conditioning and TV in the room (not that we used it )

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lv2travel13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Arenal Montechiari
Hotel Arenal Montechiari
#26 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
301 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villas Vilma
Hotel Villas Vilma
#34 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
186 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Arenal Country Inn
Arenal Country Inn
#33 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
235 reviews
7.1 mi away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#23 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
852 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Lavas Tacotal
Hotel Lavas Tacotal
#39 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Pradera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Pradera

Address: 2 Km West From la Fortuna, San Carlos | (on the way to Arenal Volcano), Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#23 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: $94 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Hotel La Pradera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Pradera Hotel
Hotel La Pradera Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing